We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Shiny & New!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crowne Plaza Greenville

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Crowne Plaza Greenville
Ranked #26 of 64 Hotels in Greenville
Certificate of Excellence
vancouver
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Shiny & New!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2013

The renovation has given me a whole new view of the Crowne Plaza. It now looks more like a Westin, which is clean and modern - a welcome change from some of the Crowne Plazas I've run into! The rooms are well appointed, and I was pleased to find an extremely clean room (tipped the housekeeper well for that! Always tip your housekeeper!) wonderful toiletries with this "relaxation kit" that I adored -- it had a nice smelling spray in it, and some lotions. Also, a fridge!

I was extremely comfortable during my trip, and the hosts were all very pleasant and knowledgeable -- not to mention empathetic when I explained that United had lost my bag!

If I were to pull in any negatives, they would be minor -- just the breakfast select (as I understand it is not comparable to what it was previously -- and it is much smaller and less varied than the Holiday Inn breakfasts -- which are free of charge), and I would also just say that I wish all Crowne Plazas offered the same amenities such as this, so I could always know what to expect.

I will stay here again when I visit Greenville!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mulldacity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina S, Manager at Crowne Plaza Greenville, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Thank you for selecting the Crowne Plaza for your recent visit to Greenville. I am delighted to read your warm compliments, and I will share your comments with our team. We look forward to serving you on your next stay. Thank you again, and Happy Holidays!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    94
    23
    21
    7
See reviews for
55
38
28
115
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2013

The hotel is good and comfortable for the price. However, there is a major issue with connectivity if you dont have your own car. Although they have a hotel provided shuttle service, there is just one of it with far too many guests and rules like "we dont go to downtown on the weekend". To make matters worse, the taxi company (yellow cabs) used by the hotel is very unprofessional. Twice, i got late for meetings because the taxi didn't turn up on time. On a particular day, i had to go to a place that was 3 miles away and the cabs didnt want to go there. The only option given to me by the hotel was a 50$ ride for 3 miles!! Again, the hotel is not willing to help here other than dial me a number and ask me to talk to the cab company.
This is not a good place for vegetarians as there are no veggie options (even the breakfast has no options) other than going to the haywood mall for which again one has to rely on the hotel shuttle.
I would not recommend this place for people who dont have their own rental car.

Ps: If you have to use cabs, use Budget Cabs

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Manuj O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina S, Manager at Crowne Plaza Greenville, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Crowne Plaza for your recent visit to Greenville. Your feedback is extrememly valuable, and assists us in better serving our guests everyday. I regret that the shuttle service offered by the hotel did not meet your expectations. Please know that your comments regarding the cab services and breakfast options will also be addressed.

We sincerely hope for another opportunity to serve you. Again, thank you for taking the time to share your feedback, and we hope to see you on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanta, ga
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2013

We stayed at the Crown Plaza for a soccer tournament recently. The hotel is decently nice and is undergoing a renovation, which is understandable and wasn't a concern for our group.
There is a lot of racket and construction going on though.

I will share that our group was treated very rudely and certainly in an unprofessional manner by one of the staff. We had picked up sandwiches and returned to the hotel around noon, where our group ate them at the lobby bar. Granted this is not a restaurant but an evening bar with a couple of large tables and TVs. There are no other patrons and not even any employees working at the closed bar, so it is not like it's peak drinking time. As we start eating at the tables, one of a staff- I didn't catch her name, but she had an (european or so) accent, comes over to us and proceeds to wag her finger at us while screaming with a very foul attitude that we are not allowed to eat there. She then goes to another table and does the same to 10 year olds that are sitting there. A few minutes later, a manager came and explained that they had a policy where you could not bring outside foods anywhere but the upstairs guestrooms- at least she was courteous and professional in her demeanor, while the other older lady's attitude should have been grounds for dismissal, and the damage was already done.

A couple of thoughts for management...

First, there are no signs or anything in the lobby that state anything about a policy whereby you are not allowed to eat at the tables, had there been so, we would not have done so. If this is your policy, state it somewhere - especially if you are hosting a soccer tournament for hundreds of 10-15 year olds. Some questions for your consideration...What exactly is the point of the tables at the bar area if it is an open unenclosed area with tables, chairs, and TVs?
Could someone conceivably buy a coke at the vending machine by the elevator or at the candy/snack bar by the check in and eat it at the tables, or is this also against policy? If so, why have these items for sale? While this is more of a minor issue, the demeanor of the staff member is not and leads to to point two...For a hotel staff member to be so outwardly rude and unprofessional towards hotel guests is plain and simply unacceptable. I mentioned so to the manager and then watched the rude one hover over us murmuring to herself as we cleaned up and left. I recommend that next time you host a kids event at your hotel, that she be given the weekend off as she clearly could not maintain a proper level of self control and professionalism for someone in the 'hospitality' industry.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank receptor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg G, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Greenville, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Thank you for your feedback on your recent visit to our hotel.Your comments allow us to improve and fine tune our ability to better serve our guests.I apologize for the lack of professionalism you experienced with our restaurant server. We have addressed this situation with her directly and she understands that her approach was not appropriate .The hotel's lobby Bar is also our all day dining room with food served daily from 11 am- 10:30 pm 7 days per week, and we do not allow guests to bring in food from outside the hotel and eat it in our restaurant. Thank you for your suggestion regarding signage as we are implementing signage to let our guests know that outside food is not allowed to be brought in to our Bar and dining room .

Your group was in the hotel as we were finishing a $5 million dollar total renovation. I hope you will allow us to be of service on a future visit to Greenville so you will be able to see that the hotel staff can deliver a exceptional guest focused experience .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, SC
Level Contributor
77 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

My wife and i stayed here 1 night celebrating a birthday. The hotel is renovation is amazing, this is definitely a nice Crowne Plaza.

We had desert at the bar and a couple of great french press coffees. The rooms are super nice with modern finishes. The bed linens were brand new, mattress was great! All in all it was a 5 star short trip for us.

We will be back for sure and I highly recommend to others!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank majones7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina S, Manager at Crowne Plaza Greenville, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time out of your schedule to complete a review regarding your recent stay at our hotel. Your feedback is extremely valuable to us and we will utilize your response by continuing to focus on making each and every guest experience the best it can be. We hope to see you on your next visit to Greenville.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

Hotel just completing extensive renovation. I stayed here two years ago and it was good then, but it's much better now. Very clean with great service. I'm sure there were issues during renovation but I am amazed at the improvement. Well done!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina S, Manager at Crowne Plaza Greenville, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time out of your schedule to complete a review regarding your recent stay at our hotel. Your feedback is extremely valuable to us and we will utilize your response by continuing to focus on making each and every guest experience the best it can be. We hope to see you on your next visit to Greenville.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawfordville, Florida, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

If you like to keep your values do not stay at this hotel. Items went missing from the room and general manager was not willing to help on the matter. His response was my staff didn't take it. So if you value your belongings stay some where else.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chad B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina S, Manager at Crowne Plaza Greenville, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Crowne Plaza for your visit to Greenville. A detailed investigation was conducted by the General Manager immediately following the report of your missing item. At this time, your case has been turned over the hotel insurance company. They have been provided with your contact information and will be handling your claim moving forward. We sincerely hope for another opportunity to serve you and look forward to seeing you on your next trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bluffton, South Carolina
Level Contributor
191 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

The hotel is doing a major renovation. The staff was great. Elevator very clunky, kinda scary. Air conditioning very very very loud. Shower head to high I couldn't reach it to change flow. No safe in room. Hopefully after renovation it will be better. The location is good just off 385 short drive to downtown.

Room Tip: Don't get a room near ice machine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank traveltimeusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina S, Manager at Crowne Plaza Greenville, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time out of your schedule to complete a review regarding your recent stay at our hotel. Your feedback is extremely valuable to us and we will utilize your response by continuing to focus on making each and every guest experience the best it can be. We hope to see you on your next visit to our city. By December 2013, you will be able to enjoy the brand new Crowne Plaza Greenville.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Greenville hotels
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Greenville I-85 and Woodruff Road
1.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Greenville
Hilton Garden Inn Greenville
#5 of 64 in Greenville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 657 reviews
0.7 mi away
Candlewood Suites Greenville
Candlewood Suites Greenville
#28 of 64 in Greenville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hilton Greenville
Hilton Greenville
#13 of 64 in Greenville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 700 reviews
1.3 mi away
Courtyard Greenville Haywood Mall
1.0 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Greenville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Greenville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Greenville

Property: Crowne Plaza Greenville
Address: 851 Congaree Road, I-385 exit 37, Greenville, SC 29607
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Greenville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Greenville
#14 Business Hotel in Greenville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Greenville 3.5*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza hotel is located directly off Greenville's I-385 inner loop 8 miles from Greenville- Spartanburg airport (GSP). Just minutes from Greenville's vibrant uptown entertainment and dining district, the Bon Secours Wellness Arena and T.D. Convention Center with plenty of free parking for cars & motor coaches. Complimentary shuttle service is provided to the airport, downtown Greenville and within a 5 mile radius of the hotel from 6am- -11pm.Downtown shuttle service is not available after 5pm on Friday or on Saturday.Just up the street from the Haywood Shopping Mall with a wide variety of dining options close by.Your will enjoy 202 beautify appointed deluxe king and double bedded rooms all with Crowne Plaza's plush pillow top Sleep Advantage beds. For your comfort and enjoyment we provide the following amenities and services... 5MB of Complimentary High Speed Wireless Internet Service in all guest rooms and public areas ,24 hour fitness center,Indoor heated pool for year round enjoyment ,Room service form 6am -11pm daily,The award winning Ruth's Chris steakhouse located in the hotel. Our lobby lounge and all day dining room located in the hotels sky- lit atrium provides all day dining with a great selection of appetizers, sandwiches salads and your favorite beverages • National Winner of Crowne Plaza Hotel's Quality Excellence Award. Ruth's Chris provides all food and beverage service throughout the hotel including room service, all day dining and banquets and of course visit their main dining room to enjoy their famous mouth watering custom aged Midwestern beef broiled to perfection. The Crowne Plaza is the "The Place to Meet" with over 7,000 sq.Ft. Of event space, the hotel can host meetings and banquet from 10-400 guests and earn IHG Meeting Rewards Points for your events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotel.de, HRS, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Greenville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Greenville Hotel Greenville
Greenville Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing