We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“set apart from lookalikes”
Review of El Molcajete

El Molcajete
Ranked #477 of 917 Restaurants in Greenville
Restaurant details
Greenville, South Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“set apart from lookalikes”
Reviewed April 18, 2012

If you've been to enough Mexican restaurants in Greenville, you know there are a number which are lookalikes. I would name names, but either you know it or you don't.

In any case, Molcajete fits right in with a fairly standard menu/atmosphere in that group.

However, after eating at Molcajete, I would not select any of the other restaurants in that group, even though it is a relative newcomer to the area.

Their service is fast, their food is great, and the bill is just about right. I tend to get the Quesadilla Mexicana.

You can rely on warm chips and salsa as an appetizer. Everything else I've had [lunch specials] have been served at the right temperature and with quality that easily exceeds that of the lookalikes.

The staff is very courteous and you can judge from the filled parking lot that I am not alone in preferring this place to others like it.

And by like it, i am not talking about: Papas and Beer, Tortilla Maria, Taco Casa, Don Pablos.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Erik P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    12
    4
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West Union, South Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great food!”
Reviewed February 22, 2012

Wonderful Mexican food! Lots of choices and reasonable prices.

Helpful?
Thank Pam L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Not good at all!”
Reviewed January 25, 2012

Very disappointed that they can even call this Mexican food. It was that bad. Very americanized, food tasted very unappetizing. Atmosphere is poor at best.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank heathermark28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Affordable, quick, and tasty”
Reviewed December 11, 2011

Great prices and good food. Their salsa is good, but if you ask for their chipotle salsa, they'll bring that too you too. The shrimp and rice soup is very fresh and tasty too.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank GvilleHistoryTours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service!”
Reviewed November 1, 2011

This restaurant is one of the best Mexican restaurants in Greenville. The service is excellent and so is the food. The waitpersons are friendly and pay attention to your needs at all times. I have been to this restaurant with family and on separate occasions with friends and I have NEVER had anything but a positive experience. This place is awesome. Great salsa, tacos, burritos, rellenos, enchiladas, you name it! Great dining experience and reasonably priced!

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DestinationStation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Molcajete also viewed

 

Been to El Molcajete? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing