We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Anniversary Getaway” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace
Ranked #4 of 64 Hotels in Greenville
Certificate of Excellence
Lexington, South Carolina
Level Contributor
48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Anniversary Getaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2014

Celebrated our 22nd Anniv with first trip to downtown Greenville, SC. Hotel was within reasonable walking distance to all downtown activities, restaurants, sites to see. Staff was very friendly, room decent size, great beds, clean, good basic free breakfast included. Only thing missing, it seems most of downtown hotels lack this, a pool. Hotel sits back off Main St, so it was quiet. We would definitely return here. Nothing bad to report about 3 day stay. Great city to visit.

Room Tip: I would not waste my $ for room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Reginald C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HISGreenville, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Dear Reginald C,

Thank you for being our guest recently at our Hampton Inn & Suites Downtown Greenville RiverPlace. I am very happy to hear that we were able to provide a wonderful venue to for you celebrate your anniversary! It is true that we do not have a pool at our property, however, we do offer complimentary access to the local YMCA which has a pool. I am glad that you were able to experience Greenville and we look forward to seeing you for your 23rd anniversary!

All the Best,

Morgan Denson
Guest Service Manager
m.denson@hospitalityamerica.com
864-271-8700
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

950 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    663
    220
    40
    20
    7
See reviews for
268
326
30
215
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johnson City, Tennessee
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2014

We had a wonderful stay at this hotel! The location is great, just a short five minute walk to the Peace Center, and a few minutes walk to some great shops, eateries, and boutiques. Love the bells out front that play music on the hour, and the staff was friendly and helpful. The rooms are spacious, clean, and comfortable. We thoroughly enjoyed our visit and plan to return!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnaL14559
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HISGreenville, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
Dear AnnaL14559,

I am so glad to hear about your wonderful stay at our Hampton Inn & Suites in Downtown Greenville! I am pleased to hear that you were able to enjoy the wonderful downtown Greenville area while you were visiting.

It's wonderful to hear how helpful and friendly are staff was and how you enjoyed our rooms! Thank you again for your review and we look forward to seeing you on your next visit into Greenville, SC!

Morgan Denson
Guest Service Manager
m.denson@hospitalityamerica.com
864-271-8700
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2014

Beautiful property in an ideal location with a superb staff. Our company had a very bad experience with a competing brand, so we looked for other options. We were fortunate to find this Hampton and to be able to work with Nelle O'Donnell, Director of Sales in negotiating a corporate rate for our company. She has been fantastic to work with and has made sure that all of our visits since that time have been perfect. Our company will not consider staying anywhere else!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HISGreenville, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
Dear Michael P,

Thank you for your awesome review of our Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville -- Downtown -- RiverPlace. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor.

I am so pleased to hear how Nelle was able to accommodate your company at our property. As our Director of Sales, she does a fantastic job of faciliting a variety of new business from company travelers to wedding blocks!

Thank you again and we look forward to taking care of your company travelers as they continue to travel into the Greenville area!

Morgan Denson
Guest Service Manager
m.denson@hospitalityamerica.com
864-271-8700
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
293 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2014

A very nice downtown hotel right on the Reedy River. Staff are efficient and friendly and the rooms are spacious with a good sized bathroom. What I really like is the large walk-in shower - no clambering in and out of a tub! Location is right on the Reedy River with access to the River Walk which is really lovely. Also, a couple of good restaurants on hand - the Lazy Goat is about 20 paces from the front door, which has a great patio over looking the river; good food. Then there is High Cotton, which is 5 mins walk up on South Main St, good bar, and excellent food though a bit pricey. The hotel has self and valet parking so really conveneint for the traveller. I've stayed at 4 of the downtown hotels and I think this is the best value for money with a super location.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A R H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HISGreenville, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
Dear A R H,

Thank you so much for being our guest recently at the Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville -- Downtown -- RiverPlace. I also appreciate you taking the time to write a review of our property and surrounding restaurants.

We do offer room service from the restaurants you mentioned; The Lazy Goat and High Cotton as well as from Larkin's on the River. We love working with such wonderful restaurants to create an outstanding experience for our guests.

Thank you for your words regarding our location and value! We sit near some great properties and continue to strive to be the best among the best!

Morgan Denson
Guest Service Manager
m.denson@Hospitalityamerica.com
864-271-8700
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014

It was a pleasant experience dealing with this hotel. Most of the time when I book hotel's for my colleagues it can be painful. This hotel made the process as easy as possible and took the stress away from me. My associate was in Greenville for a business trip and from his reviews I can't wait to stay there myself. From the moment he checked in until he checked out, he could not stop raving about his whole experience. It was an easy process dealing with their wonderful staff and it was reassuring knowing my associate was well taken care of! I will be booking with them anytime I have someone traveling in Greenville.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christopher P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HISGreenville, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Christopher P,

Thank you for your review of our hotel! It was our pleasure to be able to take care of your colleague while they were in town. We strive to deliver an outstanding product paired with wonderful value and I am pleased to hear that you were satisfied with your experience. We look forward to taking care of your guests in the future!

All the Best!

Morgan Denson
Guest Service Manager
m.denson@hospitalityamerica.com
864-271-8700
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rock Hill, South Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2014

This is my favorite place to stay when I visit Greenville! The staff is friendly, the location is perfect, the view is beautiful, the rooms are clean and the coffee is fresh! What else could you ask for on your vacation!!? Thanks for making our night in Greenville wonderful!!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank becky h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HISGreenville, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Becky H,

Thank you for being our loyal guest at Hampton Inn & Suites in Downtown Greenville. Thank you also for sharing your experience. I am pleased to hear that our staff and location was to your satisfaction and we look forward to seeing you on your next journey into Greenville!

All the Best!

Morgan Denson
Guest Service Manager
m.denson@hospitalityamerica.com
864-271-8700
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrenceville, Georgia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2014

My daughter-in-law and I came from the Atlanta area for a quick mini-vacation. We were very pleased with the hotel. We got in very early and the staff invited us to enjoy the very nice breakfast (mind you, this was on a weekday - I'm not sure if it would be the same on the weekend). Breakfast includes hot dishes such as scrambled eggs or pre-made omelets, sausage or bacon, and french bread fingers; oatmeal with various toppings, a waffle-maker, pastries, bread and a toaster, yogurts, fresh fruit (apples, bananas, and fresh berries and pineapple when we were there); and of course various hot drinks: coffees, teas, and hot chocolate mix. We followed another reviewer's tip and drove around the garage parking until we found a parking spot near the elevator doors marked with the Hampton Inn's name. After that, we had no trouble getting back and forth from the hotel to our car.
The location is superb. The Lazy Goat mediterranean restaurant is just across the way and is an excellent restaurant. The river and park are just down some stairs with beautiful fountains on either side. Once down those stairs, the main park is to the right and the walk goes all the way to Cleveland Park and the zoo. Close by are an "Art Walk" with several art studio/stores as well as O-CHA tea bar which is an excellent place for a cool (or hot) drink. Across the river are the Peace Amphitheater, where there are some outdoor concerts, as well as Larkin's on the River, where we had some of the best filet mignon we've ever eaten.
The hotel room was clean and very nice. We had a double queen room, which does not have a river view available. It didn't matter to us, since we didn't spend much time in the room, but if you plan on being in the room a lot, getting one with a river view and/or balcony might suit you better. It was nice to have plenty of towels. The room came with the standard TV, microwave, and fridge. We found out the ice machine was just on the other side of the room, but we never heard anyone use it.
Overall, a quiet room with helpful and friendly staff and an excellent location!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank L0veToTravel88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HISGreenville, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear L0veToTravel88,

Thank you for being our guest and for sharing your experience at our property! It appears that you and your daughter-in-law where able to enjoy our wonderful city and it's many attractions! I am glad you enjoyed our property and it's many amenities. The breakfast you experienced is the same breakfast that we serve each day. Our egg and protein offerings vary day to day, but the rest of the food items are constant. I am pleased that your room was to your liking and was clean and well appointed. Thank you again for your review and we hope to serve you again in the future!

All the Best!

Morgan Denson
Guest Service Manager
m.denson@hospitalityamerica.com
864-271-8700
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Greenville hotels
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Greenville Downtown
0.3 mi away
The Westin Poinsett, Greenville
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Greenville
Hyatt Regency Greenville
#10 of 64 in Greenville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Greenville
Hilton Garden Inn Greenville
#3 of 64 in Greenville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 619 reviews
5.7 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Greenville
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Greenville Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace
Address: 171 Riverplace, Greenville, SC 29601-2579
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Greenville
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Greenville
#1 Family Hotel in Greenville
#3 Business Hotel in Greenville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace 2.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our boutique hotel is located in the heart of downtown's historic Westend District. An unparalleled variety of guestrooms ranging from studio balcony suites overlooking Falls Park to signature circular suites essential for those special occasions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown Hotel Greenville
Hampton Inn And Suites Greenville - Downtown
Hampton Inn Greenville
Greenville Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing