We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Mexican in town”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Sabroso

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Sabroso
Ranked #452 of 899 Restaurants in Greenville
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Greenville, SC
Level Contributor
79 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Best Mexican in town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2014 via mobile

We've been coming to this restaurant for several years and have always enjoyed their fresh and flavorful tex-mex food- much better than typical restaurants of this type. Their guacamole is made with lime and cumin, shrimp quesadilla is big and spicy(shrimp are huge and tender ) but our favorite is the pancho nachos which are similar to those I ate while living in Laredo Texas. Individual large tortilla chips with ingredients on each. Margaritas are wonderful because they make their own lime juice. Service is great- we always sit in the bar area because Sean takes care of us. We love this neighborhood restaurant- a real gem on busy Woodruff Rd.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank TeacherTrainer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    9
    4
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
151 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Sabroso means Tasty in Spanish and the name fits”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2014

Great Salsa, Great chips, The food is consistently good. The prices are reasonable. I had the Carnitas and my wife had the fajitas which were both very good. I've had the fish tacos before and these are good. This is one of the two best Mexican restaurants in the upstate. Sometimes they have coupons which make it an even better value but it's a good value without a coupon.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
240 reviews
188 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Came on a recommendation, will return”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2013

The food is above average and the staff listens to what you're looking for - then makes a recommendation. What helped is that my friends are regulars there. I'll go back either with them or without them!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamaica
Level Contributor
45 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Not even passable”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

The food was awful and I can find almost nothing good to say about the offerings. I went with two other persons and two of us ended up sending our plates back almost full. Firstly, the mexican rice is over salty and has little unique flavor. My beef tacos were so-so and I make better ones at home. As for the refried beans, it was more like crushed red peas gravy and it was not appetizing at all. MY mom-in-law did have the quesdallis which while the tortilla was rubbery, the steak filling was very tasty- the one good point at our lunch.
I love fried ice cream at Japanese restaurants and having heard that the fried ice cream here was good I ordered it- ugh. This fried ice cream was rolled in corn flakes and it was NOT crispy; rather, the cornflakes were rubbery and the chocolate sauce was like that from a Hershey's bottle (perhaps more watery). Thanks to Sabroso I ended up making sure to go to The Local Taco downtown Greenville just to remind myself that mexican food can be good. My advice, skip this, even Taco Bell is preferable.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kimmieval
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwood, South Carolina
Level Contributor
183 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“A Little Disappointed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013

I was told this is the best Mexican food in Greenville, so we gave it a try. It is not. It is nothing special... not great... not bad... just average. If you are in the area and hungry, what the heck, give it a try. You will come away full.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stephen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sabroso also viewed

 

Been to Sabroso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing