We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace
Nearby Hotels
$149
$127
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$142
$139
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$180
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$199
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$189
Westin.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Wingate by Wyndham Greenville Airport(Greenville)(Great Value!)
$84
$76
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$161
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Best Western Greenville Airport Inn(Greenville)(Great Value!)
$105
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$128
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Quinta Inn & Suites Greenville Haywood(Greenville)(Great Value!)
$110
La Quinta
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,195)
Filter reviews
1,195 results
Traveler rating
860
255
51
20
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
860
255
51
20
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsacross the riverlazy goatgreat locationriver viewfalls parkriver placefresh berrieswest endwithin walking distancethe swamp rabbit trailmain streetbeautiful parkgreenville downtownrestaurants and shopshotel is locatedthe hotel staffself parking
Filter
Updating list...
1,086 - 1,091 of 1,195 reviews
Reviewed July 11, 2012

We travelled to Greenville, SC, on July 4 to see the fireworks there. The Hampton Inn was located just steps away from the Reedy River and Falls Park. We parked our car on arrival and did not need it again until we left. We walked several miles in both directions from the Hotel on Greenville's Swamp Rabbit Trail, going through several parks and also accessing the zoo. That night we walked to dinner and then saw the fireworks near the hotel.

The hotel is 6 years old, and it looks brand new. The breakfast was very good.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Margaret H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 16, 2012

Margaret H, Thanks so much for taking the time to leave comments here on TripAdvisor. It is great to hear you had such an enjoyable experience. I think one of our prime assets to our hotel is its proximity to everything which does allow guests to just park and leave their car for their stay. Especially during special events such as Fourth of July this makes it easy to enjoy all the festivities. We hope you will get to come visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Last year we stayed at the hotel for our anniversary and they upgraded us to a suite with balcony and a basket of treats with bottle of red wine. The staff is always so pleasant and ready to please.

This year we decided to stay again on our anniversary. The hotel was very busy this time so they couldn't upgrade us but they still gave us a nice basket with treats and a bottle of red wine and a hand written note from the night staff.

Aside from the construction going on outside of which the hotel has no control, the place is fantastic. Great location in downtown Greenville.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank guideaux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 11, 2012

Guideaux, It is so great to hear that our property has become an annual spot to celebrate your anniversary. We always love when people choose to spend special occassions with us so we do our best to do a little something extra to help them enjoy their stay. If you don't have the opportunity to stay with us before next year, we hope you will continue your anniversary tradition with us then!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2012

We wanted to stay in downtown Greenville for the Red, white and blue festival on the Fourth of July. This hotel was the closest in proximity to Falls Park for the fireworks display. In booking this hotel, I couldn't decide whether to get a studio king with a jetted tub, a balcony overlooking the Reedy River, or a 1 bedroom suite with a glass living room boasting a panoramic window view. After reading reviews, travelers indicated the balcony wasn't worth the extra fee due to construction taking place at the Peace Center. Therefore, I opted for a studio king (not tub, no view) and I saved $30 with the prepaid option. Immediately after check-in, we received a call from Guest Services asking us if everything was ok with our hotel room. Our studio came with a mini-kitchen with granite counters and tile flooring. We also had a sleeper sofa that my 11 year old enjoyed all to himself. Breakfast was included in our room fee and offered a variety of choices- western omelettes, sausage patties, boiled eggs, hot oatmeal, make-your-own-waffle bar, fresh fruit, cereal, yogurt, etc. Although you'll have a clear view from anywhere on the street, I recommend the corner of Main and Broad street for viewing the fireworks. It was perfect! We enjoyed the event and we're already planning a return trip for next year.

Room Tip: Upgrade: prepay and save money.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Shae B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 9, 2012

Shae B, Thanks for taking the time to leave such an informative response here on trip advisor. I am so glad to see you thoroughly enjoyed the hotel and Fourth of July festivities. We certainly have a prime location for everything that goes on during the Red, White and Blue festival. We are glad you had such an enjoyable stay and hope you will come and visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2012

I am on Greenville on business every few weeks. First time I went i loved it, but the quality has gone downhill. Construction right outside our window starting at 8 am for one thing, no fridge or microwave in our room, business beter was OUT OF SERVICE. I expect better, I am not staying there my next trip down to SC.

Room Tip: ask NOT to be on thr side with the construction.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Melody B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 9, 2012

Melody B, I am so sorry to hear that you feel the quality at our property has diminished. It is certainly our goal to make sure each and every guest leaves our property satisfied. Currently the city is doing many renovations and upgrades to enhance the city and unfortunately our location seems to be the prime spot for many of these projects. We understand the inconvenience this can cause guests but we do hope that our level of customer service and efforts to inform guests prior to arrival will diminish the impact. Also, as a way to inhance our value for customers we have recently installed new microwaves and mini refrigerators in all our rooms. This is just another way we are striving to meet and exceed guest expectations. We hope you will give us another chance to serve you and redeem ourselves. We appreciate your loyalty and hope it will continue into the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2012

When we travel to Greenville, SC we always try to stay downtown. So, when we were making plans for our son’s wedding, in Greenville we recommended to the guests they stay at the Hampton Inn and Suites mainly because of the location. The rehearsal dinner and reception were within walking distance of the Hampton. Looking back we could not have asked for a friendlier place to stay. Our stay was as expected clean, prompt and helpful. We enjoyed every minute of our stay and would recommend the Hampton to everyone.

Room Tip: Certainly ask for a room overlooking the river.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Steven T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 9, 2012

Steven T, I am so glad to hear that your son's wedding weekend was so successful. During the height of wedding season it seems that we have three or four wedding parties with us each weekend due to our prime location within walking distance to so many of the top downtown venues. We certainly try our best to make what can be such a stressful time, relaxing and enjoyable through our friendly and hospitable service. We hope you will get the opportunity to visit us again in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews