We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big Fun With Miniature Trains”
Review of Miniature World of Trains - CLOSED

Miniature World of Trains
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: "Where Ordinary Days Become Extraordinary". "A Fun and Educational Family Experience". "Our World In Miniature". The Miniature World of Trains (a 501c3 Non Profit) new 20,000sf location features several model railroad display. The new Miniature World of Trains will be built in phases from 2015 through 2019 featuring a large miniature display featuring up to 120 HO Scale fully computerized model trains traversing the large city and mountain scene, some reaching 18 feet in height! The highly detailed scenery will enhance your experience! Try one of the several scavenger hunts to have fun and check out some of the finer details. Interactive buttons allow you to operate trains and other things on the display. Real railroad and model railroad artifacts can be found in the throughout the facility. Also, we have the large O Scale Christmas Model Train Display which was the "PICK OF THE SEASON" for WYFF 4 (NBC) here in Greenville and reviewed as "ONCE OF THE BEST CHRISTMAS DISPLAY'S IN THE COUNTRY" according to Classic Toy Trains Magazine. Plus the new $100,000 HO Home Demonstration Display display pre-qualified visitors can operate on. We have S.T.E.A.M. (Science, Technology, Engineering, Arts and Math) Educational Programs for all ages. Special events and special pricing occur all the time. Open days and times vary throughout the year.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Reviewed July 25, 2014

We enjoyed our trip immensely. The guides were knowledgeable and friendly and the exhibit is amazing. It took us a while to see everything. We wished we could have come back for the special sunset effects on Saturday. It's well worth a look in!

2  Thank BnBgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
F C R, General Manager at Miniature World of Trains, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2014

Thanks for your kind input about the Miniature World of Trains BETA location and our staff of volunteers. Hopefully you will be able to come back for another visit to enjoy our new features that are added weekly!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (35)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"model"
in 10 reviews
"characters"
in 4 reviews
"display"
in 16 reviews
"development"
in 3 reviews
"sc"
in 3 reviews
Filter

28 - 32 of 35 reviews

Reviewed July 18, 2014

I took my 5 and 8 year old today. I didn't know how big it would be beforehand. Not sure we would have spent the $15 it cost to get in had I known it was only 1 room. There are a lot of trains to look at, but my kids were done in about 10 min. We had a scavenger hunt to complete which was fun, but the whole trip lasted about 30 minutes. I was told when leaving that at Christmas time they open the other room and have a holiday theme.

Thank lisa0916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2014

... the paid five bugs, most club layouts are much better build and you can visit without any admission. Just wondering if the other guys that wrote a review here saw the same display.

5  Thank Pieter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2014

I dabbled in model trains many years ago and was curious about this place. I have to say I was impressed. Even if you don't have much interest in model trains you might find this exhibit pretty cool.

1  Thank Bigdoggh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
F C R, General Manager at Miniature World of Trains, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2014

Thanks for your kind remarks. We are glad you liked the display. It does get more impressive each week with new features being added as time goes on!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed May 23, 2014 via mobile

The already awesome Falls Park and West End area of Greenville just got a little bit better! I visited this display today during a trip to Greenville. Kids and adults will both enjoy the "scavenger hunt" to find details hidden within the model railroad. Familiar local landmarks (like a model of downtown with Mast General Store) are visible in the railroad display. It also has western Rocky Mountain and eastern Smoky Mountain sections.

The model railroad has computer controlled trains and switches to allow various trains to make realistic starts and stops and traverse the display realistically instead of running in a constant loop like most other displays. The staff is passionate about the "temporary" beta model railroad and museum they have built and I'm impressed with the result. Can't wait to see what this crew can build if they are successful with a future move to a larger facility.

It's a little off Main St. on Camperdown and a little hard to see from Main but it's definitely worth finding if you're in the area.

1  Thank Jon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
F C R, General Manager at Miniature World of Trains, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2014

Thanks for your kind remarks! Please stop back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Miniature World of Trains also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing