We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Downtown Greenville... just an enjoyable walk...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace
Ranked #2 of 64 Hotels in Greenville
Certificate of Excellence
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Downtown Greenville... just an enjoyable walk...”
Reviewed March 28, 2014

Stayed here (2 couples) when we went to Greenville 3-24 through 3-26-2014 to experience the FIRST ANNUAL Greenville Small Plates Crawl at 24 participating restaurants in the area. Many were along N. Main and S. Main... or on side streets near Main in the historic downtown development area. The Hampton is in an ideal location for walking and exploring this eclectic area... many shops and restaurants of interest. The scenery along the river and footbridge across it are pleasant and relaxing... good place to take a few quiet moments to stroll, read or just relax. The Hampton is adjacent to an underground parking garage (very convenient) which costs $6 per day with an unlimited access pass charged to the room... or valet parking for $15/day is available as well.

The hotel is undergoing renovation during the daytime hours... it is nearing an end with well over half of the renovation completed. Rooms are CLEAN, quite comfy, & feel almost spacious. In addition to the tv & gaming system, rooms feature a microwave and small refrigerator. Beds are very comfortable. Based on the room I had, I'd guess that the suites are also very well appointed, even if NOT luxurious. After all this is a Hampton, not a Hilton. There was a small fitness room on the 2nd floor... weights, an elliptical, and 2 treadmills. New equipment and well kept.

We found the staff to be pleasant and helpful... responsive to our requests. The morning breakfast offerings were quite sufficient (several EVEN VERY TASTY) & attendantS kept the area clean and well stocked. Chafing dish offerings vary daily(eggs, sausage or bacon, hot biscuits), hot oatmeal, make-your-own waffles (2 good waffle makers), assorted breads & bagels/English muffins (excellent toaster), assorted pastries, cereals, several fruit selections, tomato & orange juices, yogurt, hard boiled eggs, assorted teas & hot chocolate, regular coffee, robust regular coffee, and decaf coffee. THIS COMPLIMENTARY BREAKFAST is well worth the effort to get up early enough to make a waffle (2 1/2 minutes) and enjoy!

Room service for the Hampton-Riverplace is provided by an adjacent Mediterranean restaurant... The Lazy Goat.

THANK GOODNESS South Carolina officials are not wacko like those in NC where (only a few mile up the interstate in Hendersonville) hotels with a complimentary breakfast MUST SERVE everything prepackaged in sterile tamperproof packages! AND heating the "hot breakfast" is ONLY by using much abused microwaves! YUCK! This RIDICULOUS "NC health" policy may have changed, but my stay there last year was sufficient to drive me to the nearest Cracker Barrel because the complimentary breakfast was not worthy of any compliments!

Overall convenience of this location downtown and amenities offered make this Hampton Inn an ideal choice in downtown Greenville... we will return again and AGAIN. Looking forward to the SECOND ANNUAL Greenville Small Plates Crawl, too!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grantg2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamptongsm, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Dear grantg2,

Thank you for sharing your lovely experience at the Hampton Inn & Suites RiverPlace here on TripAdvisor! We appreciate your detailed review and thank you for all of your wonderful comments regarding our staff, location, breakfast, and amenities. Thank you for mentioning our renovation. We are excited to announce all rooms have been completed and every guest room is updated with brand new mattresses, carpet, paint, decor, etc.!

We hope to have the pleasure of serving you again in the near future or next year for the Small Plates Crawl! Please feel free to contact me directly if I can ever be of assistance. Thanks again for your fantastic review!

Best Regards,

Brett Flowers
Assistant General Manager
864-271-8700
b.flowers@hospitalityamerica.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,089 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    778
    238
    45
    20
    8
See reviews for
295
394
38
241
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, United States
1 review
Reviewed March 28, 2014

This was the only hotel we could find with queen sized beds. A group of us go to Greenville every March for a convention. We always stay here. It's very clean. The staff is accommodating and friendly. It's perfectly located to walk to everything in the beautiful downtown Greenville area.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Camilla P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamptongsm, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Dear Camilla P,

Thank you for choosing the Hampton Inn & Suites RiverPlace for your recent trip to Greenville! We are happy to read you enjoyed your stay and our lovely downtown location. Our centralized location makes it super easy for our guests to walk around the area and enjoy the great things Greenville has to offer; I'm happy to hear that was the case for you!

We can't wait to have you back with us again next year for the March convention. Please feel free to contact me directly if I can ever assist you in the future.

Best Regards,

Brett Flowers
Assistant General Manager
864-271-8700
b.flowers@hopsitalityamerica.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 25, 2014

Great place to stay. Rooms where comfortable and clean. The location of the hotel is on the river at Falls Park so senic walking to relax is steps away. As well as all the great places to eat on historical Main street just minutes away.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Bruce A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamptongsm, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Dear Bruce A,

Thank you for choosing the Hampton Inn & Suites RiverPlace for your recent trip to the area! We are happy to hear you enjoyed our centralized downtown location. Being in the heart of downtown, really makes it easy for our guests to take a nice stroll down the river walk and to enjoy the delicious restaurants. I am pleased to hear you were able to experience that as well!

We hope to have the pleasure of serving you again soon! Please give us a call if we can assist you in making future reservations. Thanks for your review!

Best Regards,

Brett Flowers
Assistant General Manager
864-271-8700
b.flowers@hospitalityamerica.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 25, 2014

Room had a king bed, business desk that is worthless, desk chair that is not comfortable, corner chair that also is not comfortable. Typical room that only offers a bed - too expensive ($200/night) for just a bed.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamptongsm, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Dear John D,

Thank you for staying at the Hampton Inn & Suites RiverPlace. I am sorry to hear your stay was not fully to your satisfaction. Thank you for mentioning the desk and corner chairs. We are always trying to improve our product and the service we provide to our guests. In doing so, we have recently updated all of our guest rooms with brand new desk and corner chairs, paint, carpet, etc. We hope the next time you are in the area you will be able to check out these brand new features!

Please feel free to contact me directly if I can ever be of assistance. Thanks again for your feedback!

Best Regards,

Brett Flowers
Assistant General Manager
864-271-8700
b.flowers@hospitalityamerica.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pineville, United States
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2014

$300.00+ per night for a Hampton, come on. The fitness center is very small, no indoor pool, $6.00 for self parking in a garage. The staff have always acted like they were at a five star hotel, instead of a Hampton.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Bruce L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamptongsm, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Dear Bruce L,

Thank you for staying at the Hampton Inn & Suites RiverPlace. We appreciate your feedback as it allows us to see how are doing from your perspective. With regards to rate, we have researched our market and are competitively priced with other downtown hotels. Thank you so much for complimenting our hotel staff! It is always our #1 goal to make sure each and every guest has enjoyable experience while with us.

We hope you will give us another opportunity to serve you. Please feel free to contact me directly if I can ever be of assistance.

Best Regards,

Brett Flowers
Assistant General Manager
864-271-8700
b.flowers@hospitalityamerica.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I got married March 15th and stayed at this hotel that night. When we checked in the two gentelmen working The front desk were very friendly and helpful, even gave a call up to the room after we checked in to make sure everything was good. Every time we passed the front desk there was always someone there asking how our stay was and if we needed anything at all!
We went out downtown and came back after they had left for the night, the man working The over night shift was just as friendly and helpful, and kind!
Breakfast was amazing as well! A huge selection of pastries and hot breakfast!
The hotel itself has to be one of the best Hamptons I have stayed at! From the modern decor in the lobby, to the beautiful downtown view from our 6th floor room! Everything about our stay was perfect, thank you to all the staff for making our weekend there great!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ctwinsrus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamptongsm, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Dear ctwinsrus,

Thank you for choosing the Hampton Inn & Suites RiverPlace and congratulations on your marriage! We are so delighted to hear you had a perfect stay and thank you for complimenting our staff. We have a wonderful staff who truly strive to make sure each and every guest has an enjoyable experience. Thank you for mentioning our lovely modern rooms and delicious breakfast buffet!

We hope to have the pleasure of serving you again soon! Please feel free to contact me directly if I can ever assist you in the future.

Best Regards,

Brett Flowers
Assistant General Manager
864-271-8700
b.flowers@hospitalityamer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murrells Inlet, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2014

I always try to use Hamptons, or a Hilton property, because the beds are so comfortable and the rooms are always clean and neat. Service here was exceptional. They have a shuttle that takes you into town, so you do not have to worry about parking. They have a bar, if ou want a night cap and the breakfast is done nicely.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Enanick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamptongsm, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Dear Enanick,

Thank you for sharing your experience with others on TripAdvisor! We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and your time in Greenville. Our #1 goal is to ensure every guest has an exceptional experience while with us! We hope to have the pleasure of serving you again in the future. Please feel free to contact me directly if I can ever be of assistance in the future.

Thanks again for your review!

Best Regards,

Brett Flowers
Assistant General Manager
864-271-8700
b.flowers@hospitalityamerica.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Greenville hotels
0.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Greenville Downtown Riverplace
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Greenville
Hyatt Regency Greenville
#14 of 64 in Greenville
1,070 reviews
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Greenville Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Westin Poinsett, Greenville
0.6 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Greenville Downtown
0.4 mi away
Aloft Greenville Downtown
Aloft Greenville Downtown
#16 of 64 in Greenville
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace
Address: 171 Riverplace, Greenville, SC 29601-2579
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Greenville
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Greenville
#1 Romantic Hotel in Greenville
#3 Business Hotel in Greenville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace 2.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our boutique hotel is located in the heart of downtown's historic Westend District. An unparalleled variety of guestrooms ranging from studio balcony suites overlooking Falls Park to signature circular suites essential for those special occasions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown Hotel Greenville
Hampton Inn And Suites Greenville - Downtown
Hampton Inn Greenville
Greenville Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing