We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We weren't prepared for this!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Pettigru Place Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 5 Greenville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Banner Elk, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
31 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“We weren't prepared for this!”
Reviewed March 29, 2013

When we planned our escape to Greenville, SC, we decided to take the advice of our Banner Elk, NC friends who are B&B owners. We have always stayed in hotels as we traveled, but this time we were going to stay in a B&B. We did our homework and picked the Pettigru as our choice. From the minute that we arrived, we were made to feel as if we were a part of the family at this wonderful fully restored manor house, set in a historict district minutes away from Greenville's tourist friendly downtown. Our room, the Greene Room, was a perfect, large bedroom with an adjoining sitting area, each with a TV. Across the hall was the coffee station, well stocked with K-cups and fresh homemade cookies. An antique refrigerator held cold drinks and bottles of water. But that is far from all that this location had to offer. Private parking, town maps, and all the local information we needed. We had researched restaurants, and the innkeeper, Lori, gave us her thoughts on each of our choices, as we enjoyed her company over a glass of wine and a cheese plate. I will review our downtown meals on each restaurant's site, but please don't miss dinner and a play at "Cafe & Then Some". How could the stay have been better? Well, outstanding breakfasts would hit the spot. And that is exactly what they did. You have just got to come visit, if for no other reason than the breakfasts. Pettigru's chef, Randy, served a unique two course meal each day, and even shared her recipes with us. YUM.
No, we weren't prepared for our stay at Pettigru Place. It was well worth the price in every way. We only wish that we had tried B&B's in our earlier travels. Could they have been as perfect as this one? Maybe not, but we are sure to find out in our future travels! B&B owners nationwide owe a debt to Pettigru for converting "hotel people" to "B&Ber's". We'll be back, see you there!

Room Tip: All the rooms looked great, and the feather tops sleep so good you want to just stay in bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MtnMan7863
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    183
    14
    6
    1
    3
See reviews for
15
134
11
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
North Augusta, South Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013

My wife and I stayed at this B&B while attending a conference in Greenville. We were greeted with wine and cheese, and an extensive review of where to eat and what to see in downtown Greenville which is only four blocks away. Great location. The rooms are very comfortable, and the breakfast was delicious. We're definitely staying here in the future when we travel to Greenville. Can't imagine why anyone would want to stay in a hotel when you have such a warm and friendly place such as Pettigru Place. Lori is a jewel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We stayed a night in the Carolinian room and loved everything about it. The bed was huge and comfortable, the fireplace was great during the winter weather, and the bathtub was gigantic with luxurious jets. All the fixtures and decor look great, and everything was fresh, clean, and extremely well done. The proprietor was very friendly, her sense of hospitality second to none. Breakfast the next morning was outstanding. We really enjoyed it and I'm sure it won't be the last time we stay at Pettigru Place.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 60898Hw1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Four of us stayed at this B & B for an annual mother daughters trip and thoroughly enjoyed it! We had wonderful service and the breakfasts were amazing. The location was great and the innkeeper was very nice. We'd definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cbuck130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sagamore Hills, Ohio
Level Contributor
191 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013

While in town to visit a friend, Pettgru was recommended versus the more traditional hotel chains. This was actually my first experience staying at a Bed and Breakfast and WOW was I impressed. I was greeted at the door and instantly welcomed into the home by the owner, Lori. I had booked the Green Suite and was surprised at how roomy and cozy this room was. Actually, it was a suite with a second bedroom so would be perfect for a group traveling together. While unpacking, Lori brought me up some complimentary wine/cheese and crackers. What a welcomed treat after a long day of traveling. The big shocker came the next morning with the amazing breakfast that was served. Again, I had no idea what to expect but was extremely impressed with the gourmet breakfast that was served. Next time that I am in the area, I will definitely stay at Pettigru again.

Room Tip: I was able to sneak a peek at the other rooms and they were all uniquely different. I stayed in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stacey G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davidson, North Carolina
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 28, 2013

We took over the Pettigru Place Bed and Breakfast for a girl's weekend! Perfect choice! The rooms were cozy, clean and comfortable. The owner, Lori made sure we had snacks, and a wine toast. The family room was just the place for us to get together and share stories. And the breakfasts - just let me say that I have been in many fine restaurants and none of them served such incredible food for breakfast! Every nook and cranny held something special to make a guest feel welcome. We will be back!

Room Tip: The inn has everything from a feather bed to a 2 room, 2 bath suite. Just ask and Lori will set you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Starrling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyle, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2013 via mobile

We were coming to Greenville for business/ pleasure for a week. It turned out it was way more pleasure! I cannot express enough that our stay with Lori at Pettigru was beyond fabulous. We stayed in the Brass Giraffe. From the comfortable bed & amazing shower to the chocolate chip cookies at the coffee pot, wine and cheese platter from 4-6 pm, culinary breakfast EVERY morning to die for, who could ask for more really! We didn't rent a car. Everything is within walking distance , which is good because being well fed, you need to walk and I wouldn't have it ANY other way;)
Lori is definitely the hostess with the mostest . We hated to leave actually! She made us feel so welcome and if we could rent a room all year we would have;) I give her two thumbs up plus. 10 across the board!
Thanks Lori, the only reason we would come back is because of you or if our van breaks down again;)
Cheers!
Sandra & Tracy

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Greenville hotels
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace
0.6 mi away
The Westin Poinsett, Greenville
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Greenville
Hyatt Regency Greenville
#13 of 64 in Greenville
1,032 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Greenville Downtown Riverplace
0.7 mi away
Courtyard Greenville Downtown
0.6 mi away
Aloft Greenville Downtown
Aloft Greenville Downtown
#16 of 64 in Greenville
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pettigru Place Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pettigru Place Bed and Breakfast

Property: Pettigru Place Bed and Breakfast
Address: 302 Pettigru St, Greenville, SC 29601-3113
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Greenville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Greenville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pettigru Place Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pettigru Place Bed and Breakfast is nestled in the heart of downtown Greenville, South Carolina surrounded by the gracious homes of the Pettigru Historic District. This perfect romantic getaway features beautifully appointed common rooms, six luxurious guest rooms, and a wonderful English garden providing superb Greenville lodging in the northwest corner of Upstate South Carolina. More than just a hotel, the inn will immediately make you feel right at home as the innkeeper greets you with a smile. You will soon be tucked away in your room relaxing while enjoying a glass of wine and cheese board. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Pettigru Place Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pettigru Place Hotel Greenville
Pettigru Place b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing