We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace
Ranked #3 of 64 Hotels in Greenville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 4, 2011

This is a great hotel in a great location! The staff was very nice and the hotel was impeccebly clean. The breakfast was better than normal Hampton Inns.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 401 suite. It was away from the elevators too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnitaM68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonInnRiverPlace, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2011

AnitaM68,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience here on TripAdvisor. We’re so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that our staff took great care of you. Please feel free to contact us at your convenience if there is anything we can do to make your next stay with us even more enjoyable. We look forward to seeing you sometime soon and wish you safe travels until then.

Aaron Zaleski
Guest Service Manager
(864) 271 – 8700

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,152)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,087 - 1,093 of 1,152 reviews

Reviewed October 1, 2011

PROS:
-Great location, walking distance to many great restaurants, bars, shops, etc
-Riverfront park with walking trails bridge overlook also within walking distance
-Very friendly and helpful staff
-Standard Hampton Inn breakfast included

CONS:
-Hotel in congested downtown area so traffic can be an issue
-Walls are very thin. When the person next door was talking on the phone it was almost like they were in the room with me.
-The rooms have the standard under window head/AC unit which can be very loud

All in all a nice place to stay in downtown Greenville - I would stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ProfFarnsworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonInnRiverPlace, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2011

ProfFarnsworth,

Thank you for taking the time to share your detailed review here on TripAdvisor. Our West End location in downtown Greenville gives us the distinction of being the closest to Falls Park along with being within walking-distance to downtown restaurants and attractions. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed our location, amenities and staff, and look forward to hosting you on future trips to downtown Greenville! Please let us know if there is anything we can do to make your next stay with us even more enjoyable.

Aaron Zaleski
Guest Service Manager
(864) 271 – 8700

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2011

Never fails to exeed expectations--great rooms, super breakfast, great public spaces in a superb city.

Room Tip: River front rooms with balcony are wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Cerchier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonInnRiverPlace, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2011

Cerchier,

It’s so great to see that valued guests such as yourself notice and appreciate all the upkeep we do in order to keep our facilities and amenities up to date. Thank you for again taking the time to share your experience here on TripAdvisor. If there is anything we can do to make your next stay with us even more memorable, please do not hesitate to let us know. We look forward to seeing you on again in the near future and wish you safe travels until then.

Aaron Zaleski
Guest Service Manager
(864) 271 – 8700

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2011

Great hotel! Would recommend to anyone wanting to stay in downtown Greenville. It is located on the river and within walking distance to many restaurants and shops. The hotel is maintained extremely well with a staff that goes above and beyond.

Room Tip: Ask for a view other than the one facing the large brick building next to the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KateM M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonInnRiverPlace, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to share your great experience and feedback here on TripAdvisor. We understand that guests have a variety of options when it comes to accommodations and we appreciate the opportunity you gave us to serve you during your stay in Greenville. Please feel free to contact me if there is anything we can do to make your next stay more memorable.

Aaron Zaleski
Guest Service Manager
(864) 271 - 8700

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2011

I was traveling to Greenville on business. I prefer Hilton properties. I love their brand and the consistency (no matter what location) so it's wasn't by accident that I chose the Hampton Inn in downtown Greenville, however, what was a surprise was, this property is not your ordinary Hampton Inn, this one is "above & beyond" in my book! It has great decor, everything is comfortable and most importantly....clean! Oh, and the breakfast definitely surpasses even the brand standard.

A couple of things....
This property is in a great location if you're looking to hang out in downtown Greenville. I loved that it was within walking distance to the hot spots including the cool bridge (forgot what it's called), the river walk area and all shops and restaurants. Now, about price: you will most likely pay a higher rate than your average Hampton Inn, but you get what you pay for!

About the staff.....
from the front desk, to the breakfast room associates to the housekeeping staff....everyone was great! That makes a stay just that much more pleasurable!

Lastly, I want to make special note of Rachel & Miguel at the front desk in the evening. I had never been to Greenville so they were most helpful in guiding me in the right directions. They even gave me their business cards so that if I had anymore questions or need further help they would be there for me.

Excellent job! I will be back....for pleasure next time!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LORIEWITHAE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonInnRiverPlace, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2011

Lorie,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience here on TripAdvisor. We’re so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that our staff took great care of you. By providing personalized, attention-to-detail driven service, we’re able to not only stand out in the local area as a premier hotel but also give our valued guests the service they yearn for. Please feel free to contact me if there is anything we can do to assist you on future trips to downtown Greenville. We look forward to seeing you sometime soon and wish you safe travels until then.

Aaron Zaleski
Guest Service Manager
864-271-8700

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2011

We stopped there on our way to drop our son off at Clemson and this is such a perfect location. Great views.......except for the handicapped rooms........which I didn't realize......but our son's room was great! And it's within walking distance of great restaurants.......very pedestrian location!! Will definitely stay there again!!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelGnome1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonInnRiverPlace, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2011

Travelgnome1960,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience here on TripAdvisor. We’re so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. There are over 50 restaurants, unique shops and the beautiful Falls Park all within walking distance from our front door; pedestrian friendly indeed! We look forward to seeing you on future trips to downtown Greenville and wish you safe travels until then.

Aaron Zaleski
Guest Service Manager
864-271-8700

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2011

Several of my friends and I had the pleasure of staying here as we were attending our nursing alumni meeting in Greenville. It is in a great location being close to the River Park, downtown and many nice restaurants, all within walking distance. The staff was extremely cordial and helpful. And, the breakfast was wonderful! The room was spacious and quite comfortable. I would certainly re-visit this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EdistoBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
azaleski, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2011

EdistoBeach, Thank you for taking your time to share your experience at our hotel on TripAdvisor. I specifically remember your group and how enjoyable it was to get to know you all during your stay with us. We’re so glad to hear about your great stay with us and that you enjoyed our friendly customer service and amenities we offer. We hope to see you again on your next trip to Greenville!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Greenville hotels
0.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Greenville Downtown Riverplace
0.2 mi away
The Westin Poinsett, Greenville
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Greenville Downtown
Courtyard Greenville Downtown
#13 of 64 in Greenville
650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Greenville
Hyatt Regency Greenville
#16 of 64 in Greenville
1,194 reviews
0.6 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Greenville Downtown
3.8 mi away
Hilton Greenville
Hilton Greenville
#15 of 64 in Greenville
825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace

Address: 171 Riverplace, Greenville, SC 29601-2579
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Greenville
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Greenville
#1 Romantic Hotel in Greenville
#3 Business Hotel in Greenville
Price Range: $139 - $295 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace 2.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our boutique hotel is located in the heart of downtown's historic Westend District. An unparalleled variety of guestrooms ranging from studio balcony suites overlooking Falls Park to signature circular suites essential for those special occasions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown Hotel Greenville
Hampton Inn And Suites Greenville - Downtown
Hampton Inn Greenville
Greenville Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing