We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, Great location, Great breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace
Ranked #3 of 64 Hotels in Greenville
Certificate of Excellence
Bluffton, United States
1 review
“Clean, Great location, Great breakfast”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

This hotel is located in the heart of downtown Greenville. It is a quick walk to great shopping, dining, Falls Park, and the Peace Center. If you like to run or walk, it is located on the Swamp Rabbit Trail.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Kimberly W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamptongsm, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear Kimberly W,

Thank you for choosing the Hampton Inn & Suites Riverplace. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! Our location is great for guests who want easy access to the Swamp Rabbit Trail, we are just steps away.

We hope to have the opportunity to host your next trip should you return to the Greenville area. If I can ever be of assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me directly. Thanks again for your feedback!

Best Regards,

Brett Flowers
Guest Service Manager
864-271-8700
hamptoninnandsuitesgreenville.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,044 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    741
    233
    42
    20
    8
See reviews for
287
369
37
233
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pensacola, Florida
Level Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

I just stayed at the Hampton Inn during the wine and jazz fest and was pleasantly surprised. This hotel is in the perfect location in downtown Greenville overlooking the Reedy River, the TD Amphitheater, and the Peace Center. My room was a king suite with balcony riverfront and I received Hilton points for my stay. The room was impeccably clean and included refrigerator, microwave, which many hotels no longer provide, dry bar, and sitting area. Check-in was seamless, although early check-in was not available, and parking was only 6.00/night. Food provided in am in the lobby. The price was better than other hotels in the downtown area and the accomodation with a view and perfect location can not be beat. All personnel were friendly and accomodating. This will be my overnight stay from now on while in downtown Greenville.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Billie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamptongsm, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear Billie D,

Thank you for sharing your experience with others here on TripAdvisor. We are so delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! We are very proud of our centralized location being steps away from the great things downtown Greenville has to offer. Thank you for your comments about our rooms and staff!

We can't wait to host your next trip to Greenville. Please feel free to contact me directly if I can be of assistance in the future.

Best Regards,

Brett Flowers
Guest Service Manager
864-271-8700
hamptoninnandsuitesgreenville.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina, United States
1 review
Reviewed April 26, 2013

We had a wonderful experience. From the time of check-in to check-out, my family enjoy all the hotel had to offer. The rooms were clean and stocked all small treats. The beds were comfortable and I loved the reinsuring message in the elevators. You can’t beat the location. Once we were settled into the room, everything was in walking distance. I enjoyed that the River Walk was right outside of the Inn. The next morning, we take pleasure in the continental breakfast. I was amazed at the variety of food that was available for us. Future more, the staff keep the breakfast stocked and looking fresh. Speaking of the staff…everyone was so helpful and friendly. Although the hotel was busy, they keep the crowd moving and didn’t hesitate to jump if asked for some assistance. For your next visit to Greenville, I high recommend Hampton Inn & Suites.

Room Tip: Bring some good walking shoe
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Douglas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamptongsm, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear Douglas M,

Thank you for choosing the Hampton Inn & Suites Riverplace! We are so delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We are very proud of our centralized location and we are happy to hear you were able to enjoy all the great things Greenville has to offer. We appreciate your comments to our staff and glad you enjoyed the wonderful breakfast! As a team, we strive to always go over and beyond to meet all of our guests expectations.

We can't wait to have you back with us again! Please feel free to contact me directly if I can ever be of assistance.

Best Regards,

Brett Barbare
Guest Service Manager
864-271-8700
b.barbare@hospitalityamerica.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
2 reviews
Reviewed April 23, 2013

I was in town for a wedding and reserved a room. We got the suite that was a great size, not to mention the view! You looked out the window and could overlook the river! The staff was very friendly, with a quick check in process and everyone making sure that my stay there was perfect. This hotel is in a great location and with in walking distance to everywhere downtown! I will definetly be back again!

Room Tip: I had the suite and it was excellent! Spacious with a great view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mkmiller922
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamptongsm, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear mkmiller,

Thank you for sharing your experience with others here on TripAdvisor. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for your comments to our staff! As a team, it is our main goal to make sure each and every guest has an enjoyable experience.

We hope to have the opportunity to host your next trip should you return to the Greenville area. Please feel free to contact me directly if I can ever assist you in the future.

Best Regards,

Brett Barbare
Guest Service Manager
864-271-8700
b.barbare@hospitalityamerica.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, FL
Level Contributor
210 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013

We got the king suite and it was wonderful. It had 1.5 baths which was nice. Our only complaint was that the pull out coach (which we had 2 kids on) was only a full size and HORRIBLE. Now, I realize that most folks don't use the pull out, but be warned if you do that it is hard and the mattress is so thin they felt the metal bars all night long. But, if you don't use the pull out sofabed, you will love everything else about it. I'd like to add that the staff was SO friendly, they went out of their way, even housekeeping, to ask if we were enjoying our stay.

Room Tip: The king suite was large and lovely! A full wall of curved windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DHancock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
matt_lew-GM, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear DHancock,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us during your most recent trip to Greenville, SC. I am happy to hear you enjoyed your stay, and do apologize for the lack of comfort with the pull out sofa. I will address this issue immediately with our Executive Housekeeping Director and we will make the necessary changes. Thank you very much for your feedback and we look forward to serving you again in the future.

Thanks,

Matt Lew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snellville, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 19, 2013

We met another couple there and had a fabulous time. We rode the trolley, had a fabulous lunch and dinner in nearby, walk to restaurants. We even found a lovely church to attend. Great area and only two hours drive from home for my husband and I and the couple from Charlotte NC that we met there. We had beautiful weather to top off everything thing else. My friends were impressed.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Brenda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamptongsm, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear Brenda A,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on the Hampton Inn & Suites Riverplace! We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and your time in downtown Greenville. We can't wait to have you back with us again should your travels return to the area. Please feel free to contact me directly if I can ever be of assistance in the future.

Best Regards,

Brett Barbare
Guest Service Manager
864-271-8700
b.barbare@hospitalityamerica.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swainsboro, NC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 14, 2013

From the front desk clerk and maintenance personnel to the area of of the city where it is located and the beautiful park nearby, this is a very nice Hampton Inn. I highly reccommend a visit to Greenville and the Hampton Inn!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Glenn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamptongsm, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear Glenn W,

Thank you for sharing your experience with others here on TripAdvisor! I am hapipy to hear you enjoyed your stay at the Hampton Inn & Suites Riverplace. Thank you for your comments to our staff. As a team, our main goal here is to make sure each and every guest has an enjoyable stay.

We can't wait to have you back with us again should you return to Greenvlle. Please feel free to contact me if I can ever be of assistance in the future.

Best Regards,

Brett Barbare
Guest Service Manager
864-271-8700
b.barbare@hospitalityamerica.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Greenville hotels
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Greenville Downtown
0.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Greenville Downtown Riverplace
0.2 mi away
The Westin Poinsett, Greenville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Greenville
Hyatt Regency Greenville
#12 of 64 in Greenville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 993 reviews
0.4 mi away
Aloft Greenville Downtown
Aloft Greenville Downtown
#17 of 64 in Greenville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
5.8 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Greenville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace
Address: 171 Riverplace, Greenville, SC 29601-2579
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Greenville
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Greenville
#1 Romantic Hotel in Greenville
#3 Business Hotel in Greenville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace 2.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our boutique hotel is located in the heart of downtown's historic Westend District. An unparalleled variety of guestrooms ranging from studio balcony suites overlooking Falls Park to signature circular suites essential for those special occasions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Greenville - Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown Hotel Greenville
Hampton Inn Greenville
Greenville Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing