We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a beautiful place!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace
Ranked #3 of 64 Hotels in Greenville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 4, 2012

I just spent Labor Day weekend at this hotel and what a hotel!!!! The location is the most beautiful ever!! The river walk is amazing! The cool restaurants are at walking distance. We went to the Labor Day Family Fun Festival and the waterfalls… It was amazing!!!!! About the hotel, the staff is so friendly and helpful. The breakfast was very nice. The rooms are big and quiet and the beds are comfortable…

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank social g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
matt_lew-GM, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2012

Dear social g,

Thank you for sharing your experience with others here on Tripadvisor. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for your comments. Our location is indeed in a prime location within walking distance to restaurants and just steps away from the entrance to the Reedy River.

We hope to have the opportunity to host your next trip to Greenville. Please give us a call if we can be of assistance in making future reservations!

Best Regards,

Brett Barbare
Guest Service Manager
864-271-8700

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,121)
There are newer reviews for Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

997 - 1,003 of 1,121 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2012

I regularly make reservations at this hotel for our clients and guests. The customer service is exceptional the whole way through, from the initial contact for reservations to the final billing. Our guests always express their delight in the hotel facilities and surrounding area and have nothing but positive things to say about their stay.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Esther K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
matt_lew-GM, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2012

Dear Esther K,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on the Hampton Inn and Suites Riverplace! We greatly appreciate your loyalty to our hotel and thank you for continued business. Please give us a call if we can be of assistance in making future reservations!

Best Regards,

Brett Barbare
Guest Service Manager
864-271-8700

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

The customer service is by far well above the norm. The facilities are clean, modern and very well appointed. We have stayed here and have had many friends stay here while visiting and have never heard a bad word about the property. It is conveniently located in the downtown area close to all major attractions and restaurants....my favorite is the Lazy Goat located right outside of the entrance. The views are beautiful and you can walk to everywhere. It is a prime location for a hotel in the downtown area. As a visitor, you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GVL605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
matt_lew-GM, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2012

Dear GVL605,

Thank you for writing a review on the Hampton Inn and Suites Riverplace! We appreciate your comments about our property and customer service. We would love for you to stay with us again should you return to the Greenville area.

Please do not hesistate to contact me if I can be of assistance in making future reservations.

Best Regards,

Brett Barbare
Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

I am a Diamond member and I must say this has to be one of the nice Hampton Inns that i have stayed at. Not only because of the service and cleanliness but the location to all the shops/restaurants is just great. We were able to walk a few blocks and get some food, watch a football game,etc. Don't get to SC that much but will recommend hotel for future colleagues.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Anthony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
matt_lew-GM, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2012

Dear mammothsales24,

Thank you for choosing the Hampton Inn and Suites Riverplace and for being a loyal member to HHonors! We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and your time in downtown Greenville.

We would love for you to stay with us in the future should you return to the Greenville area. Please contact me if I can ever of be of assistance!

Best Regards,

Brett Barbare
Guest Service Manager
864-271-8700

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2012

Great location on the park by the river in the middle of town. Plenty of restaurants to walk to, including High Cotton which is just steps away. When I mentioned upon check-in that it was my husband's birthday, Karen, the front desk representative, went out of her way to hand him a small gift ( a snack basket) with a birthday card the next time we walked by. The rooms were the standard quality that I expect from Hampton Inns (clean, comfy) but the breakfast seemed to be a step above....greater selection and just better than usual.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the river.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rlkthe2nd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
matt_lew-GM, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2012

Dear rlkthe2nd,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with others on Tripadvisor.

We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay and thank you for compliments to Karen. Karen does a wonderful job and I'm happy to hear she was able to put together a gift bag to make your husband's birthday even more special! I have made sure she has seen your compliments.

We would love to have you stay with us again in the future should you return to the Greenville area. Please feel free to contact me if I can be of assistance.

Best Regards,

Brett Barbare
Guest Service Manager
864-271-8700

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

Worked with Director of Sales; she did a fantastic job in planning and executing. My two-day meeting with 18 people went off without a hitch. Also a beautiful property and setting. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank A N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
matt_lew-GM, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2012

Dear A N,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us here on Tripadvisor. We are happy to hear that you're meeting went well and thank you for compliments to our Director of Sales, Nelle O'Donnell and I have made sure she has seen your comments.

We would love to host your next meeting should you return to the Greenville area. Please contact us if we can ever be of assistance.

Best Regards,

Brett Barbare
Guest Service Manager
864-271-8700

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

I've stayed at a lot of Hampton Inn's and this is by far and away the most upscale ever. The setting is perfect on the river in downtown. It is walking distance to all of the quaint shops and restuarants. The front desk staff is very friendly and helpful. My room was spacious, clean and the furnishings were in excellent condition. The only negative was it was expensive for a Hampton Inn but if you need to be downtown I can't imagine a better value for the money.

Room Tip: Request a room overlooking the river.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DineOutOften10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
matt_lew-GM, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2012

Dear dineoutoften10,

Thank you for choosing the Hampton Inn and Suites Riverplace and for sharing your experience with others on Tripadvisor.

We greatly appreciate your comments about our beautiful hotel and great staff! Please feel free to contact me if I can assist you in making future reservations should you return to the Greenville area. We would love to have you back!

Best Regards,

Brett Barbare
Guest Service Manager
864-271-8700

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Greenville hotels
0.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Greenville Downtown Riverplace
0.2 mi away
The Westin Poinsett, Greenville
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Greenville
Hyatt Regency Greenville
#15 of 64 in Greenville
1,140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Greenville Downtown
0.6 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Greenville Downtown
0.4 mi away
Aloft Greenville Downtown
Aloft Greenville Downtown
#16 of 64 in Greenville
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace

Address: 171 Riverplace, Greenville, SC 29601-2579
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Greenville
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Greenville
#1 Family Hotel in Greenville
#3 Business Hotel in Greenville
Price Range: $174 - $397 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace 2.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our boutique hotel is located in the heart of downtown's historic Westend District. An unparalleled variety of guestrooms ranging from studio balcony suites overlooking Falls Park to signature circular suites essential for those special occasions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels Direct, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown Hotel Greenville
Hampton Inn And Suites Greenville - Downtown
Hampton Inn Greenville
Greenville Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing