We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our favorite place to eat in Greenville.”
Review of Smoke On The Water

Smoke On The Water
Ranked #10 of 905 Restaurants in Greenville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $20
Cuisines: American, Bar, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
North Augusta, South Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
98 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Our favorite place to eat in Greenville.”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We love going to downtown Greenville to shop and this is a don't miss place to eat. The food is always good and the service excellent.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nancy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,211 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    567
    425
    143
    39
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
95 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Good but not great barbecue”
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Maybe it's because I had heard this place was amazing, but it ended up being pretty underwhelming.

The food is good, but not great. The BBQ sauce options they bring are all just okay.

Service was really good and the spinach casserole was great, but all of the other food was nothing special.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hhols2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida, Florida
Level Contributor
107 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Check out the 'sides!”
Reviewed August 9, 2013

We had a great outdoor dining experience here. The meat and fish entrees are tasty but the sides are the bell ringer! As other reviewers commented our server was excellent. The prices are reasonable. The restaurant is located in the popular downtown area with numerous choices for dining and entertainment. Enjoy!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DMay51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Always a Hit”
Reviewed August 9, 2013

We go to Smoke on the Water about once a month, and always have a good experience. No matter what I order, it is always delicious. The prime rib is amazing. Add a side of stuffing and mac and cheese, and you have the perfect meal. The Jack Daniel's chocolate chip pecan pie is also delicious. The ribs are always full of flavor and falling off the bone. Our server is always very nice and knowledgable about the menu. The staff is always quick to make any wrong right. The house made sauces are delicious as well. I would reccomment Smoke on the Water to anyone.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank anna j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greer, South Carolina
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great food, excellent wait staff”
Reviewed August 8, 2013

My husband and I moved to the Greenville area two weeks ago, and we've been to this restaurant twice for lunch and dinner. The food has been consistently excellent, and it's refreshing to have wait staff that know the menu intimately. If you visit, the nachos are unusual and out of this world, the trio sandwiches (pulled pork, beef brisket, and pimento cheese burger minis) will make you crave for more, the fried catfish is perfectly done in a panko coating, and the squash casserole is to-die for. One of the managers graciously gave me the casserole recipe to take home. We will definitely be returning patrons!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Blaire710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Smoke On The Water also viewed

 

Been to Smoke On The Water? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing