We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Hampton Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace
Ranked #3 of 64 Hotels in Greenville
Certificate of Excellence
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
323 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“The Best Hampton Inn”
Reviewed May 29, 2008

This is a great new location in downtown Greenville South Carolina. I will be staying their again this July. The staff if wonderful and the rooms are spacious and clean. We always stay in a king suite. Breakfast is just O.K., but if you just need juice or coffee it is fine. (There is a Starbuck's real close. )

There is no pool, but this is great walking trail along the river and a waterfall/water park for the kids to play in. If you want a pool this is not a place for you.

The hotel is in walking distance to everything. However, you now have to pay for parking.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — No Pool
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steinbrenner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,067 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    758
    237
    44
    20
    8
See reviews for
291
383
37
237
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clarkesville, Georgia
Level Contributor
148 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2008

One of the best Hampton's in the fleet in one of the best cities in the country. Tremendous downtown and terrific off road greenway--all in walking distance. Great restaurants within 2 blocks of the hotel. Super destination!

  • Liked — Location right on the river
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Cerchier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2008

Greenville is a pretty and clean (perhaps too sterile)
town. We stayed in the Hampton on Riverplace. This seems to be a fairly new hotel and we had a great room with a balcony. Just be sure to avoid the "Lazy Goat" Restaurant below. The menu is far too ambitious and the dishes we chose failed miserably. Far better eating venues in the downtown area, 10 mins walk away. Advice to any smokers out there.....don't go to Greenville. I like to enjoy a cigar while having a drink but you're not even allowed to smoke on the sidewalk within 10 feet of any establishment. However, all in all, it was a pleasant enough short visit.

Helpful?
1 Thank FilumBarbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2008

I chose this hotel based on the favorable reviews here, and am so glad I did. The location downtown couldn't be better. It was on the end of Main Street where most of the action seemed to be; shopping, dining and the park were right outside the door. We were only staying in town for one night, and since we were arriving mid-afternoon wanted to be able to spend some time in town. It was very convenient to park our car in their parking garage ($6) and walk everywhere. As far as the hotel, it was just wonderful ... the staff was friendly and efficient, our room was above-average (widescreen HDTV, large bathroom with long vanity and plush towels, comfortable beds and great pillows), we heard no noise at all from other rooms, and everything was very clean. Just top-notch, really. We will definitely stay here the next time we visit this delightful city.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Govie09Mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2007

This is overall an excellent hotel. It is very upscale. It is spotlessly clean. The breakfast is far above average. They
had cookies every afternoon and mints available all the time.

The only problem with this hotel occurs when Larkin's (a restaurant directly across the river) has a wedding or other musical event going on. The bands are so loud that the room shakes and you not only could not possibly sleep in the room, but you cannot even have a conversation with anyone. So, if you don't want a lot of noise --- don't book a suite directly on the river.

I think they should warn everyone of this when they make a reservation. The only warning we had was a tiny note near the
elevator that said they would move your room if noise was a problem. However, the night we were they were sold out and had no room to move us to.

  • Stayed July 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank sheilaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
39 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2007

I was very happy with this hotel. My husband and I stayed here for four nights for business. The hotel is fairly new and looks great along the Reedy River.

The front desk staff was great upon arrival. We were offered an upgrade to a suite and when I mentioned concerns about being too close to the elevator - they gave me a key to check the room out. We were directly behind the elevator and never heard it once in our room. They were very eager to make sure we were comfortable. The lobby is small, but nice. The elevators were always fast. The business center had two available printers and computers and were very useful to look up area information.

The room was great! We had a microwave/fridge. The bed and pillows are amazing. Housekeeping did an outstanding job cleaning every day.

I never went to breakfast but my husband said it was fine - typical Hampton breakfast. My only reason for not giving it 5 stars is there was not a restaurant on site and we did not find a pool.

The location is great! It sits right in front of the Riverwalk - which is beautiful! It provided for great walks along the river and it is a very short walk to downtown dining and shopping.

I had some problems with being overcharged at checkout - but it was all worked out and overall we had a great stay.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank spkjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2007

My husband and I stayed at the Hampton Inn for one night last week and wished we had had more time to spend there. The hotel is perfectly located to explore this up and coming neighborhood and city. This is not your regular road side Hampton. It reminds me more of a boutique hotel - the design is lovely! We ate dinner at the newly opened High Cotton restaurant, which is next door to the hotel, and had a most excellent dinner. Would most certainly recommend this hotel to business and leisure travelers.

  • Stayed March 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank blndzhvmrfn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Greenville hotels
0.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Greenville Downtown Riverplace
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Greenville Downtown
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Greenville
Hyatt Regency Greenville
#13 of 64 in Greenville
1,033 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Westin Poinsett, Greenville
0.4 mi away
Aloft Greenville Downtown
Aloft Greenville Downtown
#16 of 64 in Greenville
158 reviews
0.6 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Greenville Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace
Address: 171 Riverplace, Greenville, SC 29601-2579
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Greenville
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Greenville
#1 Family Hotel in Greenville
#3 Business Hotel in Greenville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace 2.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our boutique hotel is located in the heart of downtown's historic Westend District. An unparalleled variety of guestrooms ranging from studio balcony suites overlooking Falls Park to signature circular suites essential for those special occasions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Greenville - Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown Hotel Greenville
Hampton Inn Greenville
Greenville Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing