We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant accident”
Review of Rivera's

Rivera's
Ranked #6 of 153 Restaurants in Greer
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $30
Cuisines: American, Cuban
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Greenville, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
724 reviews
438 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
“Pleasant accident”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

My wife were directed to another restaurant in this quaint little town by a business acquaintance. We got to the restaurant only to find it wasnt open for lunch so we drove around town till we saw Rivera's and gave it a try. What a pleasant surprise. The atmospher is great and the food even better. Its their interpratation of Cuban-Puerta Rican cuisine and they really pull it off. e tried the Shrimp ceviche as an appetizer and I got the roasted pork, beans and rice. My wife got the grilled almon and both were "perfect"

On top of that we were treated to a very rare snowfall and I got into a snowball fight with the Chef/owner which made the evening news as a film crew was out filming the snow (told you it is rare). All in all a wonderful experience that will soon be repeated.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank krandy21784
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    27
    7
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Loves the atmosphere and service and food!”
Reviewed January 9, 2013

A great dinner and so comfortable! William go again and again. Unique but awesome food menu. Reasonable price and definitely got lots for the money. Order the chocolate leche cake... Out of this world good!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank LittleBrownHare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“What a wonderful find!!!!!!”
Reviewed December 31, 2012

A place you won't just stumble across if you aren't looking for it - but A MUST FIND. To begin with, the atmosphere sets the stage - old brick walls, hardwood floors, enough light to easily see your food and read the menu, but romantic. Not noisy, not large - cozy.
Great, attentive, knowlegable servers -
Then, there's the FOOD. WOW.
What an experience. The Cuban inspired roast pork over black beans and rice, the paprika encrusted, blackened Ribeye.......
You have to find this place. It is worth the drive to Greer.
Look around, I'll probably be the guy sitting next to you.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank TravelingBikerdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Landrum, South Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Always interesting - in a good way”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

The flan dessert is incredible and rich enough to share with up to four. The fresh fish is always prepared in an interesting way. Our favorite is the skirt steak. Love the Bajea beer from guatemala.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Claudia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Authentic tastes!”
Reviewed December 9, 2012

This gem of a restaurant lives up to its raves! My husband and I had lunch: empanadas were spicy good with the salsa and creme fraiche, skirt steak entree had a wonderful pesto sauce, the hamburger was the best, my husband said with the homemade ketchup and fries. The flan is to die for. We are definitely returning. Wait staff is super!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank pmatlexsc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rivera's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing