We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Super 8 Greenville(Greenville)
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Fitness center
Reviews (1,189)
Filter reviews
1,189 results
Traveler rating
855
255
50
20
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
855
255
50
20
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsacross the riverlazy goatgreat locationriver viewfalls parkriver placefresh berrieswest endwithin walking distancethe swamp rabbit trailmain streetbeautiful parkgreenville downtownrestaurants and shopshotel is locatedthe hotel staffself parking
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,113 - 1,118 of 1,189 reviews
Reviewed January 5, 2012

We were attending a concert at the Bi-Lo Center and wanted to be downtown. Greenville downtown area is wonderful filled with great shops, restaurants and micro-breweries. Take your time and wander throughout the downtown area. The park system downtown is a nice peaceful area and very pretty. The Bi-Lo is definitely a nice walk from the hotel. The hotel itself was very clean, nice furnishings and morning breakfast. Parking is underneath the hotel which makes it very convenient.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sherwoodsharks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonInnRiverPlace, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2012

Sherwoodsharks,

Thank you for sharing your experience here on TripAdvisor! It sounds like you had a great time exploring our downtown area. Walking to the Bilo Center is about a mile walk from our hotel; as you travel down Main Street, you’ll pass tons of restaurants and shops to stop in on your way. Please ask for me on your next visit if you have any questions or are in need of restaurant recommendations. We’re looking forward to seeing you again in Greenville soon!

Warm Regards,

Aaron Zaleski – Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2011

I wasn't expecting this level of service and comfort at a Hampton Inn! Everything about my 4 night stay was excellent. The front desk staff was friendly and welcoming, my room was spacious and nice with modern furnishings and a great bathroom. It was like staying at a deluxe hotel but for an economical price. The location is awesome--everything in downtown is walk able, and Reedy Falls park is just across the street (if you are a runner or walker, there is a great running trail here). I only used the free breakfast once, but the offings were plentiful and the area was nice and clean. The staff at this hotel gets SUPER high praise for being so friendly and helpful!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PeggyD1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonInnRiverPlace, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2012

PeggyD1959,

Thank you so much for sharing your experience here on TripAdvisor! We’re glad you enjoyed all the added amenities our property has to offer and our great downtown location. We strive to be the best hotel in downtown Greenville, and your kind words definitely keep us on that track. Please let me know if there is anything we can do to make your next stay with us even more enjoyable. Looking forward to seeing you again in Greenville soon.

Warm Regards,

Aaron Zaleski – Guest Service Manager
(864) 271 - 8700

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2011

The location is second to none for enjoying downtown Greenville. The room was in perfect condition and bed was extremely comfortable. Parking was easy (slight fee) and walking distance to everything. I would only stay here when visiting downtown Greenville.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank D R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonInnRiverPlace, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2011

DR, thank you for sharing all this great feedback on your recent stay with us! It sounds like you had a great time enjoying our convenient downtown location and all the added amenities we offer. Please let me know if there is anything we can do to make your next stay with us even more enjoyable; whether it be a specific room request or a restaurant recommendation, it would be my pleasure to assist you. We’re looking forward to seeing you again in Greenville soon!

Warm Regards,
Aaron Zaleski – Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2011

I echo all the top reviews here--the location right by the Reedy River is perfect and the hotel itself is top-notch. You are right across the river from the Peace Center. It's an easy walk to the Center, anywhere on Main Street, the park along the river, and great restaurants along Main and the West End. The hotel is much more elegantly furnished than most Hampton Inns and the rooms are huge. All the amenities are there (except the cups in the room are paper, not glass) and the beds are extremely comfortable. Everything was spotless. The breakfast included was, again, nicer than most Hampton Inns: waffles, scrambled eggs, omelets, sausage, even oatmeal, plus lots of fresh fruits, juices, and breads.

A couple of people here have complained about the staff, but we experienced nothing except cordial and prompt service from everyone.

We've stayed at a couple of other hotels in downtown Greenville, but we will go back only to this Hampton Inn--it's an absolute winner. The price was reasonable and the underground parking garage was large, well-lighted, and only $6 a day.

Room Tip: Ask for the river side to get a view of the river and Main Street
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mybagsrpackd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonInnRiverPlace, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2011

Mybagsrpakd, thanks so much for posting a review here on TripAdvisor. I appreciate you taking the time to share your great experience with others. As you mentioned, once you park your car in the garage, you really don’t need to move it again until check-out. Great restaurants, shops and Falls Park are all right around the corner and within walking distance. Please ask for me on your next visit if you have any questions or are in need of restaurant recommendations. We’re looking forward to seeing you again in Greenville soon!

Warm Regards,
Aaron Zaleski – Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2011

We arrived at the Hampton in downtown Greenville and were greeted by Aaron at the front desk. He was very welcoming and and made it clear that the staff would do anything to make our stay a pleasant one. We went up to our room and were greeted by a spacious suite that was VERY clean, something I definitely appreciate. The bed was super comfortable and I loved that the drapes kept the room very dark in the morning. The only thing to be aware of is that there is construction on Camperdown Way so if that bothers you, ask for a room away from that street. It didn't bother us at all but we're used to city noise. A gift bag full of snacks and water was left in our room, as well as a personal note by Miguel Chavez, Guest Service Rep. Very nice touch. I emailed Matt Lew, the Assistant GM, and thanked him for such a nice room. I promptly received a positive reply back.

I have to comment again on Housekeeping. The room and the hotel in general was spotless. Complimentary breakfast in the morning was a plus and the staff in the breakfast area was always very pleasant.

Downtown Greenville is tiny (at least compared to what we're used to) and we were able to walk everywhere. The hotel is located directly on the Reedy River/Falls Park, which is a really great place to hang out and walk around. I highly recommend dinner at Nose Dive. Yes, horrible name for a restaurant but really good food and service. Also loved Lemongrass. Great location, service, and ambiance. If you're in Greenville on Sunday, make sure you check to see what's open as a lot of things are closed.

I did think the room rates were a little high, but I can't complain because we were upgraded to a suite! I definitely recommend this hotel for cleanliness, great staff, and excellent location.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AustinTraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonInnRiverPlace, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2011

AustinTraveling, Thank you so much for your comments on your recent stay with us! It sounds like you had a lot of fun exploring what downtown Greenville has to offer. I echo your recommendation for Nose Dive, one of Greenville’s newer restaurants (try the Scotch Egg or Maryland Crab Pretzel!) We’re pleased to hear you also enjoyed your accommodations, service and the cleanliness of our property. We strive to be the best hotel in downtown Greenville, and your kind words definitely keep us on that track. Please let me know if there is anything we can do to make your next stay with us even more enjoyable. Looking forward to seeing you again in Greenville soon.

Warm Regards,
Aaron Zaleski – Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews