We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, but not worth it if you want to sleep.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace
Ranked #2 of 63 Hotels in Greenville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 18, 2014

Hotel very noisy -- HVAC, hallway doors slamming and between rooms and floors. Location is terrific, but totally not worth it if you need any sleep. I cannot add enough words to hit 200 characters. I cannot add enough words to hit 200 characters. I cannot add enough words to hit 200 characters.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
1  Thank Beth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamptongsm, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2014

Dear Beth R,

Your feedback is greatly appreciated. Thank you for taking the time and placing your comment on TripAdvisor. Our goal at the Hampton Inn & Suites is to provide an exceptional experience for all our guests. We are glad you enjoyed our Downtown location. We deeply regret you did not have a peaceful stay with us. The noise you encountered limited your time of relaxation, and we do apologize. Our Maintenance department is working diligently in resolving HVAC to limit noise.

Thank you for staying with us and it is our hope for another opportunity of accommodating your next trip to Greenville.

Yensi Castro
Guest Service Manager
Hampton Inn & Suites Downtown - RiverPlace
y.castro@hospitalityamerica.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,178)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

819 - 825 of 1,178 reviews

Reviewed February 18, 2014

If you want to stay a night and see a performance at the Peace Center, have a great dining experience (walking distance to awesome food & drinks) in downtown Greenville or simply get away as a couple...this is the perfect location! We will be back!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
1  Thank Erik S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamptongsm, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2014

Dear Erik S,

We appreciate you taking the time and placing a comment on TripAdvisor. I am very pleased to hear you enjoyed a special getaway evening of a lovely performance and dinning in the Downtown area. Our main priority is to ensure our guests have a fun and memorable stay while with us.

Thank you for choosing the Hampton Inn & Suites Downtown, and we will look forward to your next visit.

Yensi Castro
Guest Service Manager
Hampton Inn & Suites Downtown - RiverPlace
y.castro@hospitalityamerica.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2014

Nicest Hampon Inn I've ever been in. I generally stay in higher end hotels but this was pretty nice. It is in a very nice location downtown. If you are looking fo a hotel in Greenville you won't be disappointed with this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
2  Thank Cynthia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamptongsm, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2014

Dear Cynthia H,

Thank you for placing your comment on TripAdvisor. We appreciate your feedback. We are excited to hear you enjoyed our convenient location to Downtown and hotel amenities.
Our #1 priority is to ensure our guests have a comfortable and memorable stay while with us.

On behalf of our entire staff here at the Hampton Inn & Suites, we would like to thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again on your next trip to Greenville.

Warm Regards,

Yensi Castro
Guest Service Manager
Hampton Inn & Suites Downtown - RiverPlace
y.castro@hospitalityamerica.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014

We arrived hours before a very unusual storm and well recommended to eat a fine meal at Larkins. Our business group had a great meal. The next day, all local businesses closed due to storm for most of next two days. Hotel was especially commfortable.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
2  Thank Donald D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamptongsm, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2014

Dear Donald D,

Thank you for placing your comment on TripAdvisor. We are extremely pleased to learn your stay with us was nothing less than an enjoyable experience! Your total satisfaction is our number one priority. Our convenient location to Downtown makes it easy for guests to take a walk and enjoy our beautiful city. We are glad you enjoyed an excellent meal at Larkin's during the snow storm, one of the best restaurant in the city.

Thank you again for the positive feedback and for making the Hampton Inn & Suites RiverPlace your number one choice of hotels while in Greenville!


Yensi Castro
Guest Service Manager
Hampton Inn & Suites Downtown - RiverPlace
y.castro@hospitalityamerica.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2014

Great views from this gorgeous hotel. The location is ideal as you're just across from the Reedy River Falls Park and walking distance to a variety of downtown restaurants.

If you're driving - the parking can be a bit tricky! Especially if you have a larger vehicle. But once you're in the garage, it's much easier to just leave your car there and walk around instead of fighting for spots on the street.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cazanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamptongsm, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2014

Dear Casanda,

Thank you for placing your comment on TripAdvisors, We appreciate your feedback. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed the view of your room as well as the close walk to Reddy River and restaurants downtown.
I apologize for the confusion in getting into the garage, but glad you were able to locate.
Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!

Yensi Castro
Hampton Inn and Suites Downtown - Riverplace
Guest Service Manager
y.castro@hospitalityamerica.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2014

This hotel is perfectly located, easily accessed and run smoothly and efficiently. The staff makes you feel important and at home. This particular hotel is a level above the usual Hampton Inns in quality and service.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
2  Thank GBW4324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamptongsm, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2014

Dear GBW4324,

We appreciate you taking the time and placing a comment on TripAdvisor. Our #1 goal is to ensure our guests have a comfortable and memorable stay with us. We are excited to hear you enjoyed your stay and our staff made you feel at home.
On behalf of our entire staff at the Hampton Inn and Suites, we would like to thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you next time your travels bring you back to Greenville.,

Yensi Castro
Hampton Inn and Suites Greenville - Riverplace
Guest Service Manager
y.castro@hospitalityamerica.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2014

Hotel was awesome but the bed was horrible. If the upgrade the beds I would return as a guest but until that time I will not stay there again. And why would you make a guest pay for parking when the rooms are not cheep in the first place. I mean if you are charging for a $200 room the last thing you should do is charge for the limited parking in down town Greenville. The view was awesome ans was the over all experience at the hotel, it was just the horrible bed, it was uncomfortable, made noise and squeaked every time you moved, ever just to turn over.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Warren T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamptongsm, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2014

Dear Warren T,

Your feedback is greatly appreciated. We are glad you were satisfied during your stay and enjoyed the view from your guest room, our Riverview is spectacular. We take pride in our hotel as we strive to exceed all of our guests' expectations. We do apologize our bed was not to your satisfaction. The parking facility is owned by the city of Greenville. However, we are working closely to make parking more convenient to all of our guests. Thank you for staying with us and it is our hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you on your next trip to Greenville.

Yensi Castro
Hampton Inn and Suites Greenville - Riverplace
Guest Service Manager
y.castro@hospitalityamerica.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Greenville hotels
0.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Greenville Downtown Riverplace
0.2 mi away
The Westin Poinsett, Greenville
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Greenville Downtown
Courtyard Greenville Downtown
#13 of 63 in Greenville
667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Greenville Downtown
3.8 mi away
Hilton Greenville
Hilton Greenville
#15 of 63 in Greenville
848 reviews
0.4 mi away
Aloft Greenville Downtown
Aloft Greenville Downtown
#14 of 63 in Greenville
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace

Address: 171 Riverplace, Greenville, SC 29601-2579
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Greenville
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Greenville
#1 Romantic Hotel in Greenville
#3 Business Hotel in Greenville
Price Range: $167 - $347 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace 2.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our boutique hotel is located in the heart of downtown's historic Westend District. An unparalleled variety of guestrooms ranging from studio balcony suites overlooking Falls Park to signature circular suites essential for those special occasions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Greenville - Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown Hotel Greenville
Hampton Inn Greenville
Greenville Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing