We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good”

Larkin's On The River
Reserve with OpenTable
Larkin's On The River is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #7 of 917 Restaurants in Greenville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Broad & Main
Description: Larkin's on the River is an award-winning restaurant serving premium cut steaks, fresh seafood, and fine wines. Every menu item is created with the freshest ingredients and served with a creative flair. Larkin's on the River at the Peace Center for the performing arts, is situated in the heart of downtown Greenville, along the banks of the Reedy River, in the old Gower Coach Factory. This is the only building remaining of the original eleven dating back to Civil War. With beautiful preserved exposed brick walls and open ceilings, the history of the building serves as the perfect backdrop to the modern and hip atmosphere Larkin's on the River offers. Serving Lunch Monday - Saturday 11:30 - 2pm Brunch on Sunday 11 - 2pm Dinner Monday - Saturday 5 - 10pm Sunday 5 - 9pm
Greenville, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Very Good”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

People can write many things about restaurants. I will keep it short. All you need to know about Larkins is very good food, very good service, nice atmosphere and a complete wine list. All foods are good but steaks are their specialty.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jim437106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

757 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    435
    185
    87
    31
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, South Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Perfect restaurant”
Reviewed April 15, 2014 via mobile

Have dined at Larkins many times and ALWAYS impressed. A truly romantic venue. Good is alway excellent. Presented beautifully probably have a great wine list as well but that's not a part of my visit. You will not go wrong Reservations ARE needed. Outdoor seating is available and it faces an outdoor amphitheater that has live music on we'd nights and some Fridays. Check with visitors bureau so u won't b disappointed.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Clemson1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Another great option in downtown Greenville!”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Our large group had dinner on the semi-enclosed patio. Great service from the waitstaff, excellent menu choices all prepared very well. A great view of the river, river walk and amphitheater. I would definitely return here if opportunity arises again!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank McMacHouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Sunday Brunch”
Reviewed April 14, 2014

Fabulous brunch on the patio on a gorgeous day. Large portions with all the staples of a great brunch. Waiter was tremendous and the Larkin's Eggs Benedict is worth the trip.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank BlessUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“So-so food, Good service”
Reviewed April 8, 2014

I had the she crab soup, hot Atlantic salmon, and fallen chocolate cake. The soup was not good - way too heavy, and I kept getting pieces of shell in my mouth. It didn't have a flavor, just a lot of heavy cream. And the shell was very off-putting. The salmon was excellent! It had a wonderful glaze and the sauce was tasty. It was a decent size, too. I didn't care for the risotto cake; it reminded me of a hash brown patty. It didn't have the creaminess that risotto should - it was rather dry and flavorless. The cake was blah. It was similar to a brownie in texture, nothing that I would get again. The others in my party were similarly underwhelmed by their food. The service was good, although I felt the waiter was hovering waiting for me to finish my dinner although the restaurant was not full.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank aag926
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Larkin's On The River also viewed

 

Been to Larkin's On The River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing