We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Miniature World of Trains - CLOSED
Save
Review Highlights
Great new location and new management

This is a new location in Taylors Mill SC in a redevelopment project in an old mill. They recently... read more

Reviewed January 3, 2018
retiredtravelers1963
,
Roswell, Georgia
growing railroad

they are growing from last visit at the downtown location which was cramp and small. the model... read more

Reviewed February 20, 2016
Paul R
,
Greenville
Read all 35 reviews
  
Reviews (35)
Filter reviews
35 results
Traveler rating
16
10
6
1
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
16
10
6
1
2
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
26 - 31 of 35 reviews
Reviewed July 26, 2014 via mobile

This is a VERY impressive display of multiple trains and tracks combined into a huge display. It appears several train lovers have come together to share their passion, but it's a museum-type exhibit. There's just nothing there for kids to interact with, thus, they get bored quickly. I'd suggest they allow parents to "rent a remote" for a train and let them be a conductor of the model for 30 minutes or something like that. Generates revenue for the business and would make it much better for kids.

Thank rericmills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
F C R, General Manager at Miniature World of Trains, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2014

Thank you for your kind comments. The Miniature World of Trains at this time has only been open about 120 days. The interactive feature your are referring to is something that is planned to be added to the large display. This location is the BETA test of the software and materials for the future 60,000sf display. What you had visited is a small version of the large display. It is located in a 3,000sf area of the building and is 40' x45' in size. The current display has up to 40 computerized model trains traversing a large city and industry scene and over 12 foot high mountains amongst highly detailed scenery. Coming up in the next month or so are the interactive buttons that will allow visitors to activate trains on the display, hot air balloons, UFO's and more in different areas around the display. In 2015 there will be special operational days and nights where pre qualified visitors will be able to operate trains on the display. Unfortunately, during regular operational hours we can not allow visitors to operate trains on the BETA display. However, in the large 60,000sf facility at this point scheduled to open in late 2015 early 2016, we will have a dedicated track where visitors will be able operate trains. Our Christmas Display this year will have the capability to allow visitors to operate trains on this display. I am not aware of any other facility of this type the allows visitors to operate on the display during normal operations. So, again we appreciate the suggestion and it will be coming as we move forward with adding features to the display.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2014

We enjoyed our trip immensely. The guides were knowledgeable and friendly and the exhibit is amazing. It took us a while to see everything. We wished we could have come back for the special sunset effects on Saturday. It's well worth a look in!

Date of experience: July 2014
2  Thank BnBgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
F C R, General Manager at Miniature World of Trains, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2014

Thanks for your kind input about the Miniature World of Trains BETA location and our staff of volunteers. Hopefully you will be able to come back for another visit to enjoy our new features that are added weekly!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2014

I took my 5 and 8 year old today. I didn't know how big it would be beforehand. Not sure we would have spent the $15 it cost to get in had I known it was only 1 room. There are a lot of trains to look at, but my kids were done in about 10 min. We had a scavenger hunt to complete which was fun, but the whole trip lasted about 30 minutes. I was told when leaving that at Christmas time they open the other room and have a holiday theme.

Date of experience: July 2014
Thank lisa0916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2014

... the paid five bugs, most club layouts are much better build and you can visit without any admission. Just wondering if the other guys that wrote a review here saw the same display.

Date of experience: May 2014
6  Thank Pieter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2014

I dabbled in model trains many years ago and was curious about this place. I have to say I was impressed. Even if you don't have much interest in model trains you might find this exhibit pretty cool.

Date of experience: May 2014
1  Thank Bigdoggh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
F C R, General Manager at Miniature World of Trains, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2014

Thanks for your kind remarks. We are glad you liked the display. It does get more impressive each week with new features being added as time goes on!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews