We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, service, location and atmosphere”

Saffron Indian Cuisine
Ranked #14 of 927 Restaurants in Greenville
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Buffet, Delivery, Reservations
Greenville, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
1,276 reviews
837 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 327 helpful votes
“Great food, service, location and atmosphere”
Reviewed December 22, 2013

My wife and I went into Saffron after passing by hundreds of times and found it to be wonderful. She loves when a restaurant uses white table clothes, so as soon as we sat down our attitude was positive. Everyone was very helpful in helping us to choose from a great menu of dishes. We started with the fish pakora which was excellent and then shared the shrimp saag and tandori steak and shrimp, both dishes were very good with wonderful flavors and aromas. We also had some of the best noan we ever had and onion paneer kulchu. The restaurant is very clean, bright and welcoming, the costs are very reasonable and everyone is very friendly. This is a restaurant to have a great lunch or dinner.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Richard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    241
    82
    13
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A wonderful aroma filled lunch with a huge selection of authentic Indian dishes”
Reviewed December 20, 2013 via mobile

The first time I walked through the doors, I practically on the delicious aromas. Food is very Fred and pricing extremely reasonable.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LucyBHoffman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
522 reviews
309 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 539 helpful votes
“Great food, value, and nice restaurant with white tablecloths and all!”
Reviewed December 15, 2013

Family time day trip, excursion, to check out the Greenville river walk and downtown area, stopped in for an Indian buffet lunch on Saturday, price was very reasonable, food was great, wait staff professional and on top of things, clean, well organized, excellent. If you are in the area, please check out this fabulous eating spot. ENJOY! November, Thanksgiving weekend.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank eatprayloveall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina, United States
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere, great food”
Reviewed November 28, 2013

This is now the third time I've visited Saffron, and I come away more impressed each time. First, the restaurant itself is favorably located close to the various shopping areas on Greenville's busy Woodruff Road. Second, the atmosphere is quite good, with white table cloths and good lighting. No need for a flashlight to read the menu. Third the service is quite good, friendly and attentive, but not hovering, just as it should be. Fourth, the prices are very fair for the quality of the food.

And as for the food, well. I am not an expert on Indian food, but the rest of my family are, and they pronounced it excellent. I agree. We shared all our dishes, including chicken tiki masala, goat biryani, lamb curry, pakoras, and others. We generally ordered our dishes spiced medium and they were uniformly delicious.

Saffron has now become one of my go-to restaurants for family and friends when they are in Greenville. Strongly encourage you to try it. Even if you are not very familiar with Indian food, wait staff will help you make good choices, including many vegetarian dishes.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RNshaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice Atmosphere - Great Indian Cuisine”
Reviewed November 21, 2013

Enjoyed a great tasting crab salad for lunch - as we dined on their outside patio during a beautiful fall day.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MillionaireBill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saffron Indian Cuisine also viewed

 

Been to Saffron Indian Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing