We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique and wonderful area/hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace
Ranked #2 of 64 Hotels in Greenville
Certificate of Excellence
Chattanooga
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Unique and wonderful area/hotel”
Reviewed December 29, 2013

Great location - walking distance to river, restaurants, and shopping. Stay at hotel was nice. Bed was ok - Not as comfortable as other Hampton Inn stays but nothing to complain about. Staff was very friendly.

Room Tip: I wish we had gotten a balcony overlooking the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oxygen1227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamptongsm, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear Oxygen1227,

Your feedback is greatly appreciated. We're glad you enjoyed our downtown location and our friendly staff. We strive to make sure our guests have a comfortable and memorable stay. We apologize our bedding was not to your comfort. On your future stay, our Guest Service Representative will inform you on suggestions to make bedding more to your liking.
Thank you for staying with us. And we hope to see you again soon.

Yensi Castro
Guest Service Manager
y.castro@hospitalityamerica.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,088 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    777
    238
    45
    20
    8
See reviews for
295
393
38
241
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Folly Beach, South Carolina, United States
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2013

Having a very nice place to rest our tired bones made being away from home much better. Visiting with children and grand children for Christmas eve and day was the accomplished goal. A beautiful resort level Hampton Inn was a plus. The facility is in an upscale location on the Reedy River in Greenville, SC. Everything in the area is new and pretty. Staff was well spoken, well trained and exceptionally pleasant despite having to be at work during a holiday. The morning meal was a meal, fresh and tasty. Hamptons can vary so check their reviews. We'll go back the this one just for a couple days relaxation.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank William W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamptongsm, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear William W,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on Trip Advisor. Your feedback is greatly appreciated. We're very excited to hear you enjoyed our amenities and friendly staff. Our #1 goal at the Hampton Inn and Suites is guests' Satisfaction. On behalf of our entire staff, Thank you for staying with us during the holidays and we hope to see you again on your next trip to Greenville to visit your family.

Yensi Castro
Guest Service Manager
y.castro@hospitalityamerica.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2013

Absolutely the perfect location. I looked at Westin and glad it was booked, preferred the Hampton location by far. Staff was very friendly. We had 2 rooms one was with the river view, very quiet, nice view. The other room no so quiet, Party going on at 4 a.m. and staff not able to do anything about it. Disappointed there was no compensation for the lack of sleep my daughter got. Other then that, beautiful Hotel.

Room Tip: Riverview is worth the quietness. At the end, away from elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank debyalas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surfside beach
1 review
Reviewed December 24, 2013

the hotel was great. the staff was friendly and informative. the room was clean, comfortable with in room wi-fi. the breakfast had plenty to choose from. the location was in walking distance to shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank SurfsideBeachNancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamptongsm, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Dear Surfsidebeachnancy,

We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! Our guests' satisfaction is our #1 goal. Our convenient location, hotel amenities and friendly staff made it a pleasant time during your stay in Greenville, this gives us great satisfaction. On behalf of our entire staff here at the Hampton Inn and Suites we would like to thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!

Regards,

Yensi Castro
Guest Service Manager
y.castro@hospitalityamerica.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 24, 2013

Great place to stay in Greenville SC. Plenty of food and drink within walking distance. Business or leisure. Fantastic location. Staff was very helpful. There is self parking with relative ease though larger vehicles are a bit harder.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Timothy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamptongsm, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Dear Timothy P,

We appreciate you taking the time to place a comment on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay. We are excited to hear you enjoyed our convenient location and our staff made it comfortable and pleasant. On behalf of our entire staff here at the Hampton Inn and Suites we would like to thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the Greenville area!

Yensi Castro
Guest Service Manager
y.castro@hospitalityamerica.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 23, 2013

Location is the key for making this Hampton Inn a favorite. Shopping, eating and drinking establishments are all around this hotel. It is right on Main Street in the most fashionable parts of Greenville, SC.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Alexander B. N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamptongsm, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this review, December 24, 2013
Dear Alexander B. N

Thank you for taking the time to comment on our trip advisor. We appreciate your feedback as it allows us to see how we are doing from the perspective of our guests. We are very excited you enjoyed your stay while with us and also our convenient location. On behalf of our entire staff here at the Hampton Inn and Suites we would like to thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!

Regards,
Yensi Castro
Guest Service Manager
y.castro@hospitalityamerica.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Stay here!! Perfect location near EVERYTHING and the service was exceptional. Any time I am in Greenville this will be the spot I select. The decor is great and the lights on the outside really set it apart from any other Hampton Inn and Suites I have stayed at.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Christopher S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamptongsm, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Dear Christopher S,

Thank you for taking the time to place a comment on trip advisor. We appreciate your feedback as it allows us to see how we are doing from the guests' perspective. We are glad you had a memorable stay and enjoyed all amenities and décor of our property. On behalf of our entire staff here at the Hampton Inn and Suites we would like to thank you for staying with us and hope to see you again when your next travels bring you back to the area!

Yensi Castro
Guest Service Manager
y.castro@hospitalityamerica.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Greenville hotels
0.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Greenville Downtown Riverplace
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Greenville
Hyatt Regency Greenville
#15 of 64 in Greenville
1,068 reviews
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Greenville Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Westin Poinsett, Greenville
0.4 mi away
Aloft Greenville Downtown
Aloft Greenville Downtown
#16 of 64 in Greenville
166 reviews
0.6 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Greenville Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace
Address: 171 Riverplace, Greenville, SC 29601-2579
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Greenville
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Greenville
#1 Romantic Hotel in Greenville
#3 Business Hotel in Greenville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace 2.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our boutique hotel is located in the heart of downtown's historic Westend District. An unparalleled variety of guestrooms ranging from studio balcony suites overlooking Falls Park to signature circular suites essential for those special occasions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown Hotel Greenville
Hampton Inn And Suites Greenville - Downtown
Hampton Inn Greenville
Greenville Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing