We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“After the ruins”

Hacienda San Pedrio Ochil
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Abala
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Kids, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Seguin, Texas
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“After the ruins”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2014

After our bus ride to the Uxmal Ruins our stop for Mayan fare was the Hacienda Ochil. The grounds are gorgeous and well kept. As we walked around we were surprised to see iguanas posing for pictures (or it looked like that).
The restaurant itself was clean and full of open spaces. The staff was quiet and soft spoken and very polite. We sat with friends, talked, and enjoyed the vistas. We were uninterrupted but as we looked around for help our server was immediately available. Our food was brought to us quickly, though it seemed sparse, it hit the spot.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 301SueB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    63
    13
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Merida, Yucatan
Level Contributor
132 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 222 helpful votes
“Sunday Buffet - selection of Yucatecan Dishes”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2014

We drove out from our home in the extreme north of the city to go for Sunday lunch at Hacienda Ochil. It took us 60 minutes to get there, the roads were fairly empty and road signage was very good.

Sunday is buffet day. They charge $190 and offer a range of about 6 local dishes. Beer is extra, but the traditional drinks of horchata and jamaica are included in your price.

My wife is a local and she had relleno negro, tamal, cochinita pibil, poc chuc and salbutes. She gave her thumbs up to all these dishes, but did add extra salt to her cochinita (many locals go for plenty of salt in their cooking). I really enjoyed the cochinita and pollo pibil and thought the poc chuc was very good indeed. The tortillas are hand made.

They had a good range of desserts. Their local flan was disappointing, but the papaya in syrup with Edam cheese sprinkled on top was very tasty. For coffee they only have filter and it was a bit too strong for my taste.

The setting was very attractive. The tables are under a wooden roof and you are surrounded by wonderful views. The waiter service was also good. We paid in cash, but I assume they accept cards, too.

When visiting, you can use their pool before eating, or, as we did, take a stroll round the gardens and pop into their small museum to help digest the food.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank londoner_in_yucatan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merida, Mexico
Level Contributor
62 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Good place for lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

A fun place to stop and have lunch on the way back from the Ruta Puuc. We had a wander 'round the place before eating and it looked like one could spend a bit of time here just to visit the Hacienda. We ordered Pok Chuc & beef Arrachera local dishes and both were great. The service was very good and the atmosphere was quite relaxing. A good place to stop & have a relaxing lunch after climbing all of those pyramids!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank annabella333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great food, interesting choices in preserving the site”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

The place was once an hacienda henequenera, from the sisal boom of the late 1800s. It is now partially preserved and used as a restaurant. The food they served was typical Yucatan and it was quite good, but what was truly interesting to me was how they chose to preserve the site: they did not reconstruct it to make it look like a sparkling new place. Instead, they've sealed the finish on the walls and done minimal construction to maintain the genteel ruin feel. The casa de maquinas is viewable, and there is a small museum and shop. Makes for a unique experience.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank luckygrrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
145 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Pit Stop at the Hacinenda Ochil”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

While planning our recent trip to the Yucatan I wanted to find a place to stop between Campeche and Merida as we were heading for Valladolid. I read about Hacienda Ochil in one of the guide books and checked out their website. It sounded like an interesting place to stop and have lunch.

It took us about two hours to get to the Hacienda from Campeche and it was easy to find. Although as one of the other reviewers mentioned you pull into the parking lot and it isn't immediately obvious where the restaurant is. But we knew it was there somewhere and we figured it out.

Other than the staff, we were the only one's there, which was puzzling to us. I guess September is the off season. It certainly is a beautiful place, it must have been really something in its prime.

Lunch was great! We sampled a few of the appetizers and then shared an entrée. After eating a lot of pork in Merida and a lot of fish in Campeche, we decided to have the arrachera. The steak along with their good salsa and fresh corn tortillas made for an excellent meal.

They have a small museum with some interesting photos of some of the other haciendas on the peninsula and some of the old farming tools and machinery. It was a very nice place to take a break from our drive, I highly recommend it if you are passing by.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MGG56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hacienda San Pedrio Ochil also viewed

 
Yucatan Peninsula, Mexico
 

Been to Hacienda San Pedrio Ochil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing