We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They finally got the greens right”
Review of Smoke On The Water

Smoke On The Water
Ranked #11 of 927 Restaurants in Greenville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $20
Cuisines: Barbecue, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Greenville, South Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“They finally got the greens right”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

My sister chose Smoke to celebrate her 50th birthday. Of several appetizers, entrees and desserts , everything was good. The prime rib melted in my mouth. And, they finally stopped chopping the greens to death and got 'em right. Dessert was heaven.

My only complaint... Buy some buzzers and stop asking for everyone's cell phone. Or, better yet, take reservations and join Open Table!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,290 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    602
    452
    155
    42
    39
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aiken
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great place, good food”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

I probably didn't order the best the restaurant had to offer but it was good. We sat outside by the River and it was a happy place. Lots of night time buzz and pretty lights. Brunswick stew was just alright, but my standards are high for this stew. My husband said his grilled salmon was good. I ordered all veggies and have to say the creamed spinach and the bowl of greens I would do again. I sampled someone's ribs and they were good, so definitely I'd love to go back again sometime and try their specialties.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LStravels0407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Lovely atmosphere, delicious food.”
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Was brought here by friends who live in Greenville, and firstly have to say how much I loved the atmosphere in The evening. There were sparkly street lights, a real lovely buzz about the place, and it made me slightly disappointed I only spent one evening here on our trip. The waitress couldn't do enough for us, was so friendly and helpful, and I had the beef with some roasted veg and it was really tasty, absolutely huge but felt weirdly balanced as it was nicely grilled rather than fried.
Was very busy so if you wanted more of an intimate Saturday night meal this may not be the place but it felt like going here you got the real vibe of what Greenville was like as a place. Would really recommend.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Emily B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“The place for pork!”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

If you are in the mood for barbecue, smoke on the water is the place. The pork and ribs are excellent. Outside seating is available and adds to the experience. We have been several times, with large groups and small, and the service is consistently excellent.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simpsonville,SC
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Where we take our out of town guest to”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

I'll keep it short and sweet. Downtown Greenville has so much to offer in food, entertainment, shopping and site seeing. Smoke on the Water is one of our favorite restaurants to go to especially when we have guest in town. The experience is always great. A few selections we tend to get are of course the pulled pork and the beer butt chicken. You want be disappointed.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank slystone99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Smoke On The Water also viewed

 

Been to Smoke On The Water? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing