We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome Pizza, expensive compared to the competition.”
Review of Mellow Mushroom

Mellow Mushroom
Ranked #170 of 906 Restaurants in Greenville
Price range: $0 - $15
Cuisines: Pizza, American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Mellow Mushroom is proud to serve Greenville with delicious pizza, hoagies, burgers, calzones and salads. Providing quality food since 1974, we use fresh ingredients on all our menu items. Mellow Mushroom is more than just a pizza restaurant; it is where Greenville pizza lovers and beer lovers gather. Our menu and locations are as eclectic as our fans. Join the beer club, shop our Mellow shirts and see the unique artwork in each of our locations. The search for the best pizza in Greenville is over.
Level Contributor
365 reviews
247 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Awesome Pizza, expensive compared to the competition.”
Reviewed May 21, 2013 via mobile

I love the pizza here. There are some very unique sauce and topping combos available which make for some of the best pizza around. What really seals the deal though is the amazing crust. Mellow Mushroom has the best crust available in my book. Don't come to eat here if you are in a hurry! The pizza takes a while to come to the table, but it is worth the wait! The only negative is the price point. I would eat here more frequently if the prices were more reasonable, but since they are too high, we only come here to eat once in a great while.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lmari535
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    58
    27
    21
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Easley
Level Contributor
173 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Overpriced”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Parking is a nightmare. It's conveniently located in downtown Greenviille which is good for business but a challenge for the customer. Pizza and appetizers are OK but overpriced. Usually busy so plan to eat early.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sandra S B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
118 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Always good”
Reviewed April 20, 2013

The Mellow Mushroom is consistent. I have to wait every time, because every else knows it's goo, just like me. Great beer selection, great pizzas (unique flavors) and a funky atmosphere make it a great place to come downtown for.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Justin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“A great effort by the staff.”
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Took our visitors from Boston to the Mellow Mushroom specifically for the gluten free pizza. Our young guests from Boston (Avery & Charlotte Ross) were devastated when our friendly waiter broke the bad news that they had just run out of the gluten free dough. He summoned the manager to explain and try to temper our disappointment. While he was apologizing he asked if we would consider chicken fingers (not even on the menu yet) in a special gluten free breading, served with apple slices. This more than satisfied the young ladies and the smiles returned. The adults ordered a pizza and the service was prompt, the food delicious and the service continued to impress. I stopped a lady that was apparently employed there and asked for a bottle of ketchup the girls had requested for the chicken fingers. She immediately replied "no we don't have ketchup" but did note "wow, we have chicken fingers?" At the same time our most attentive waiter was passing by and I asked him if he knew where the secret ketchup stash was. My man went to the restaurant downstairs and borrowed a bottle from them! To top it off the chicken fingers were on the house as were all of the beverages. A generous tip was left. If you're in the mood for good pizza and a fun restaurant while you are enjoying beautiful downtown Greenville be sure to stop in the 'Shroom!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank upsouthvolleyball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
248 reviews
159 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“Slow Service, Good Pizza”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Service was really slow. This location is an old building in historic downtown Greenville. It has a warehouse feel to it.

The pizza is good.

Helpful?
Thank 60742Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mellow Mushroom also viewed

 

Been to Mellow Mushroom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing