We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Little Find”
Review of Miniature World of Trains - CLOSED

Miniature World of Trains
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: "Where Ordinary Days Become Extraordinary". "A Fun and Educational Family Experience". "Our World In Miniature". The Miniature World of Trains (a 501c3 Non Profit) new 20,000sf location features several model railroad display. The new Miniature World of Trains will be built in phases from 2015 through 2019 featuring a large miniature display featuring up to 120 HO Scale fully computerized model trains traversing the large city and mountain scene, some reaching 18 feet in height! The highly detailed scenery will enhance your experience! Try one of the several scavenger hunts to have fun and check out some of the finer details. Interactive buttons allow you to operate trains and other things on the display. Real railroad and model railroad artifacts can be found in the throughout the facility. Also, we have the large O Scale Christmas Model Train Display which was the "PICK OF THE SEASON" for WYFF 4 (NBC) here in Greenville and reviewed as "ONCE OF THE BEST CHRISTMAS DISPLAY'S IN THE COUNTRY" according to Classic Toy Trains Magazine. Plus the new $100,000 HO Home Demonstration Display display pre-qualified visitors can operate on. We have S.T.E.A.M. (Science, Technology, Engineering, Arts and Math) Educational Programs for all ages. Special events and special pricing occur all the time. Open days and times vary throughout the year.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Reviewed October 11, 2014

My niece discovered this and we went to find it. It is very close to Falls Park,so was very convenient for us. We spent a couple of hours exploring the display and had a great time with the
Scavenger hunt. I thought it was awesome!!

Thank Patricia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (35)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"model"
in 10 reviews
"characters"
in 4 reviews
"display"
in 16 reviews
"development"
in 3 reviews
"sc"
in 3 reviews
Filter

22 - 26 of 35 reviews

Reviewed October 8, 2014

We had fun for an hour visiting the MWOT. Be aware that they are still building so it is not complete. My 2 boys - 8 and 12 had fun with the scavenger hunt but without help from the guides it is almost impossible.

The price is a little steep at $5 per person - including kids. May be an idea to have a family ticket or a discount for kids. I think $10 for a parent and 2 kids would have been more reasonable.

Thank USAtemples
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2014

It's beautiful and they have done a great job but we considered the entrance fee ($5) overpriced. I guess you enjoy a lot if you like models and trains but it was not that fun for us. There was no change of lights, night effect or anything while we were there. We found the scavenge hunt impossible to complete (and I really tried) but there is a point when you say "enough".

1  Thank carlos227869
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
F C R, General Manager at Miniature World of Trains, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2014

We are sorry you did not have a good time at the Miniature World of Trains BETA . With not knowing what day or time you where at our venue, or how long you stayed at the the Miniature World of Trains, it is hard to respond without more specifics. Regarding the day / night effects. We are still in the testing phases and do not run the day night lighting change all the time. We have no specific time when the day / night effects are tested. The only scheduled time for the day / night lighting is next scheduled is for the "Full Moon Night" promotion on September 6th, 2014 at this time. The Miniature World of Trains BETA (MWOT) team is continuing to upgrade, update and replace the lighting on the display, so other than specific scheduled days like the "Full Moon Night", the day / night scene may not be operational, nor advertised as such. We are not sure about your point about the Scavenger Hunt. The hunt revolves around looking for specific items and details on the MWOT display. The questions are simple. For example, How many cars are they are the longest train? How many churches are there? How many Zombies are there? What movie is playing at the Fox Theater? The volunteers are there to help you find items on the display and some questions are designed to have you interact with the volunteer staff as well. Such as, how high are the mountains? The only way to know that is to ask a volunteer. That is part of the fun about the display. If you had trouble with a question, visitors can always ask a volunteer. The Miniature World of Trains BETA is here to educate and entertain at the same time and we hope you will give us another visit, maybe during the Holiday Season when we add the Christmas Model Train Display to the offerings at the Miniature World of Trains!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2014

I took my kids to the MIniature World of Trains in Greenville yesterday. They had a great time and keep talking about when we are going back and taking mom with us. The layout is very impressive, with several different trains running at once. The small city, as well as the countryside, represented have many neat little features (animated signs on some of the buildings, wildlife such as deer and bear, farm animals, zombies walking through the streets of the city, lighted buildings, etc.). My kids really enjoyed the scavenger hunt that they give you upon entrance and helps to point out these features and many more. The volunteers are very friendly and helpful, and extremely knowledgeable about the layout. They have a few displays in the back, showing real-life railroad artifacts. This attraction is still in its development stages - I am sure that once it is totally finished, it will be one of the top attractions in downtown. They do a special Christmas train during the holiday season. We really enjoyed it and look forward to going back.

Thank chadk78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed July 26, 2014

We enjoyed a wonderful visit to the Miniature World of Trains earlier today with the whole family! We visited MWOT on a Saturday in the early afternoon with a large family of boys and girls ranging from 12 years old to 4 years old.

As we walked up to the door, train sounds played over some outdoor speakers, beckoning you inside. At $5 per person, it's really reasonably priced for such a fun and unique experience in downtown Greenville. An absurd earlier review commented that it should be free. Give me a break! As I said, we got a lot of fun for a small admission fee.

Once inside, we took in the huge train display. It was amazing. The mountain range of the display climbs to 12 and a half feet high. The trains run around the base of the display, as well as at several different heights on the mountain. The display is divided into several different areas, including a cityscape, a trainyard, and a wilderness / farmland area. Many tunnels cut through the mountain here and there to allow passage for the trains from one area to the next. There is so much to see here - you just have to look!

There are several notable things about the display that you should be sure to see. I loved the cityscape. There were buildings, vehicles, people, trees - the whole works. It even had working traffic lights that were tiny! They were smaller than a dime but still had the green-yellow-red sequence that lit up correctly in each direction. As you walk around the display, speakers play sounds of train radio chatter - pretty cool! And it's really amazing what the computers they have can do with the display. Trains pull into a station and stop while a different train gets underway for a lap. Then that train pulls in and yet another train pulls out for a lap. You can see trains stop to let other train traffic go by before they continue on their way.

I have to say, my favorite part of the display is when they turn the lights off to simulate night. Lights shine in the windows of the city buildings, train traffic signal lights are more easily seen, and they even have animated billboards! Tiny little billboards that go through a light sequence as they spell out the name of their company! They turn off the lights about once an hour for maybe 10-15 minutes.

To help you take in the whole train display, there is a scavenger hunt that my kids absolutely loved. You can grab a scavenger hunt sheet on your way in if you like. There are about 15 questions on the sheet as I recall, and they are all meant to engage you in the display. How many cows are on the farms? How many restaurants are in the city? How many zombies (yes, zombies!) are in the city? One hint: some of the questions are meant to get you to interact with the wonderful staff of volunteers here at MWOT. (Such as the height of the mountain.) The staff loves to answer questions about the display, the trains, the future plans for MWOT - anything. And they really enjoyed interacting with my kids, no matter how repetitive or absurd the question was that they got.

I should take a moment to mention that the MWOT also has a museum area with some items of interest from the history of trains, as well as some items available to purchase in the front lobby/ticket area including beginner trains sets. Also, they are testing the concept and hope to have a good enough response to move to a larger location and have larger displays. And finally, they have a delightful holiday train display around November and December that you simply have to come see.

So, if you wanted to come in and only spend 10 minutes walking around, you certainly could. Quite frankly, you could do the same thing in the Sistine Chapel or at the Louvre if you were so inclined - you would probably enjoy it, but you would also miss an awful lot. Instead, I recommend that you come in and give it a good hour, or at least enough time to cycle through a nighttime sequence. Do the scavenger hunt with your kids (or by yourself!) to get them to notice some of the minute details they put into the display. Take a look at the museum items. And one of my favorite things - hold your camera steady on the rail that circles the display and get a video roll of a train rolling by. Then look at it later and see how real it looks. However you decide to spend your time, the Miniature World of Trains is worth a look!

1  Thank Neerdowell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Miniature World of Trains also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
;