We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Weekend Get Away”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace
Ranked #2 of 64 Hotels in Greenville
Certificate of Excellence
Charleston, South Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Weekend Get Away”
Reviewed January 27, 2014

We recently stayed at your location for a friends wedding weekend. The hotel was convenient to their rehearsal dinner, church, and reception venue. We also found great places nearby for happy hour and lunch.
The staff was extremely friendly and helpful on a most busy weekend. We also enjoyed the free breakfast...eggs, sausage, waffles, fruit...everything we could want! Our room was HUGE! Thank you for the choice of foam or down pillows as we are both allergic to feathers. We did have trouble getting onto the internet from our room. However, we just went downstairs and used the lobby computers.
We will definitely stay here again for another enjoyable weekend downtown!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CharlestonGrammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamptongsm, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear Charleston Grammy,

Thank you for placing a comment on Tripadvisor. Your feedback is greatly appreciated. We're delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay and our amenities. Our Hampton Inn and Suites Breakfast is one of a kind with fresh fruits, hot buffet and continental items. We are pleased you had the opportunity to enjoy as well.
On behalf of our entire staff, we would like to thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!

Sincerely,

Yensi Castro
Guest Service Manager
y.castro@hospitalityamerica.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    786
    245
    45
    20
    8
See reviews for
298
402
38
241
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2014

Great location for a hotel, but we had no heat in our room on a 21 degree night. They did move us to another room(Basically same room- no upgrade) and it still took 2 hours to bring the new room up to 70 degrees from 65 degrees when we entered the new room. Avoid staying at this hotel if it is to cold and most likely to hot outside.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
2 Thank William I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamptongsm, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Dear William I,

Thank you for placing a comment on Tripadvior. We are glad you enjoyed our convenient Downtown location. We do our best to strive and exceed all of our guests' expectations. We do apologize for the inconvenience with our heating system not working properly in your room. You also waited a while for new room with Balcony to reach a certain temperature. We appreciate your feedback and will utilize your comments to ensure our rooms are in a comfortable setting for all guests on daily basis.

Thank you,

Yensi Castro
Guest Service Manager
y.castro@hospitalityamerica.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
1 review
Reviewed January 12, 2014

Great location, friendly staff, clean, computers available in lobby, free WiFi, good free breakfast, free coffee and tea available anytime. The only thing I didn't like was that the gym is quite small, the TV in the gym didn't work nor did the small TV's on the cardio equipment. We could hear the people in the next room which was slightly bothersome but not terrible. But I would still stay here again and would definitely stay here over the Westin.

Green Features: Good but wish you had more recycling options for plastics and cardboard. Just because cups are compostable doesn't mean they should just be thrown in the trash.
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamptongsm, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Dear Heather W,

Thank you for taking the time and place a comment on Tripadvisor. We appreciate your feedback as it allows us to see how we are doing from the guest perspective. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and our amenities. We deeply regret our TVs in fitness room were not working properly and your room was not as quiet for you.
On behalf of our entire staff, we would like to thank you for staying with us and we look forward to your next visit into Greenville.

Regards,

Yensi Castro
Guest Service Manager
y.castro@hospitalityamerica.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easley, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 11, 2014

We had the best time at your location to visit downtown Greenville. The staff was second to none and the accommodations just right. I will plan all my future business stays at this hotel.
Thank you for making my experience special.

Room Tip: Ask for the Hampton Inn & Suites at Riverplace...that simple.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Glenn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamptongsm, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear Glenn H,

Thank you for placing your comment on Trip Advisor. We are excited to hear you enjoyed your stay and our convenient location in the Downtown area. Our main goal is for our guests to have a memorable stay while visiting Greenville. On behalf of our entire staff, we appreciate your feedback and we hope to see you again on your next trip to the area.

Yensi Castro
Guest Service Manager
y.castro@hospitalityamerica.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2014

We love to stay at this hotel. We stayed here for our 30th anniversary and they made us feel like royalty. They gave us so many extras and gifts. We had a room that overlooked the river. It is so easy to walk to town and around the river. A little pricy for us to stay here very often, but a wonderful special get away location.

Room Tip: Ask for riverfront.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Runie57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamptongsm, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Dear Runie57,

Thank you for taking the time to placing a comment on Trip Advisor. We appreciate your feedback as it allows us to see how we are doing from the perspective of our guests.
Congratulations on your anniversary! We are very excited to hear you enjoyed your stay and celebrated your special day with us. On behalf of our entire staff here at the Hampton Inn and Suites we would like to thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again on your next trip to the city of Greenville.

Yensi Castro
Guest Services Manager
y.castro@hospitalityamerica.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed January 8, 2014

Stayed over one night at this hotel while scouting real estate in the area. Great location with a view of the river and within easy walking distance of downtown restaurants and shopping. I would stay here again without hesitation.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Brandon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamptongsm, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Dear Brandon K,

We thank you for taking the time and place a comment on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay. Your feedback is greatly appreciated. we get great joy seeing our guests had an exciting and comfortable stay while with us. I'm glad to here you enjoyed your Riverview room and our convenient location.

We hope your house hunting was a huge success for you.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope you come for a visit if you are in the area.

Yensi Castro
Guest Service Manager
y.castro@hospitalityamerica.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014

We recently stayed at the Hampton Inn with our family. We all felt that the staff went out of their way to be welcoming. They were all friendly and extended warm, southern hospitality. We were impressed with this hotel in all areas of consideration:
* beautiful property which was well maintained and attractively decorated
* comfortable beds
* quiet rooms which were equiped with plenty of toiletries and towels (no calls to housekeeping)
* pleasant and helpful staff
* nice morning breakfast with attentive staff
* easy check-in and check-out process
* clean parking garage (owned by city) adjacent to hotel (low cost of $6/day)
We expressed our appreciation to the hotel staff but this visit was one which deserved noting on TripAdvisor. We will always hope to stay at the Hampton Inn RiverPlace when visiting Greenville, SC.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzy6450
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamptongsm, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Dear Suzy6450,

Thank you for placing a comment on TripAdvisor. We appreciate your feedback. We are very excited to hear you enjoyed your stay and all of our amenities. Our #1 goal at the Hampton Inn and Suites is to see that all guests have an exciting and memorable stay while in Greenville. On behalf of our entire staff, thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again on your next trip to the area.

Yensi Castro
Guest Service Manager
y.castro@hospitalityamerica.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Greenville hotels
0.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Greenville Downtown Riverplace
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Greenville
Hyatt Regency Greenville
#14 of 64 in Greenville
1,095 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Westin Poinsett, Greenville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Greenville Downtown
0.6 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Greenville Downtown
0.4 mi away
Aloft Greenville Downtown
Aloft Greenville Downtown
#16 of 64 in Greenville
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace
Address: 171 Riverplace, Greenville, SC 29601-2579
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Greenville
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Greenville
#1 Romantic Hotel in Greenville
#3 Business Hotel in Greenville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace 2.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our boutique hotel is located in the heart of downtown's historic Westend District. An unparalleled variety of guestrooms ranging from studio balcony suites overlooking Falls Park to signature circular suites essential for those special occasions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown Hotel Greenville
Hampton Inn And Suites Greenville - Downtown
Hampton Inn Greenville
Greenville Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing