We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ridiculous, stay someplace else”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hamer
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
South of the Border
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hamer
St. Catharines, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Ridiculous, stay someplace else”
Reviewed November 10, 2011

|We (family of 6) stopped here overnight on the way home from Florida ONLY because we saw a sign (one of the hundreds of billboard signs they have along the I95) that stated "$42 for a room, sleeps 6" We arrived around 8pm on a Monday night (November 7) it was dead, there was I think 2 other cars there, the restaurants and shops were all dead as well, we went into the lobby to check in, told the (very bored) clerk that we saw their billboard for $42 and she said "oh that has to be a mistake its probably $62" to which I was thinking "probably", this girl works here and doesnt know the rates?? We were tired and didnt feel like arguing over $20 in difference, so we went outside, discussed it for a few minutes and went back in to say we would take the room, she takes our credit card (you MUST have a credit card here, or personalized debit, nothing else is accepted) and says the total will be $97 and change, we said "whoa, what is your tax here, thats a huge jump" we reminded her she just quoted us $62, so she did some recalculating and it came to $67 and change, we had a 2 room "suite", as the others stated here, the rooms are VERY old and worn, the "free" wifi is lobby only, if you want to swim you have to get a wristband when you check in, the room seemed clean-ish, I didnt see any bugs, but none of us walked barefoot on the carpeting which seemed sticky, the A/C wasnt working well, it had a smell when you turned it on that wasnt too wonderful and the shower was small and had very weak water pressure. The best part was the "free" breakfast thats included, you get this little card that states you can have a bagel OR cereal OR a muffin, juice, tea or coffee, one each per person, you have to present the card at the sombrero restaurant next door, so we figured, why not, and went in on our way to get our "free" bagel and tea, they refused to give it to us unless we ate it there lol, what is the difference where we eat it, we just wanted to get on the road and eat in the car. I wouldnt bother staying here again, non friendly staff, silly rules and you would think youre staying at the Ritz the way they scrutinize you at check in.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank fkscott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    69
    46
    43
    62
See reviews for
108
65
19
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2011

I saw the photos on the website and took a chance that it changed. Only the photos did. The rooms have the air off, smells, and cheap ugly rooms. I asked for the bridal suite since they said that have a suite. It was terrible. If you feel you must go, look at the rooms first before paying.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Judith L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hamer hotels

Bradenton, Florida, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2011

This place is nasty!My wife and I stay for 1 night while making a trip to PA,anyway we stop for the night.They charge $71.00 + tax and for a hotel room that was old nasty and wasn't clean!There was a roach yes I said roach in the bathroom,rooms had old carpeting from 1980"s way it seem.The staff was night but the room was not.Only reason we stay is because you can park your car/truck right in front of your room door,within few feet.I stay only because of that because my pick up truck was loaded with items and I can hear if something was being mess with.The shower was dirty and the was pressure was low.Had hard time taking a good shower.I wouldn't stay there again.

Room Tip: Not worth the money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Armindo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2011

The place isn't bad but the rooms are ugly and ghetto the beds are nasty and look like they've had them since world war 2.. if u stay here bring a blanket and ur own pillow and don't walk barefoot

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank newyorkislove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2011

South of the Border is an old place, and the rooms reflect that. Aside of needing updating though, ours wasn't in bad shape overall. It was in Kings row, which is two rooms made into one. The price is reasonable for the size of room and the grounds are unique and offer interesting sites to an extent.
The A/C wasn't working in one of the rooms and in the teat of that week, would have thought they would have noticed when the changed guests. Assuming that isn't the norm, we got a pretty decent price/value compared to what else is on the highway for a stop over.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank faye33193
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseboro, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2011

We recently decided to take a night off and do somthing different. Just to get away we decided to spend a night at "South of the Border Hotel" . We arrived and checked into a newly renovated king room on their "kings row" the concept was very cool. They took two older small rooms knocked out the walls and created a suite with a living room area, a microwave and refridgerator area and then the sleeping area. If you want to spend a night not a fortune and just get away from it all go visit "South of the Border"

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bill28382
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomingrose, West Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2011

We stayed for one night, the room needed a face lift, the bed was not very comfortable. The air conditioning unit in the room next to use was in need of repair as it was so loud everytime it came on it woke us up. When we checked out the next morning their was no manages on duty for us to talk to. The food in their Hot Tamale restaurant was awful, everything was cold and while we were there one of their emplyees hit the quarter game so hard it moved about 4 inches she put it back in place and got her handful of quarters that fell out. I'm sure if a customer had done that they would have been asked to leave. I will never go back.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank msdakota8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hamer
5.3 mi away
Red Roof Inn - Dillon
5.3 mi away
Quality Inn Dillon
Quality Inn Dillon
#1 of 7 in Dillon
78 reviews
16.6 mi away
Best Western Executive Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Lumberton
Hampton Inn Lumberton
#1 of 23 in Lumberton
155 reviews
21.1 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#5 of 23 in Lumberton
166 reviews
21.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites Lumberton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to South of the Border? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South of the Border

Property: South of the Border
Address: 3346 Highway 301 North, Hamer, SC 29547
Location: United States > South Carolina > Hamer
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hamer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 300
Also Known As:
South Of The Border Hotel Hamer
South Of The Border Hamer
South Of The Border Motor Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing