We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice, clean, and comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Greenville
Ranked #25 of 64 Hotels in Greenville
Certificate of Excellence
Watertown, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
59 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nice, clean, and comfortable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

I recently had a buisness meeting in Greenville and this hotel was recomended. After staying at a few Crowne Plazas recently that were outdated it was a pleasure to stay at this location. The hotel has been maintained well and my room was clean and comfortable. I was a little disapointed that I was not upgraded to a king room since I am Platimun in Priority Club and the hotel was not full, but that does not reflect on the hotel itself. The only negative we had was the hotel bar closed at 10:00 as did the Ruth's Chris restaurant. The restaurant was not to Ruth Chris standards but I will not hold that against the hotel. I will stay at this hotel on my next visist to the area.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    98
    23
    21
    7
See reviews for
58
38
28
118
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Waltham, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

I was able to book a room at the military rate of $79/night. Hard to beat that price. Would have been nice to have the breakfast buffet included but that would be asking too much given the price of the room. Buffet was $9.99 -pricy but so are all hotel breakfasts. Room was very clean and pleasant. The bed/pillows were extremely comfortable. Housekeeping staff was very attentive. The staff at the front desk-can't say enough about them! One time I was at the front desk and one staff person returned from purchasing a heating pad that was needed by a hotel guest. That is above and beyond! The location of the hotel is great. You can walk to a few restaurants and a bakery nearby if you don't want the hotel buffet. Costco is only 1/2 mile away if you want to eat really cheaply. I'd definitely stay here again if I'm in Greenville.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Haligus03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

I stayed at the hotel for one Friday night recently. It was during college football season with several home games around the Greenville area. The price was Ok, compared to other similar hotels in the area. I would say the hotel was Ok too. The room was clean and furnished nicely, so no complaints. The lobby area was a bit dated, but I believe the hotel is going to start renovations soon. The hotel was very crowded with fans from one of the traveling football teams - when I went down for breakfast, there was literally no place to sit. The breakfast was fine you can't beat the price.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cozyballs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaryC851, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Greenville, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thank you for your candor. I am glad you enjoyed your visit. You are correct, we will be starting a complete renovation by the end of the year, and we are all looking forward to the change. I do apologize that you found seating so difficult at breakfast. It was indeed a very unusual situation that morning with the visiting team's band that created the crowded situation at breakfast.
We do appreciate you chosing the Crowne Plaza and hope that you will give us the chance to serve you again.
Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summerville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

The room was very clean and the bed was very comfortable. Every staff member i encountered was extremely friendly and very helpful. Ruths Chris was also very good. I will stay here on every trip to Greenville!

Room Tip: Ask for a room not overlooking the lobby if there is a big party in the banquet rooms downstairs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnnaHansen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaryC851, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Greenville, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thank you for your kind remarks. I am glad you found the room clean and comfortable. I am very pleased that you found the staff to be very friendly as well. We appreciate you chosing the Crowne Plaza and hope you will give us the chance to serve you again.
Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Tennessee
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

My husband had a job interview in Greenville and we wanted to check the area out, so we booked the Crowne Plaza through Hotwire.com (got a good deal at $60 per night). It is in a GREAT location - very near the Haywood Mall and downtown Greenville.

The hotel itself is very nice - the lobby is lovely and it is attached to a Ruth's Chris Steakhouse if you're into fine dining. We both enjoyed our buffet breakfast one morning (it's nice that they have a full breakfast buffet option along with a continental breakfast), though it was quite overpriced (but, aren't all hotel breakfasts ridiculous?). There is a nice-looking fitness center as well as an indoor pool.

The room was nice... not fabulous and not awful either. It was a bit damp in the room, but other than that it was pretty comfortable. The bed was super comfortable which was surprising considering I always wake up with a backache in a hotel. The bathroom left a bit to be desired... It was clean, but just looked dingy. The grout on the tile floor was a bit grungy.

Overall, it was a nice place. We would stay here again if we got the good rate from Hotwire.com.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marinotsobland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaryC851, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Greenville, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Thank you for your candor. I am pleased you enjoyed your visit. I believe you will enjoy your trips even more once we complete the hotel renovation that will begin shortly. I do hope you will return soon and give us the chance to serve you again.
Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

Our recent trip to Greenville came with a shocker that serving your country does not always come with thanks...We were originally at a WM hotel and told we had to check out cause our military rate was not available for our next 4 days (who does that)? We checked out and just drove....arriving at the Crown Plaza with NO reservation...
Cynthia at the front desk was just a joy & so polite she let us know we could stay as long as we want with Military discount. when I asked if a fridge/microwave was in the room...she said "no problem" I'll get them sent up for you....she was just awesome. Later that night I had the pleasure of meeting Rodney who was able to direct me with anything I needed downtown.... Only drawback is after reading all these reviews I was like...wait, there was a shuttle downtown?? no-one told me...probably cause I did rent a car from GSP.....I would have liked to been shuttled around and avoid getting lost in directions...lol
My only grip would be the same one I've read in quite a few reviews....the bar closes way too early... and one night the girl just closed up while we were drinking and said.y'all sorry i have an emergency
YES I would stay again..the bed was awesome, pillows awesome, quiet even tho next to I-385...best part--walk across the street to Strossner's Bakery................yum

Room Tip: go down for your night cap early...the little bar in the hotel lobby closes at 10..earlier if she ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaryC851, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Greenville, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Thank you for your kind words. We are very pleased you enjoyed your visit. Cynthia and Rodney are 2 of the finest Guest Service Agents in the city and they will be pleased to know their efforts did not go unnoticed.
We look forward to your return and the chance to serve you again.
Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

Room was covered in ants ceiling to floor. Staff was nice, and accommodating. The female bartender was sick, coughing all over the place and rude, should have been sent home. She was much nicer the next day either. I was given a $50 gift certificate to the way over priced Ruth Chris meat menagerie. The dimmer the lights the more expensive it gets, not impressed; food was okay. Looked like a funeral home, I'm guessing this was for all the dead meat that you stuff in your face. Gym was lacking, needs more than one cheap treadmill. Really? One cheap treadmill. Pool looked nice but I didn't use it. Lounge decor was nice; breakfast was better than most, and included. Hotel room furniture looks warn.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trip754
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Greenville, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear Trip754,

We appreciate that you took the time to review our hotel. We highly value views, opinions and feedback from our guests, as this allows us to constantly improve the service we provide. I am delighted to know that you found our staff nice and accommodating. The team works very hard to create a friendly and comfortable accommodation and it is nice to know that you were able to notice it.

Please accept my sincerest apology for any inconvenience the bartender may have caused during your stay. I will follow this up to ensure similar incidents could be avoided. Also, thank you for bringing the gym and the room's condition to our attention. This feedback will enable us to target specific problem areas and take the necessary actions to improve our guest services and amenities.

We hope that you are able to visit us again the next time you are in Greenville and perhaps, next time, take a dip in our relaxing pool.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Greenville hotels
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Greenville I-85 and Woodruff Road
0.7 mi away
Candlewood Suites Greenville
Candlewood Suites Greenville
#29 of 64 in Greenville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hilton Greenville
Hilton Greenville
#14 of 64 in Greenville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Greenville
Hilton Garden Inn Greenville
#5 of 64 in Greenville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 675 reviews
1.3 mi away
Courtyard Greenville Haywood Mall
1.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton - Greenville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Greenville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Greenville

Property: Crowne Plaza Greenville
Address: 851 Congaree Road, I-385 exit 37, Greenville, SC 29607
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Greenville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Greenville
#14 Business Hotel in Greenville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Greenville 3.5*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza hotel is located directly off Greenville's I-385 inner loop 8 miles from Greenville- Spartanburg airport (GSP). Just minutes from Greenville's vibrant uptown entertainment and dining district, the Bon Secours Wellness Arena and T.D. Convention Center with plenty of free parking for cars & motor coaches. Complimentary shuttle service is provided to the airport, downtown Greenville and within a 5 mile radius of the hotel from 6am- -11pm.Downtown shuttle service is not available after 5pm on Friday or on Saturday.Just up the street from the Haywood Shopping Mall with a wide variety of dining options close by.Your will enjoy 202 beautify appointed deluxe king and double bedded rooms all with Crowne Plaza's plush pillow top Sleep Advantage beds. For your comfort and enjoyment we provide the following amenities and services... 5MB of Complimentary High Speed Wireless Internet Service in all guest rooms and public areas ,24 hour fitness center,Indoor heated pool for year round enjoyment ,Room service form 6am -11pm daily,The award winning Ruth's Chris steakhouse located in the hotel. Our lobby lounge and all day dining room located in the hotels sky- lit atrium provides all day dining with a great selection of appetizers, sandwiches salads and your favorite beverages • National Winner of Crowne Plaza Hotel's Quality Excellence Award. Ruth's Chris provides all food and beverage service throughout the hotel including room service, all day dining and banquets and of course visit their main dining room to enjoy their famous mouth watering custom aged Midwestern beef broiled to perfection. The Crowne Plaza is the "The Place to Meet" with over 7,000 sq.Ft. Of event space, the hotel can host meetings and banquet from 10-400 guests and earn IHG Meeting Rewards Points for your events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, IHG, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Greenville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Greenville Hotel Greenville
Greenville Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing