We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace
Ranked #4 of 64 Hotels in Greenville
Certificate of Excellence
Spartanburg, South Carolina, USA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Alert for parents”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2014

I spent two nights at Hampton Inn Riverplace in Greenville this past weekend for a family wedding. Everything about the hotel was top notch. The staff was helpful, the rooms were comfortable and immaculate, and the breakfast bar offered many options.

However, I am compelled to write concerning the lack of security within the guest rooms, when staying with children. My husband and I had a 24-month-old and a three-year-old with us. Both children were able to open the locked door to the room and get out into the hallway. The piece of hardware installed on the door frame, which rotates to allow the door to either open freely, or only open an inch or so, is mounted low enough for a three year old to reach it. In addition to the fact that very young children can leave the guest room at will, the elevator does not require a guest key card.

I have emailed the manager of this hotel concerning this hazard and feel confident changes will be made to ensure the safety of young children staying in the guest rooms. When I learn that this problem has been solved, I will change my review.

Room Tip: Check the door locks on your room if you are staying with young children, to make sure they cannot r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Beverly T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HAMPTONAGM, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Dear Beverly T,

Thank you for staying at the Hampton Inn & Suites RiverPlace. Per our discussion, security is our number one priority for all ages. We continue to research new technologies and innovative ideas to stay ahead of our competition in all facets of the hotel. I can assure you we provide an extremely safe hotel and will continue to do so.

We appreciate your feedback and will address your concerns accordingly. Thanks for your review.

Matt Lew
General Manager
m.lew@hospitalityamerica.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,001 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    705
    228
    41
    20
    7
See reviews for
278
348
36
226
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
206 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2014 via mobile

Very comfortable room, friendly staff who were very helpful. Proper inclusive internet, which is always encouraging. But what on earth are they thinking about with breakfast?
The cooked part was simply dire. Soggy potatoes; scrambled egg muddled with steak (why not keep them separate? We like a choice); everything kept vaguely warm, which of course guarantees the ruination of eggs, which should be freshly cooked. This is not a cheap hotel, and the excellent rooms reflect that. But no egg chef exists here, which could easily have been supplied (and would have been in the much cheaper diners all around); paper plates (well, really!); poor croissants, no English muffins on the second day. It all told of very poor attention to detail. I won't go back until I can be sure they can do breakfast, which is one of the quintessential American skills.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Nigel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HAMPTONAGM, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Dear Nigel C,

I appreciate your candid feedback on your most recent stay with us. We are always looking for feedback to better enhance the service and amenities we offer. The Hampton Brand as been extremely successful during its history, by establishing consistency at each of its properties, whether it be a downtown property or a roadside hotel. Hampton has been voted the #1 franchised business consecutively over the past few years for this very reason. Understanding that breakfast is a large part of our day to day operation, the Brand has rolled out several new initiatives since 2009, to ensure we are providing consistent quality products. In order to accommodate all the different walks of life we have the pleasure of serving, the Brand requires a rotation of breakfast items each day in order to offer a larger variety to its growing demographic. This is why you noticed that english muffins were not served on one of the days during your visit. We are still able to provide the items you enjoy most upon request, even if we are not serving them on that particular day. I do apologize for the inconvenience and upon making your next reservation please ask our staff what breakfast items will be served during your stay. We provide them a day to day calendar of offerings for inquiries during the reservation process.

Thank you once again for your feedback and look forward to better serving you in the future,

Matt Lew
General Manager
864-271-8700
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
59 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2014

I stayed at this hotel last night, about the third or fourth time I've stayed at this property in the last couple of years. This may be the best Hampton Inn & Suites that I have ever experienced. Extremely clean and quiet! Friendly front-desk staff and valet service for your car too. Self-parking is also very convenient and is only $6. I had a king balcony room on the front of the hotel and it was great in the morning to have my coffee and newspaper sitting outside, listening to the nearby waterfall. I can also recommend a room overlooking the Riedy river. The property is within easy walking distance of Flour Field where the Greenville Drive baseball team plays, and I highly recommend a visit to this outstanding park. Excellent restaurants, and lots of them, are also an easy walk. A Starbucks is close-by and opens at 6 am for us early-risers. A great property for both business and pleasure. Enjoy the very nice fruit bowl at the free breakfast buffet in the hotel lobby in the morning, but I recommend you get there early since it disappears fast!

Room Tip: Get a room with a balcony to enjoy the outdoors!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank msh305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HAMPTONAGM, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
msh305,

Thank you very much for the detailed review. I am very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay at our property and wanted to thank you for your continued loyalty to our property. Our Hampton Inn & Suites is very unique and is certainly not your typical Hampton Inn. In addition to valet parking we do provide room service from three of the best restaurants in Greenville (Lazy Goat, High Cotton, and Larkins on the River). The ballpark has been voted the #1 minor league stadium in the nation, and is a replica of Fenway Park. We do provide complimentary tickets to the games, but they are handed out on a first come first serve basis. We hope to be able to serve you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Matt Lew
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2014 via mobile

Great stay!! Just the best location in downtown Greenville, SC.
Gorgeous clean rooms, beautifully appointed all over. A fantastic and relaxing stay.
Thank you Eric for a seamless check in.
Look no further when you plan your next trip to the downtown Greenville area.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Sharon N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HAMPTONAGM, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Sharon,

Thank you very much for your kind review. We have the best housekeeping staff and they really care about providing the cleanest and most comfortable rooms in Greenville. They actually just received a 99/100 for cleanliness on our most recent Quality Assurance evaluation. Eric is a great employee and we will be sure to pass on your praise. Thank you once again and hope to have the opportunity to serve you in the future.

Sincerely,

Matt Lew
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evans, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2014

My husband & I stay at this Hampton Inn every time we come to Greenville because the location is great. Within walking distance to any type of restaurant or entertainment that you could want. The staff is great and very accommodating. They have several different room options with great views of downtown. An exciting place to stay - I highly reccommend it even though the rates are somewhat higher than most Hilton group hotels that we stay in.

Room Tip: The corner suites are great - roomy, guiet and have a nice view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HAMPTONAGM, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Nancy,

We appreciate your loyalty to our hotel and continuing to stay with us during your travels to Greenville. We do have a variety of different room type options to best accommodate our guests for any occasion. Next time ask about our King Studio Suite with Balcony. It is our most popular room with incredible views of the river, Falls Park, Art Crossing, and downtown Greenville. We look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Matt Lew
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
raleigh, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2014

Outstanding location when visiting Greenville. The park, great restaurants and activities are all within walking distance. The Hampton Riverview is an EXCELLENT hotel stay! Our accommodations, staff and services was superb.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Joanne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HAMPTONAGM, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Joanne,

Thank you very much for your review. We pride ourselves on delivering exceptional service to all of our guests. We are fortunate to have such a unique and beautiful Hampton Inn & Suites perfectly located to everything Greenville has to offer. We look forward to serving you on your next stop in Greenville!!!

Sincerely,

Matt Lew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Leonard
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

I stay at this Hampton each time I go to Greenville and bluntly although I am a Hilton Honors member, Hamptons are at the bottom of my list of Hilton Facilities.

However, the is a very, very, nice place. Always clean, always a smile. It sits next to a creek, they call it a river but it is a creek, but you are right down tour, near all the shops. More great eateries than you can count on all your fingers and toes, you can have a driver overlooking the well manicured park that overlooks the creek and just next store is a very good Blue's Bar....good even if you are not a blues fan.

If you are in the area, stop in, you won't regret your stay and certainly not the city of Greenville.

Room Tip: ask for a room over looking the river.....nice view....but don't expect a real river
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank William N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HAMPTONAGM, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Dear William N,

Thank you for taking time out of your day to share you experience with other here on TripAdvisor. We are so pleased you enjoyed your recent stay at the Hampton Inn & Suites RiverPlace. We greatly appreciate your loyalty to the Hilton brand and to our property. Everything we do is aimed at providing you with an excellent hotel experience
and I am happy to hear yours was an enjoyable one.

We welcome you back in advance should your travels return to Greenville. Please contact me directly if I can ever be of assistance.

Best Regards,

Brett Flowers
Assistant General Manager
864-271-8700
b.flowers@hospitalityamerica.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Greenville hotels
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Greenville Downtown
0.3 mi away
The Westin Poinsett, Greenville
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Greenville
Hyatt Regency Greenville
#11 of 64 in Greenville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 919 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Aloft Greenville Downtown
Aloft Greenville Downtown
#19 of 64 in Greenville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
5.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Greenville
Hilton Garden Inn Greenville
#5 of 64 in Greenville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
5.7 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Greenville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace
Address: 171 Riverplace, Greenville, SC 29601-2579
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Greenville
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Greenville
#1 Family Hotel in Greenville
#3 Business Hotel in Greenville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace 2.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our boutique hotel is located in the heart of downtown's historic Westend District. An unparalleled variety of guestrooms ranging from studio balcony suites overlooking Falls Park to signature circular suites essential for those special occasions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown Hotel Greenville
Hampton Inn And Suites Greenville - Downtown
Hampton Inn Greenville
Greenville Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing