We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor service and run down”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Greenville
Ranked #26 of 64 Hotels in Greenville
Reviewed October 18, 2007

The staff had a very poor attitude and was not responsive to fixing broken things. An almost threatening letter was left in the room to warn you to report problems. However, when I did report the problems-they were not fixed. This property is way below other Crowne Plaza properties I have stayed at. It is very dark, smells moldy and the A/C is very loud. I actually had to argue with a staff member to get coffee! They need new management at this location!

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank catlover2cats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (284)
There are newer reviews for Crowne Plaza Greenville
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

258 - 264 of 284 reviews

Reviewed August 13, 2007

This place is just not it. There are so many nicer places in Greenville to stay.
I wasn't even greeted at the check in desk when I arrived. You have to walk half way accross the whole hotel to get to where the rooms are. The rooms are damp,humid, and the AC is extremely loud. The room smelled, and was very dated (weird wallpaper border, ugly pictures, etc.)
Everything is very dated and doesn't match. The lobby and I guess restaurant/main areas all have bright Xmas red, hunter green, and gold but then the room area is navy blue, light green, and white. Um, 1980 called, they want their color scheme back.
The food is okay, but the restaurant and the restrooms are nasty. There was a huge hole in the wall near the door in the restroom and pieces of tile missing through the restroom. Who takes care of this place? And I saw a roach exit the kitchen area...nice. Just what I like with my slop.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank sweettravelerms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2007

I needed a mini-vacation and I chose the Crowne Plaza because it has an indoor hot tub and pool, is close to the mall, and had a Starbucks counter. It was more expensive than I wanted to pay, but since they have a free shuttle to/from the airport, I figured it all evened out. Plus the parking is free.

The room was smaller than I thought it would be, but it was ultra quiet (despite the fact that they had a family event plus a conference going on) and the bed was very comfy. The staff was overly nice and kind, even the shuttle drivers. On Sunday, my boyfriend and I had lunch, which was only $10.95 and was a buffet filled with cornbread, greens, salmon, fried chicken, mac and cheese, salad, apple cobbler, sweet potatoes, and anything else you'd find at my grandmother's house on Thanksgiving. The food was awesome!!! I think my grandmother and some aunts were in the kitchen cooking that day :-)

The mall and movie theatre, even the zoo, is nearby. And we visited them all.

The only bad things were that the paint in the room was peeling and you can tell this is an older hotel. Also, the extending closet rod is annoying and the heater sounded like a blow dryer. Otherwise, it was a very lovely experience. I wish it was cheaper, but I chose the Crowne Plaza over the nearby Courtyard and some other hotels because I knew the overall experience would be better.

I suggest this hotel to anyone who wants a mature vacation experience away from home. Not that this is typical, but I didn't see one kid at the hotel the entire weekend. Regardless of the pool, this feels more like a business hotel, not a kid-friendly one.

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travel-4-Rudy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2006

I agree with the previous reviewer....service is not what one would expect. I, too are a platinum priority club member. Arriving at 10:30 p.m., I was given a room on the first floor that was humid and dank--the air conditioning unit was turned to "warm." With the room temp around 84 and the humidity around 70 percent, I called the front desk and asked to be changed to another room. "I was told the room was sold out and the only thing left was a room with a double bed!" As a platinum member, I thought I could expect better---but at the Crowne Plaza chain, I have learned that if I expect poor service, a dirty room, a room without a chair, lights that are missing blubs, I won't be dissappointed. The room was so hot, I had to sleep with the top sheet only. Even in the tropics hotels aren't like this.

The next day, at the conclusion of my meeting, I asked for the shuttle to the airport. I was asked if I had reserved it? This was the first time I had ever been told that I had to reserve it. It was at the airport picking up a crew. It would be back soon. After a half hour wait, the hotel van failed to show, and I took a cab and paid $ 22 for the pleasure of staying at this very sorry, poorly managed hotel. I should have know better when there was no "Give US a 10 or tell us why" type of survey in the room. The Crowne Plaza, Greenville doesn't care about my business, they didn't care about the previous customer's business and I can gaurantee they won't care about your business. There are plenty of other hotels at equal or less cost and all of them will afford you service that you will never see at this place. I stay in hotels 200 plus nights a year. I won't be back here anytime soon!

Stayed: August 2006
Thank DennisConroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Newberry, SC
11
Reviewed April 20, 2006

Our stay left us feeling cheated for the price. First we were not greated yet there were 4 people at the check-in desk and we had to speak first and then were told we would have to wait and after several minutes we told we could move on down and then were waited on., we were the only ones being checked in. The rooms were nice yet for the price more should have been included. There are no ref. or microwaves in the room and they have a bottle of water for you at the cost of $3.95 per bottle. The tub was slippery slid several times which was scary and there is no water pressure. There was a charge for local calls and things weren't explained to us. There are other hotels that are half the cost and have free local calls, micro-waves and ref. in room etc. We expected alot more for our money. When we told the manager our complaints she was kind enough to adjust our bill to half off and was told she would look into our concerns. We felt we didn't get what we paid for .

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2005

Our last night of travel and we were so tired. We stepped into the lobby which is absolute gorgeous and knew this place was going to be all right. Our room was so comfortable. This place goes out of their way to make your stay as comfortable as possible. The beds have soft mattress covers, big cozy comforters, and the biggest, softest bed pillows I have ever seen in a hotel. They provide complementary ear-plugs, eye pillows and scented oil to help you sleep. If you are a weary traveler, or just want to stay somewhere you can get a good night sleep, this is the place. Plus, the price is only $10 more a night than the Courtyard - Greenville down the street, and is 10 times nicer. The draw backs are, no late breakfast served and the shower is ultra low flow. It is still worth staying there.

2  Thank Kimi216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Germantown, TN
1
Reviewed April 21, 2005

The hotel is below standards for a Crowne Plaza Hotel. They are remodeling the interior which is needed; however, they need to also retrain the staff on what service standards people expect to find in a Crowne Hotel property. Maybe it will improve, but there are other hotels available for this Platinum Priority Club Member.

  • Stayed: April 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Greenville hotels
1.6 mi away
Hilton Greenville
Hilton Greenville
#14 of 64 in Greenville
790 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Greenville I-85 and Woodruff Road
1.7 mi away
Hyatt Place Greenville/Haywood
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Greenville
Hilton Garden Inn Greenville
#6 of 64 in Greenville
716 reviews
4.9 mi away
Courtyard Greenville Downtown
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Greenville I-385 - Woodruff Rd.
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Greenville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Greenville

Address: 851 Congaree Rd, I-385 exit 37, Greenville, SC 29607-3521
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Greenville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Greenville
#14 Business Hotel in Greenville
Price Range: $128 - $241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Greenville 3.5*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza hotel is located directly off Greenville's I-385 inner loop 8 miles from Greenville- Spartanburg airport (GSP). Just minutes from Greenville's vibrant uptown entertainment and dining district, the Bon Secours Wellness Arena and T.D. Convention Center with plenty of free parking for cars & motor coaches. Complimentary shuttle service is provided to the airport, downtown Greenville and within a 5 mile radius of the hotel from 6am- -11pm.Downtown shuttle service is not available after 5pm on Friday or on Saturday.Just up the street from the Haywood Shopping Mall with a wide variety of dining options close by.Your will enjoy 202 beautify appointed deluxe king and double bedded rooms all with Crowne Plaza's plush pillow top Sleep Advantage beds. For your comfort and enjoyment we provide the following amenities and services... 5MB of Complimentary High Speed Wireless Internet Service in all guest rooms and public areas ,24 hour fitness center,Indoor heated pool for year round enjoyment ,Room service form 6am -11pm daily,The award winning Ruth's Chris steakhouse located in the hotel. Our lobby lounge and all day dining room located in the hotels sky- lit atrium provides all day dining with a great selection of appetizers, sandwiches salads and your favorite beverages • National Winner of Crowne Plaza Hotel's Quality Excellence Award. Ruth's Chris provides all food and beverage service throughout the hotel including room service, all day dining and banquets and of course visit their main dining room to enjoy their famous mouth watering custom aged Midwestern beef broiled to perfection. The Crowne Plaza is the "The Place to Meet" with over 7,000 sq.Ft. Of event space, the hotel can host meetings and banquet from 10-400 guests and earn IHG Meeting Rewards Points for your events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Greenville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Greenville Hotel Greenville
Greenville Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing