We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home away from home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace
Ranked #3 of 64 Hotels in Greenville
Certificate of Excellence
Louisville, Kentucky
2 reviews
“Home away from home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

Due to business, I have had the pleasure of staying at this Hampton Inn in Greenville SC at least a dozen times over the past few years. This Hampton Inn ranks up at the very top of my favorite Hampton locations, not only because of the great city of Greenville and it's wonderful downtown, but because of the friendliness, courtesy and caring of the staff team members. I have the pleasure of knowing, Karen, Nikki, Tammy, Kristin, Roseann, Miguel, Betty, Yensi and Yesenia. These folks go out of their way to greet me and my colleagues and call us by name in addition to checking to see if we need anything at all. Our business travel keeps us away at times for days or a few weeks at a time. It's truly a "home away from home". Kudos to the great service provided by these employees at Hampton Inn in Greenville. Thank you!

Room Tip: It's all about the service and location of this Hampton Inn. Superb!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
matt_lew-GM, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear Sharon L,

Thank you so much for reviewing our hotel on Tripadvisor! We always enjoy seeing you when you come in to town, and we are so happy to hear that we can be called your home away from home! We want to make sure all of our guests are comfortable and that their stay is always enjoyable, especially for business travelers who may not enjoy being on the road all the time. Again, thank you so much for your kind words about our staff and our hotel. We look forward to having you back with us again soon! Have a wonderful evening.

Best regards,
Kristin Graham
Front Desk Supervisor
k.graham@hospitalityamerica.com
(864) 271-8700
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,023 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    723
    231
    41
    20
    8
See reviews for
282
361
36
229
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
High Point, North Carolina
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

"Upscale" Hampton Inn in close proximity to Falls Park and Fluor Field. Walking distance from all the nightlife of downtown Greenville.
Excellent breakfast with helpful and friendly staff. Highly recommend. We have stayed for 3 separate visits over 3 years with the same consistent results.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deac84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamptongsm, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear Deac84,

Thank you for choosing the Hampton Inn & Suites Riverplace and for sharing your experience with others here on TripAdvisor. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed our centralized location in the heart of downtown and thank you for comments to our staff!

As a team, we strive to make sure each and every guest has an enjoyable experience and I'm glad to hear we've provided that same consistency to you! We can't wait to have you back with us. Please feel free to contact me directly if I can assist you in making future reservations.

Best Regards,

Brett Barbare
Guest Service Manager
864-271-8700
b.barbare@hospitalityamerica.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
138 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

This hotel is in the new, vibrant River Place downtown area of Greenville. The hotel is quite new, spacious and in a fantastic setting. You might even say this hotel, in its setting, is a detination Hampton. Service was great and the property in great shape with good parking in an underground garage.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SBSTex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
matt_lew-GM, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear SBStex,

Thank you so much for this wonderful review on our property! We love our location and feel very lucky to be located within walking distance to so many great restaurants and shops, and also being right on the river. The weather hasn't been very nice the past few days, but hopefully you had the opportunity to walk along the river walk and see the waterfalls. We do our best to always make sure our guests feel at home when they stay with us, and we do get a lot of extended stay guests. Making everyone feel at home is important to us, and I am glad we made you feel that way. Again, thank you for your kind review on our hotel, we as a property really appreciate it. We look forward to having you back with us again soon. Have a great evening!

Best regards,
Kristin Graham
Front Desk Supervisor
k.graham@hospitalityamerica.com
(864) 271-8700
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Florida
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

The staff here are great and the hotel is first rate. Clean rooms and inviting lobby area. The location is excellent with so many restaurants and shops in walking distance. I will definitely stay here again in I am back in town.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
matt_lew-GM, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear Christi R,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Tripadvisor. It is so nice to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We as a staff always try and make sure our guests have the most enjoyable and memorable experience with us during their time in Greenville, even if it is a short trip. We look forward to having you back with us soon, and again, thank you for your response!

Sincerely,

Kristin Graham
Front Desk Supervisor
k.graham@hospitalityamerica.com
(864) 271-8700
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
76 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

Usually I don't stay in this type of higher priced hotel, but one look and its location I had to stay! It is a beautiful hotel and extremely clean and updated rooms. Perfect location to all downtown restaurants and walking along the river. Staff was very helpful and professional. Everything was perfect for our short stay. You will not be disappointed with this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cac1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
matt_lew-GM, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear Cac1966,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on our hotel! We really appreciate you taking the time to do that as many of our guests look at Tripadvisor before deciding to stay with us. We do tend to have higher rates than most Hampton Inn's due to our great downtown location. It is a huge benefit for us that we are within walking distance to over 50 restaurants and shops in the downtown area. Again, we really appreciate your review and it is always nice to hear that our guests enjoy their stay! Have a wonderful evening and we look forward to having you with us again soon.

Sincerely,

Kristin Graham
Front Desk Supervisor
k.graham@hospitalityamerica.com
(864) 271-8700
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brownsville, Texas
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

Have stayed at this Hampton Inn several times and have ALWAYS had a wonderful experience there. The staff is delightful--helpful, happy, accommodating and welcoming. The location is great---close to everything (restaurants, boutiques, shopping)....Most importantly, everyone here at Hampton makes me feel as though I am home! Thank you to Manolo Gaud, Yensi Castro, Nikki Martinez, Karen Gray and Bety!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauran S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamptongsm, Front Desk Supervisor at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville-Downtown at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear Lauran S,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel on Tripadvisor! It means a lot that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our staff works hard to make sure every guest experience is wonderful, and that they leave our hotel with the intent of returning in the future. We love our location and being right on the river and so close to downtown is a huge bonus for us! We look forward to having you with us again soon! Have a wonderful afternoon.

Sincerely,

Nikki Martinez
Front Desk Supervisor
n.martinez@hamptoninnandsuitesgreenville.com
(864)271-8700
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petal, Mississippi
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

Excellent location in downtown Greenville, very well maintained, friendly staff. Close to many restaurants and attractions within walking distance. You will not be dissapointed staying here - highly recommended!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mkolvites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamptongsm, Front Desk Supervisor at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear Mkolvites,

Thank you for taking the time write a review on the Hampton Inn & Suites Riverplace! We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for comments.

We would love fo you to stay with us again and please feel free to contact me if I can be of assistance in the future!

Sincerely,
Nikki Martinez
Front Desk Supervisor
n.martinez@hamptoninnandsuitesgreenville.com
(864)271-8700
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Greenville hotels
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Greenville Downtown
0.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Greenville Downtown Riverplace
0.2 mi away
The Westin Poinsett, Greenville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Greenville
Hyatt Regency Greenville
#11 of 64 in Greenville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 952 reviews
0.4 mi away
Aloft Greenville Downtown
Aloft Greenville Downtown
#19 of 64 in Greenville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
5.8 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Greenville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace
Address: 171 Riverplace, Greenville, SC 29601-2579
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Greenville
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Greenville
#1 Family Hotel in Greenville
#3 Business Hotel in Greenville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace 2.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our boutique hotel is located in the heart of downtown's historic Westend District. An unparalleled variety of guestrooms ranging from studio balcony suites overlooking Falls Park to signature circular suites essential for those special occasions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown Hotel Greenville
Hampton Inn And Suites Greenville - Downtown
Hampton Inn Greenville
Greenville Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing