We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An Old Rustic Steak House in a Charming setting”

Peddler Steak House
Ranked #126 of 900 Restaurants in Greenville
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
1,171 reviews
767 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 310 helpful votes
“An Old Rustic Steak House in a Charming setting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2012

My wife and I came to the Peddler Stack House because we heard the steaks and salad bar were great and they are.
First you arrive and see the rustic atmosphere and realize this place has been around for a long time. They don't take reservations, but it's a big place so during the week it's not bad, but I did hear the weekends are busy and wait time can be long.
We were seated on the porch which is rustic and very bright our waitress can over quickly and explained the days specials and took drink orders.
The salad bar is full of wonderful choices some being not what you'd find elsewhere, but very delicious. Fresh rolls and butter were great too.
We had the rib eye and prime rib that was very good.
we didn't have desert because we were full, but they did sound good.
The value was very good and we will go back again.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Richard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    40
    24
    12
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
294 reviews
249 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Great Steaks”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2012

Hard to find but when you do the steaks + salad bar are wonderful

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Furlough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easley, South Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“It used to be so much better”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2012

We arrived early and started the evening at the bar where everything was fine. We moved to the porch for supper and our orders were taken quickly. We asked for our pork tenderloin teriyaki and salmon to each be cooked medium rare (the waitress recommended medium). The salad bar was great. I think that it has the same selection as when they first opened. Our entrees arrived and all were cooked medium well to well done. (I am guessing that is why she suggested medium instead of medium-rare; the cooking staff do not know how to cook then items medium-rare.) We ate anyway and it was pretty good, but our waitress was the only waitress on the porch and we were largely ignored until we were ready to leave.
If I return, I will probably have only the salad bar and not have to worry too much about table service.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travelers Rest, SC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Used to be nicer”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2012

This place has, in the past, been a really nice restaurant. The salad bar is located where you can look into the kitchen, decor is dated, food just not that good. The one in Gatlinburg puts this one to shame. Have you ever seen vienna sausages on a salad bar?!?

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Alice S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
89 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2012

We would eat here more often if it wasn't so far away. Steaks and chicken are very good, better than we've found anywhere else in Greenville. Prices are fair for the quality. Gets very crowded.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank Jakata31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Peddler Steak House also viewed

 

Been to Peddler Steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing