We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Miniature World of Trains - CLOSED
Save
Review Highlights
Great new location and new management

This is a new location in Taylors Mill SC in a redevelopment project in an old mill. They recently... read more

Reviewed January 3, 2018
retiredtravelers1963
,
Roswell, Georgia
growing railroad

they are growing from last visit at the downtown location which was cramp and small. the model... read more

Reviewed February 20, 2016
Paul R
,
Greenville
Read all 35 reviews
  
Reviews (35)
Filter reviews
35 results
Traveler rating
16
10
6
1
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
16
10
6
1
2
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
28 - 33 of 35 reviews
Reviewed July 18, 2014

I took my 5 and 8 year old today. I didn't know how big it would be beforehand. Not sure we would have spent the $15 it cost to get in had I known it was only 1 room. There are a lot of trains to look at, but my kids were done in about 10 min. We had a scavenger hunt to complete which was fun, but the whole trip lasted about 30 minutes. I was told when leaving that at Christmas time they open the other room and have a holiday theme.

Date of experience: July 2014
Thank lisa0916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2014

... the paid five bugs, most club layouts are much better build and you can visit without any admission. Just wondering if the other guys that wrote a review here saw the same display.

Date of experience: May 2014
6  Thank Pieter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2014

I dabbled in model trains many years ago and was curious about this place. I have to say I was impressed. Even if you don't have much interest in model trains you might find this exhibit pretty cool.

Date of experience: May 2014
1  Thank Bigdoggh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
F C R, General Manager at Miniature World of Trains, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2014

Thanks for your kind remarks. We are glad you liked the display. It does get more impressive each week with new features being added as time goes on!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2014 via mobile

The already awesome Falls Park and West End area of Greenville just got a little bit better! I visited this display today during a trip to Greenville. Kids and adults will both enjoy the "scavenger hunt" to find details hidden within the model railroad. Familiar local landmarks (like a model of downtown with Mast General Store) are visible in the railroad display. It also has western Rocky Mountain and eastern Smoky Mountain sections.

The model railroad has computer controlled trains and switches to allow various trains to make realistic starts and stops and traverse the display realistically instead of running in a constant loop like most other displays. The staff is passionate about the "temporary" beta model railroad and museum they have built and I'm impressed with the result. Can't wait to see what this crew can build if they are successful with a future move to a larger facility.

It's a little off Main St. on Camperdown and a little hard to see from Main but it's definitely worth finding if you're in the area.

1  Thank jond357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
F C R, General Manager at Miniature World of Trains, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2014

Thanks for your kind remarks! Please stop back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2014

The Miniature World of Trains is a must see for anyone with children 2-12 and all adults that remember watching the trains at Christmas! It's inexpensive and a great rest stop while wondering around downtown Greenville. Don't miss it!

Date of experience: February 2014
1  Thank Mary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews