We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Southern place”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Halls Chophouse

Halls Chophouse
Reserve with OpenTable
Halls Chophouse is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4 of 899 Restaurants in Greenville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $100
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Scenic view, Bar scene, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: Halls Chophouse is a family steakhouse restaurant originated in the Upper King District of Charleston, South Carolina. We value hospitality, superior American cuisine and a dining experience that guests revere. Special Features: Gluten-Free Friendly, Vegan and Vegetarian Friendly, Happy Hour, Kid Friendly, Romantic, Late Night, Live Music. Bar opens at 4:00pm, Dinner Service at 5:00pm. Dinner is served until 11:00 pm during the week, 12:00am on Friday and Saturday. Our menu features She Crab Soup, Oysters on the Half Shell, and Fried Calamari just to name a few dishes. Our extensive wine menu features over 100 of the most exclusive wines one may find.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Southern place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

Food is good, price is a tad high and Service very's on the time and day of the week of which you arrive.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fred P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

578 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    353
    119
    68
    23
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Morgantown PA
Level Contributor
172 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Upscale dining, downtown across from Falls Park”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

Worth a bit more for upscale service and a nice selection of good quality items. A great location to take a date, walk through the park and enjoy dinner. Make reservations.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank David N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simpsonville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
96 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Decent Steak”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

The steak was decent, weill cooked, some of the appetizers and sides left a bit to be desired. Overall it was good and I recommend it more for groups than a special occasion. The wine list is very good and the bar was great. Also the location is fabulous and the view was fantastic.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dtb61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
144 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Mother's day brunch - new favorite”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

We had been here before and were impressed with the food and service. This review is for our most recent visit.

An overall great experience for Mother's day. We were seated overlooking the Reedy on a beautiful sunny day. Too bad there were no shades to pull, but armed with sunglasses, we were fine. Service was among the best I have experienced at a restaurant. Upbeat, helpful and quick. The food was delicious (crab cake benedict on fried tomato, lamb lettuce wraps) as was dessert (creme brulee ice cream and twice baked carrot cake). Normally we try to go to a Mother's day buffet, but sitting down and being served was so nice, especially at this place. This will be our new place to go on Mom's special day.

One small thing. Despite the excellent table service, our reservation was at 10:15 and at 10:11 we showed up, a bit early, as we try to do. The place was virtually empty, having just opened it's doors at 10, but we were told (rather bluntly) we would have to wait until 10:15 (this is why I know we arrived at 10:11 - exactly). At precisely 10:15 - not a second before - we were seated. Made for an odd first impression. Quirky? Weird? Especially since there were wait staff and our table appeared available. Perhaps, having just opened, the staff hadn't finished setting up. Not my problem, though. Bring them in 30 minutes earlier rather than have your guests stand in the lobby.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Quonmisc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton, South Carolina
Level Contributor
107 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“High Quality and Sustainability”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

We were greeted and seated immediately. Our waitress took our drink order and brought us bread. My wife and I choose two different wines to try from their extensive wine list. Both were excellent choices and matched the descriptions provided on the wine list. Our waitress explained the special for the day in great detail and answered all of our questions we had about it. I had a spring salad and low country shrimp and grits which were fabulous. My wife had soup and an appetizer which she found delicious. The waitress asked if we were attending the concert at the nearby Peace Center, which we were, and she brought us our check promptly and gave us directions which made our walk there quick. The restaurant was nicely decorated and has great views of downtown Greenville and the Reedy River. For a lovely spot to take friends and family or your special someone, this is the place.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank scteacher64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Halls Chophouse also viewed

 

Been to Halls Chophouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing