We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,256)
Filter reviews
1,256 results
Traveler rating
904
267
55
21
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
904
267
55
21
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews across the river lazy goat great location river view falls park river place fresh berries within walking distance the swamp rabbit trail main street self parking hotel is located greenville downtown breakfast staff restaurants and shops the hotel staff per day
Filter
Updating list...
1,151 - 1,156 of 1,256 reviews
Reviewed June 25, 2012

For five years I have traveled to Downtown Greenville for various reasons from business to pleasure, and each time I choose to stay at the Hampton Inn & Suites on Riverplace. There is no other hotel more convenient to everything you may want to visit and see downtown. You walk out the front door and find yourself immediately on a sidewalk portion of the greenway connecting downtown to Traveler's Rest to the North or choose to walk south across the icon Falls bridge toward the Greenville Zoo or state park. The Greenville Drive baseball stadium is a short 5 minute walk past numerous restaurants, and the outdoor amphitheater (currently undergoing renovation) and the Pease Performing Arts center is a short three minute walk across the river.

The room are always clean and comfortable. The staff is always friendly and helpful. The warm and healthy breakfast is awesome: Eggs, waffles, bacon, oatmeal, freash fruit, yogurt, cereal...if you're still hungry after breakfast it's your own fault. The Hampton Inn & Suites downtown is a great experience. Parking is convenient in the lower level parking deck on site for a great price of $6/day.

Room Tip: If you like to "people watch" of enjoy all the activity along the river, request a riverfront room, even if it cost a few dollars more...especially in the summer when they have concerts and events just across the river at the amphitheatre.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CandidCommuter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 28, 2012

CandidCommuter,

Thank you very much for your feedback during your stay with us. I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and will return to our property each time you travel to Greenville. We pride ourselves in delivering exceptional customer service to each and every guest, and in doing so create a comfortable, relaxing, and enjoyable environment when away from home. I also want to thank you for the room tip as that definitely makes a difference. Thank you once again and look forward to serving you in the future!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2012

Our daughter's wedding reception was at Wyche Pavilion and a block of rooms was reserved at the Hampton Inn Downtown/Riverplace for out of town wedding guests. The location, which directly overlooks the River and Wyche Pavilion, cannot be beat! Our guests loved the opportunity to walk to the reception, along the river, to the falls and to all of the downtown restaurants and attractions. The free breakfast was excellent and exceeded our guests' expectations with a wide variety of fresh food choices. The rooms were clean & very nice, especially the King suites with balconies overlooking the river. The staff was very good and I especially would like to commend Shelby Goold Dodgens, the Sales Manager who handled our wedding block. From beginning to end, she made sure everything went smoothly. I personally booked 11 rooms for family members and Shelby double-checked all the reservations for me, promptly answered any questions or concerns I had, made sure that check-in for the guests was handled properly, and followed up afterwards to make sure we were satisfied with everything. The Hampton Inn Downtown/Riverplace is a great place to host guests attending a Greenville wedding!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Milc80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 21, 2012

Milc80, thank you so much for taking the time to leave feedback about your recent stay at our property. I am glad to hear that our staff took such great care of you. We understand how stressful wedding weekends can be so we try to go above and beyond to help out in any way possible. I will be sure to pass along your kind words to Shelby specifically. Our sales staff does a great job making sure that our groups are taken care of and are given personalized attention. We hope you will get to visit the Greenville area again soon. We look forward to serving you in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2012

The staff was very helpful and the location was terrific -- on the river and an easy walk downtown and also to the local minor league baseball park. Parking was additional, but only $6. The breakfast was the best we've ever had included in an American hotel, including lots of very fresh fruits and berries. Several very good restaurants within easy walking distance. The free computers for guest use in the lobby were convenient, so we never even used the in-room wi-fi. We would certainly stay there again. The workout room was small, with well-maintained equipment, but not many machines.

Room Tip: We did not request a river view, but would next time.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 21, 2012

Jay B, We greatly appreciate you taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us. It is great to hear that our staff took good care of you throughout your stay. We certainly try and go above and beyond to make each guests stay memorable. I am also glad to hear you enjoyed our On the House Hot breakfast. With the wide variety of options offered there is something for everyone. Thank you again for your comments. We hope we will get to serve you again during your next visit to the Greenville area!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2012

The hotel has a great location and good rooms. Our story was we booked four nights through Expedia and paid extra for a king suite with balcony and river view (we were told). We did not get it, they were booked up and none were available, and we were stuck because we had prepaid through a third party, Expedia. Nikki worked on it, arranged a river view room with a balcony, and brought in a portable refer and microwave to make up for the lost kitchenette that came with the king suite. While it was not exactly what we thought we were getting, the overall experience may have been better because the great customer service made the minor adjustments we had to make seem inconsequential.

Room Tip: Get a river view room with a balcony and use it.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Fredric D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2012

The staff were all wonderful and really went the extra mile to please. The location couldn't be better; everything was within easy walking distance in a walking friendly downtown. I want to go back, a lot :-)

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mattlew23, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2012

We appreciate you taking the time to leave such great feedback about your recent stay with us. As a staff we certainly always try to go above and beyond for each and every guest and try to make a personalized experience. I am glad to hear that our efforts to do this made you have an enjoyable stay. You are certainly right about our prime location. With restaurants, parks and shops all within a comfortable walking distance we are set up in the heart of the tourist area. We hope you will get to come back to the area soon and experience once again all that Greenville and Hampton Inn Riverplace has to offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews