We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great lunch menu”

Larkin's On The River
Reserve with OpenTable
Larkin's On The River is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #7 of 907 Restaurants in Greenville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Broad & Main
Description: Larkin's on the River is an award-winning restaurant serving premium cut steaks, fresh seafood, and fine wines. Every menu item is created with the freshest ingredients and served with a creative flair. Larkin's on the River at the Peace Center for the performing arts, is situated in the heart of downtown Greenville, along the banks of the Reedy River, in the old Gower Coach Factory. This is the only building remaining of the original eleven dating back to Civil War. With beautiful preserved exposed brick walls and open ceilings, the history of the building serves as the perfect backdrop to the modern and hip atmosphere Larkin's on the River offers. Serving Lunch Monday - Saturday 11:30 - 2pm Brunch on Sunday 11 - 2pm Dinner Monday - Saturday 5 - 10pm Sunday 5 - 9pm
Level Contributor
40 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great lunch menu”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Met several friends for lunch to celebrate a birthday and everyone was very happy with their meal which included shrimp & grits, a hamburger with bacon (which my sister said was the best she had ever had), a very tasty grilled veggie sandwich along with their famous truffle fries, YUM! Only complaint was my other sister's omelette in which the ham had too much fat on it. My friend with the birthday received a free dessert of her choice, which was a lovely piece of chocolate cake with a candle on it! Beautiful decor, clean and very elegant restroom, excellent service!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Phylpot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruce W, General Manager at Larkin's On The River, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
We love to celebrate with our guests but you don't have to wait for a birthday to come back and see us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

736 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    426
    178
    85
    29
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Delightful”
Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

The location is to-die-for! Sitting under the covered dining area with a terrific view of Greenville's recently completed river walk area was divine despite the muggy, overcast and fickle weather. Brunch buffet was on the menu which thrilled my husband. A crab cake for our picky son was a hit even if it paled in comparison to a genuine Maryland crabcake (think G&M's or Timbuktu). I had the Larkin's eggs benedict that include filet mignon. My bloody mary was outstanding. William was our server and was fun to chat with as a expat from the north - which we are hoping to be in a few years. I would recommend!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SoozieKabloozie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruce W, General Manager at Larkin's On The River, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
We hope you choose Greenville when you make the move south and then we can take care of you on a regular basis!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Level Contributor
117 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Very average”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

One thing I expect when I dine out is the food to be better than what I can make at home. I am a fairly good cook but not an expert by any means. I expect the food to have flavor! The menu here is very average in terms of creativity and seems to be aimed at the average person who may not dine out except for special occasions. I had a sea bass over spinach with a very few dribbles of sauce that was not enough to impart any flavor. The spinach was raw and should have been at least wilted if not cooked. The wine list is more than adequate and the outside doing area is nice.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mdcdr60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruce W, General Manager at Larkin's On The River, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to share your thoughts with us. It is through customer feedback that we continue to improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greer, South Carolina
Level Contributor
128 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great Meal from start to finish”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Service attentive and no issues. She Crab soup was outstanding. Great Oysters Rockefeller. One of the best steaks I've had in a long time. The 9 oz fillet with blue cheese cooked medium rare. Melt in your mouth good. Vegetable sides all good. Only weak point for me was the dessert menu. Nothing really stands out. My expectations were made to expect more after experiencing my previous choices.I did have creme brulee, which was good, but I wanted something more exciting. I'm a dessert guy. Be aware pricing is not for the faint of heart, but the meal will not let you down. Don't miss out on one of the best restaurants Greenville has to offer.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Countryboy001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruce W, General Manager at Larkin's On The River, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
We are happy that you enjoyed your service and your dinner. We are always looking to update our menu with exciting seasonal items. We look forward to your next visit so you can see what we have added to our dessert menu!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Prospect, Illinois
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Nice location, food just ok”
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Ate outdoors for lunch, nice location. Serivce was only so-so and the upgraded parmesan fries came out cold. They replaced them but overall I was not impressed.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank krileykat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bobmunnich, Managing Partner at Larkin's On The River, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate hearing from all of our guests. We will look into your concerns and are constantly improving. Let us know what you think after your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Larkin's On The River also viewed

 

Been to Larkin's On The River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing