We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect!”

Johnson Creek Tavern
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
Reviewed March 14, 2014

We had a wonderful meal on a Wednesday night in mid-March. I have been to JCT many times over the past 25 years, but we were a little put off by some negative reviews here.

We couldn't find a single thing to disparage. Everything we ordered was delicious, the service was prompt and friendly, and the view (osprey's nest, marsh and ocean, sunset) was great.

Considering the remote location, prices were reasonable ($85 including tax, 2 beers and tip) for a full dinner for 4. We enjoyed plump and flavorful fried shrimp, broiled flounder, crab cakes, seafood gumbo, steamed shrimp, and delicious sides of vegetables, fries and baked potato.

The feral cats outside were very tame and didn't bother us a bit.

I'd encourage anyone looking for a great meal and fun experience to check out the JCT.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank d p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    160
    81
    32
    39
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
69 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Nice meal!”
Reviewed March 6, 2014

We really enjoyed our meal and our waiter. Service was good the portions large, and the entertainment of the cat running through the building was great. Smart cat he kept finding a way to get back in. We will visit again.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Steven B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
354 reviews
211 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Best Seafood I've had in a long time”
Reviewed February 24, 2014

This is the closest restaurant to Fripp Island and I look forward to visiting here almost as much as the golf. It's kind of divey looking with the dollar bills plastered all over the walls but the food is excellent! Unfortunately, I've never visited in season as the outdoor dining looks like alot of fun. However, this is without a doubt the best fried shrimp I've had in years!!! The prices are on the high side of reasonable, but the portions are HUGE! We also had the Onion Rings which were excellent!!! Can't wait until the next trip to Fripp to go back

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Steve J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grandy, North Carolina
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Love the cat; food average.”
Reviewed February 19, 2014

Just up the road from Hunting Island campground, this restaurant is overlooking the marsh in a very pretty setting. We went in February and surprisingly, there were still a lot of customers. The coffee was old and the food average for the price. The inside walls of the restaurant are covered in $1 dollar bills that people write on so that's interesting and there was a local cat that came in the door every time someone entered or left; it was comical to watch the staff chase her down!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank pottermom101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale
Level Contributor
158 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“whew!”
Reviewed January 11, 2014

Been going here for years.Its changed hands several times.Will not eat here again other than bar food.got oysters.They were not local.Got sick for days…soups great..Got scallops to go with pasta.They were not pre sauteed .Got them rubbery.No presentation on the dish.Yuk.Overall.Its tourist trap.The food was excellent years ago back in 79 when it opened with pizza.I was surpirsed it deteriorated.Needs a Robert Irvine shot!!LOL...

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank blakes8542
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Johnson Creek Tavern also viewed

 
Saint Helena Island, SC
Saint Helena Island, SC
 

Been to Johnson Creek Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing