We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful and Charming Downtown Greenville, SC”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace
Ranked #2 of 63 Hotels in Greenville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 7, 2013

Could not ask for better place to stay. Overlooking the river, close to nice restaurants and walking trails. Staff was wonderful, safe parking and easy access to interstate. Lot's of activity in this area.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
2  Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamptongsm, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2013

Dear Michael S,

Thank you for choosing the Hampton Inn & Suites Riverplace! We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for your comments to wonderful hotel staff. As a team, it is our main goal to make sure each and every guest has an enjoyable experience while with us. We are happy to hear you enjoyed our centralized location. Being in downtown is real plus for our guests to be able to walk pretty much to any restaurant in the area.

We can't wait to have you back with us should your travels return to the area. Please feel free to contact me if I can ever be of assistance.

Best Regards,

Brett Flowers
Guest Service Manager
864-271-8700
b.flowers@hospitalityamerica.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,178)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

950 - 956 of 1,178 reviews

Reviewed June 6, 2013

Location is great to access the Main St restaurants, cafes, bars, etc. Plenty of these to choose from. We got a river view balcony room and view was great. Room nice. Parking a little bit of a pain, but not bad at all.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
2  Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamptongsm, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2013

Dear Richard W,

Thank you for sharing your experience with others here on TripAdvisor. We are happy to hear you enjoyed our riverview room with balcony! Being in the heart of downtown Greenville is really convenient for our guests to easily walk to all the restuarants, bars, museums,etc.

We hope to have the opportunity to host your next trip should you return to Greenville. Please feel free to contact me directly if I can ever assist you in making future reservations. Thanks again for your business!

Best Regards,

Brett Flowers
Guest Service Manager
864-271-8700
b.flowers@hospitalityamerica.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

We had stayed at another hotel in the downtown G'ville area a week earlier for an event, but decided to choose this one for another visit. The other was a much larger hotel with conference and banquet facilities. The Hampton was quieter, had a better location, and was equally comfortable. In addition the breakfast was a real plus. The room was slightly smaller, but equally comfortable. All this for a considerably lower cost.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
2  Thank Doc12NorthCarolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamptongsm, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2013

Dear Doc12NorthCarolina,

Thank you for writing a review on the Hampton Inn & Suites Riverplace! We are happy you chose our property for your recent trip to Greenville and thank you for your feedback. Thank you for your comments regarding our wonderful breakfast buffet!

We can't wait to have you back with us again soon! Please feel free to contact me directly if I can ever be of assistance.

Best Regards,

Brett Flowers
Guest Service Manager
864-271-8700
b.flowers@hospitalityamerica.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013 via mobile

Great hotel. Personalized note when I got to my room. Friendly staff eager to please. Room is immaculately kept and the air conditioning WORKS all night long!!! AAA+++ rating!!! Hotel is smack dab in the middle of the restaurant scene with great walking and running trails nearby. There's no need to stay anywhere else...

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamptongsm, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2013

Dear John N,

Thank you for choosing the Hampton Inn & Suites Riverplace and for sharing your experience with others here on TripAdvisor! We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We are very proud of our centralized location as it makes walking very easy for our guests to get around downtown.

We can't wait to have you back with us! Please feel free to contact me directly if I can ever be of assistance.

Best Regards,

Brett Flowers
Guest Service Manager
864-271-8700
b.flowers@hospitalityamerica.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

The staff and location were wonderful! My bed linenes were fresh howevere, aside from that, the room was quite disappointing. The carpet was old and dark. The furnishings were antiquated, the AC unit rarely stopped humming and when it did, I could hear the people next door to me snoring. I would not likely stay at this location again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
1  Thank Nicole B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamptongsm, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2013

Dear Nicole B,

Thank you for sharing your experience with others here on TripAdvisor. We appreciate your comments to our staff and we are happy to hear you enjoyed our centralized location! Thank you so much for your feedback regarding the decor of the rooms. We are in the process of making improvements and updating the decor throughout the hotel.

We hope you will consider us for any of your lodging needs should you return to the Greenville area. Thanks again for your review, we appreciate it!

Best Regards,

Brett Flowers
Guest Service Manager
864-271-8700
b.flowers@hospitalityamerica.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Had a wonderful stay at the Hampton Inn and Suites in Greenville. We were meeting friends for the weekend and planning to ride our bicycles as well. Very good location right on the Swamp Rabbit Trail. Extra bonus that the bikes, on the roof of the car, fit in the covered hotel parking lot. We were able to leave our bikes on the car (versus taking them off the car and bringing them to the room). Staff was super friendly. Breakfast (which was included) was very good - nice variety - great service and open and airy dining area. I recommend this hotel and location to all my friends. Greenville is a nice weekend get-away, a few hours northeast of Atlanta. Many things to see and do. A vibrant downtown area and restaurant scene. Cultural activities are also plentiful. Just walking in the area around the hotel is a nice experience.

Room Tip: Rooms with a balcony are nice (overlook the river area).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Eiffie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamptongsm, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2013

Dear Eiffe,

Thank you for writing a review on the Hampton Inn & Suites Riverplace! We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, especially the wonderful Swamp Rabbit Trail. Being in the heart of downtown, it really makes it easy for our guests to park their vehicle and pretty much walk anywhere downtown. We appreciate you mentioning our wonderful breakfast buffet and thank you for your comments to our staff!

We hope to have you back with us again soon. Please feel free to contact me directly if I can ever be of assistance.

Best Regards,

Brett Flowers
Guest Service Manager
864-271-8700
hamptoninnandsuitesgreenville.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

This hotel has a great location on the river in downtown Greenville. All the comforts of a Hampton Inn including breakfast and late night cookies set in a great part of downtown. Right off Main Street on the south end and within walking distance to everything. They charge $6 for the adjacent parking garage. No way around that but it is convenient.

Room Tip: Try to get a room that faces the river. They also have a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wronkolada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamptongsm, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2013

Dear wronkolada,

Thank you for choosing the Hampton Inn & Suites Riverplace for your recent trip to Greenville! We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We are very proud of our centralized location as it allows our guests easily walk to restaurants, the park, etc. We hope to have the pleasure of serving you again soon! Please feel free to contact me directly if I can ever be of assistance.

Best Regards,

Brett Flowers
Guest Service Manager
864-271-8700
hamptoninnandsuitesgreenville.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Greenville hotels
0.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Greenville Downtown Riverplace
0.2 mi away
The Westin Poinsett, Greenville
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Greenville Downtown
Courtyard Greenville Downtown
#13 of 63 in Greenville
667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Greenville Downtown
3.8 mi away
Hilton Greenville
Hilton Greenville
#15 of 63 in Greenville
848 reviews
0.4 mi away
Aloft Greenville Downtown
Aloft Greenville Downtown
#14 of 63 in Greenville
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace

Address: 171 Riverplace, Greenville, SC 29601-2579
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Greenville
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Greenville
#1 Romantic Hotel in Greenville
#3 Business Hotel in Greenville
Price Range: $167 - $347 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace 2.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our boutique hotel is located in the heart of downtown's historic Westend District. An unparalleled variety of guestrooms ranging from studio balcony suites overlooking Falls Park to signature circular suites essential for those special occasions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Greenville - Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown Hotel Greenville
Hampton Inn Greenville
Greenville Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing