We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Greenville on the river”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace
Ranked #2 of 63 Hotels in Greenville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 16, 2013

Stayed at the Hampton Inn because everything was sold out downtown. What a happy surprise. The hotel overlooks the river and a pretty little park. Location is great! Hotel was adequate, mattresses were okay but clean. The rooms are noisy and in room HVAC rattled...

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Naekk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamptongsm, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this reviewResponded May 18, 2013

Dear Naekk,

Thank you for sharing your experience with others here on TripAdvisor. We are happy to hear you enjoyed our centralized location! Guests really enjoy being right on the Reedy River to enjoy the great views and for easy walks to restaurants and to the beautiful suspension bridge.

We hope the next time you are in the area you will consider us for any of your lodging needs. Please feel free to contact me directly if I can assist you in making future reservations.

Best Regards,

Brett Flowers
Guest Service Manager
864-271-8700
hamptoninnandsuitesgreenville.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,178)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

964 - 970 of 1,178 reviews

Reviewed May 14, 2013

Calm, clean environment. Smooth, quick check-in. Rooms are clean and smell good. Always greeted with a smile by staff. With one request of changing pillows from feather (due to allergy) to polyester, Manolo, quickly met my needs with a smile and constantly shared that he was happy to try to make my stay comfortable. Service was top notch!

Room Tip: My room was perfect for me. It faced the courtyard and was never too loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Allegra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamptongsm, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this reviewResponded May 18, 2013

Dear allegra C,

Thank you for choosing the Hampton Inn & Suites Riverplace and for sharing your experience with others! We appreciate your comments to our staff and to Manolo. We are very lucky to have Monolo part of our team and I have made sure he has seen your comments! Our main goal is to make sure each and every guest has an exceptional experience while staying with us.

We hope to have you back with us again soon. Please feel free to contact me directly if I can ever be of assistance in the future.

Best Regards,

Brett Flowers
Guest Service Manager
864-271-8700
hamptoninnandsuitesgreenville.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

I stayed here for its location being so close to my business needs and was impressed with how professionally kept and maintained this hotel is. It even had an iPhone charger to borrow from the front desk. The location is convenient and parking fees are reasonable. There were a lot of people safely jogging nearby.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 5pointsbuyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamptongsm, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this reviewResponded May 18, 2013

Dear 5pointsbuyer,

Thank you for choosing the Hampton Inn & Suites Riverplace. We are happy to hear your enjoyed your stay with us! We hope you will consider us for any of your lodging needs should you return to the Greenville area.

Please feel free to contact me directly if I can ever be of assistance. Thanks again for sharing your experience with others!

Best Regards,

Brett Flowers
Guest Service Manager
864-271-8700
hamptoninnandsuitesgreenville.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
11
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Great location, great staff, beds hard, ac does not have a fan speed selection that provides continuous air flow. The lack of air flow at night allowed the room to become stuffy. The hard beds combined with a stuffy room made for a couple of bad nights of sleep. That said, I would stay there again due to the location, staff, and overall general facilities.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamptongsm, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this reviewResponded May 18, 2013

Thank you for choosing the Hampton Inn & Suites Riverplace and for sharing your experience with others here on TripAdvisor. I wanted to apologize for the problems you experienced and than you for bringing these to my attention. We have notified our maintenance department regarding the AC unit and we are also in the process of updating the bedding in our guest rooms.

We are happy to hear you enjoyed our centralized location! Being in the heart of downtown really makes it easy for our guests to enjoy all the great things Greenville has to offer.

We can't wait to have you back with us again soon! Please feel free to contact me directly if I can ever be of assistance.

Best Regards,

Brett Flowers
Guest Service Manager
864-271-8700
hamptoninnandsuitesgreenville.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

The location is perfect for walking to shopping, restaurants, night life! Underground parking is very reasonable at $6.00 a day. Rooms are spotless; even the duvet covers are washed between guests! Breakfast is included and is better than most, with FRESH fruits, not frozen, and plenty of seating. Eating area faces outside for a nice view. Staff very friendly and accommodating!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lovethesunshine4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamptongsm, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2013

Dear lovethesunshine4444,

Thank you for sharing your experience with others here on TripAdvisor. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We are very proud of centralized location as it allows our guests to easily walk anywhere they would like in downtown. Thank you for your comments regarding our breakfast buffet and we appreciate you mentioning our wonderful hotel staff.

We hope to have the opportunity to host your next trip should you return to Greenville. Please give us a call if we can ever be of assistance in making future reservations.

Best Regards,

Brett Flowers
Guest Service Manager
864-271-8700
hamptoninnandsuitesgreenville.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

I had a small sales meeting in January @ this location and received great attention and care. My sales team loved being in the heart of Greenville and able to walk to restaurants and bars. We had the choice of bringing lunch in through different restaurants or had the ability to eat @ a close restaurant. I also was able to bring bottled water and treats in, so it kept the cost of the meeting low.
We had a great time and appreciated the great service!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamptongsm, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2013

Dear Julie J,

Thank you for choosing the Hampton Inn & Suites Riverplace to host your sales meeting! We are happy to hear everything went smooth for you and your team. We hope you will consider us in the future should you return to Greenville.

Again, thank you for choosing the Hampton Inn & Suites Riverplace and for sharing your experience with others. We hope to do business with you again soon!

Best Regards,

Brett Flowers
Guest Service Manager
864-271-8700
hamptoninnandsuitesgreenville.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2013

OK...if this hotel were a bargain I would easily give it 5 stars but I paid $235 all in for a non-view room which is a little pricey for a room on the smaller side.

Pros: 1) Location is great and you can go for walks on the Reedy river or even walk down to the minor league park down Main street and see a game which we did. Very scenic around the hotel.
2) Front desk staff are very nice.
3) Buffet was good with a good mix of fresh berries.

Cons: 1) Price for a small non-view room.
2) Breakfast area is small and we could not get a seat and felt like I was constantly bumping into people while I was trying to get some food. We ended up taking back to the room to eat.

Room Tip: Go for the view rooms if you can afford it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ATLAS313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamptongsm, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2013

Dear Atlas 313,

Thank you for choosing the Hampton Inn & Suites Riverplace! We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with others here on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted you enjoyed our centralized location and thank you for your comments to our staff. Being in the heart of downtown, you will notice our rates are higher than other Hampton Inns and are priced comparable to other hotels in the downtown area. We do apologize for the limited space in the breakfast area. We recognize this space is limited and we are looking at new ways to address this to ensure our guests are comfortable as possible.

We hope to have the pleasure of serving you again in the future should you return to Greenville. If I can ever be of assistance please feel free to contact me directly.

Best Regards,

Brett Flowers
Guest Service Manager
864-271-8700
hamptoninnandsuitesgreenville.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Greenville hotels
0.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Greenville Downtown Riverplace
0.2 mi away
The Westin Poinsett, Greenville
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Greenville Downtown
Courtyard Greenville Downtown
#13 of 63 in Greenville
667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Greenville Downtown
3.8 mi away
Hilton Greenville
Hilton Greenville
#15 of 63 in Greenville
848 reviews
0.4 mi away
Aloft Greenville Downtown
Aloft Greenville Downtown
#14 of 63 in Greenville
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace

Address: 171 Riverplace, Greenville, SC 29601-2579
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Greenville
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Greenville
#1 Romantic Hotel in Greenville
#3 Business Hotel in Greenville
Price Range: $167 - $347 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace 2.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our boutique hotel is located in the heart of downtown's historic Westend District. An unparalleled variety of guestrooms ranging from studio balcony suites overlooking Falls Park to signature circular suites essential for those special occasions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Greenville - Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown Hotel Greenville
Hampton Inn Greenville
Greenville Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing