We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy”

Larkin's On The River
Reserve with OpenTable
Larkin's On The River is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #7 of 917 Restaurants in Greenville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Broad & Main
Description: Larkin's on the River is an award-winning restaurant serving premium cut steaks, fresh seafood, and fine wines. Every menu item is created with the freshest ingredients and served with a creative flair. Larkin's on the River at the Peace Center for the performing arts, is situated in the heart of downtown Greenville, along the banks of the Reedy River, in the old Gower Coach Factory. This is the only building remaining of the original eleven dating back to Civil War. With beautiful preserved exposed brick walls and open ceilings, the history of the building serves as the perfect backdrop to the modern and hip atmosphere Larkin's on the River offers. Serving Lunch Monday - Saturday 11:30 - 2pm Brunch on Sunday 11 - 2pm Dinner Monday - Saturday 5 - 10pm Sunday 5 - 9pm
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Yummy”
Reviewed November 29, 2013 via mobile

We were visiting with friends who took us to Larkin's. After looking over the menu, we all decided to order their signature meal. You get your choice of appetizer, main entree and dessert for a set price. Drinks are not included. I had beef - cooked just the way I like it. The serviced was attentive. All in all a very enjoyable meal.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cinda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

757 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    435
    185
    87
    31
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, MI
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“When in Greenville, Larkins on the River is a must!”
Reviewed November 20, 2013

We dined at Larkins on the River with friends we had met in Scotland on a barge cruise through the Highlands. They picked us up at the Greenville airport, gave us a delightful tour of downtown Greenville and then treated us to an excellent dinner at on of the finer restaurants in the city. The location and atmosphere were wonderful. The cocktails were a great start to the evening followed by some delicious oysters on the half shell and a scallop special. We all enjoyed our entrees, which ranged from salmon, pork and filet that was fabulous. Nothing beats a great meal with wonderful friends. My only regret is we don't have a restaurant like this in our hometown! They have an excellent wine list and I would be remiss if I did not mention the fine service...friendly and professional all the way! I highly recommend Larkins on the River.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sxmhawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice Evening on The River”
Reviewed November 17, 2013

This is a great restaurant located on the river and near the Peace Center in Greenville. The food,service and atmosphere were all great.I will definitely return to this fine restaurant

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Foodieman4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
31 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Genius”
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Someone thoroughly thought this through in terms of location. Larkin's sits beside the Wyche Pavilion at the Peace Center, all of which are located on the Reedy River. Not only do they have outdoor seating, but they also cater events at the Pavilion. How convenient is that?! Don't let the elegant ambiance and white tablecloths scare you away from trying this fine restaurant. If you get there in time for lunch, the prices are very reasonable. My husband and I enjoyed a lunch combo, including the crab soup which is what they're known for. They're also known for having the best steaks in town and they offer an amazing ribeye special for lunch. To get the full experience, I recommend eating outside on the terrace. Although they have heaters, we didn't need them. We were blessed with 70 degree temps on a sunny November afternoon. It was the right choice after a morning hike through Falls Park. The food was so good, we immediately started planning another trip back. Add this one to your bucket list!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shae B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mooresville
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in downtown Greenville”
Reviewed November 6, 2013

A fantastic atmosphere, wonderful food of a wide variety and some of the most gracious staff members that I have come accross. Great place for either business or couples. The setting makes you feel like you are on some remote river. I have been there several times and each time is a wonderful experience.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Larkin's On The River also viewed

 

Been to Larkin's On The River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing