We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay...would recommend to all!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace
Ranked #3 of 64 Hotels in Greenville
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta
1 review
“Great stay...would recommend to all!”
Reviewed September 8, 2011

Great hotel! Would recommend to anyone wanting to stay in downtown Greenville. It is located on the river and within walking distance to many restaurants and shops. The hotel is maintained extremely well with a staff that goes above and beyond.

Room Tip: Ask for a view other than the one facing the large brick building next to the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KateM M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonInnRiverPlace, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this review, September 13, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to share your great experience and feedback here on TripAdvisor. We understand that guests have a variety of options when it comes to accommodations and we appreciate the opportunity you gave us to serve you during your stay in Greenville. Please feel free to contact me if there is anything we can do to make your next stay more memorable.

Aaron Zaleski
Guest Service Manager
(864) 271 - 8700
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,067 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    758
    237
    44
    20
    8
See reviews for
291
383
37
237
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clearwater, Florida
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2011

I was traveling to Greenville on business. I prefer Hilton properties. I love their brand and the consistency (no matter what location) so it's wasn't by accident that I chose the Hampton Inn in downtown Greenville, however, what was a surprise was, this property is not your ordinary Hampton Inn, this one is "above & beyond" in my book! It has great decor, everything is comfortable and most importantly....clean! Oh, and the breakfast definitely surpasses even the brand standard.

A couple of things....
This property is in a great location if you're looking to hang out in downtown Greenville. I loved that it was within walking distance to the hot spots including the cool bridge (forgot what it's called), the river walk area and all shops and restaurants. Now, about price: you will most likely pay a higher rate than your average Hampton Inn, but you get what you pay for!

About the staff.....
from the front desk, to the breakfast room associates to the housekeeping staff....everyone was great! That makes a stay just that much more pleasurable!

Lastly, I want to make special note of Rachel & Miguel at the front desk in the evening. I had never been to Greenville so they were most helpful in guiding me in the right directions. They even gave me their business cards so that if I had anymore questions or need further help they would be there for me.

Excellent job! I will be back....for pleasure next time!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LORIEWITHAE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonInnRiverPlace, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this review, September 13, 2011
Lorie,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience here on TripAdvisor. We’re so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that our staff took great care of you. By providing personalized, attention-to-detail driven service, we’re able to not only stand out in the local area as a premier hotel but also give our valued guests the service they yearn for. Please feel free to contact me if there is anything we can do to assist you on future trips to downtown Greenville. We look forward to seeing you sometime soon and wish you safe travels until then.

Aaron Zaleski
Guest Service Manager
864-271-8700
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2011

We stopped there on our way to drop our son off at Clemson and this is such a perfect location. Great views.......except for the handicapped rooms........which I didn't realize......but our son's room was great! And it's within walking distance of great restaurants.......very pedestrian location!! Will definitely stay there again!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelGnome1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonInnRiverPlace, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this review, August 27, 2011
Travelgnome1960,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience here on TripAdvisor. We’re so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. There are over 50 restaurants, unique shops and the beautiful Falls Park all within walking distance from our front door; pedestrian friendly indeed! We look forward to seeing you on future trips to downtown Greenville and wish you safe travels until then.

Aaron Zaleski
Guest Service Manager
864-271-8700
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edisto Beach, SC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 12, 2011

Several of my friends and I had the pleasure of staying here as we were attending our nursing alumni meeting in Greenville. It is in a great location being close to the River Park, downtown and many nice restaurants, all within walking distance. The staff was extremely cordial and helpful. And, the breakfast was wonderful! The room was spacious and quite comfortable. I would certainly re-visit this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EdistoBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
azaleski, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this review, August 13, 2011
EdistoBeach, Thank you for taking your time to share your experience at our hotel on TripAdvisor. I specifically remember your group and how enjoyable it was to get to know you all during your stay with us. We’re so glad to hear about your great stay with us and that you enjoyed our friendly customer service and amenities we offer. We hope to see you again on your next trip to Greenville!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, SC
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2011

I had a very pleasant experience at this hotel, but you are definitely paying for location as you would at any of the neighboring hotels downtown. If you're looking for anything cheaper, you won't find it downtown. I checked prices and they all seem to be about the same. However, if you need/want to stay downtown for any reason, I would opt for this hotel simply because of it's proximity to Falls Park. Downtown Greenville is great for walking -- we parked our vehicles and didn't drive them again until we checked out. It's location and the fact that I am a HiltonHonors member who gets points for all my Hilton hotel stays were the main reasons I chose this hotel.

The staff very kindly accomodated a slightly early check-in time (I called ahead just to make sure), and parking in the lot/garage right under the hotel was very convenient. Parking fees ($6/daily) for this hotel appear to be much less expensive than the nearby Marriott Courtyard and Hyatt Regency hotels.

I thought I had seen on the website that they had a whirlpool, but either I was mistaken or it was referring to the fact that some rooms have a 1-person whirlpool tub in them. I don't see other downtown hotels claming that amenity either.

We booked a balcony room for an extra $20/night, and we could see the river from it, but I would save my money next time or book one in cooler weather. I thought we might use it at nighttime or in the morning if one of us woke up before the other.

Like another reviewer mentioned, the rooms do not provide a mini-fridge or microwave, which was surprising -- and disappointing considering the great meals we had. It would have been nice to bring leftovers or dessert back with us.

The wireless internet worked GREAT -- we were even able to stream a movie to our laptop without interruptions.

The bed was super comfortable. The room stayed comfortably cool. The bathroom had lots of counter and shelf space for our sundries and the shower had reliably hot water. Housekeeping promptly cleaned the room during the late morning.

Decor of the room could use some help as it was rather drab. Beige walls, beige curtains, beige bench, white bedspread, and two B&W photos of lovely Greenville landmarks. I didn't realize how accustomed I am to more color and artwork in hotel rooms. It lends itself to a more home-away-from-home feeling. But that's certainly a very minor quibble. Just something they could work on to make the room feel like it matches its pricetag.

The hotel is in very easy walking distance of nearly all of downtown, and Falls Park is in its backyard -- a great place to find a bench to read or enjoy coffee or ice cream from Spill the Beans or bubble tea from O-Cha Tea Bar. There is plenty of free parking in downtown garages on the weekend, and I understand there is also a trolley that rides up and down Main Street that will take you to various stops along the way at no charge. Do yourself a favor and plan one meal at Rick Erwin's West End Grill, then window shop at all the neat boutique stores along Main Street!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank randmel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
azaleski, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this review, August 13, 2011
Randmel, thank you so much for leaving such a great and in-depth review of your recent stay on TripAdvisor. We’re so glad to hear about your enjoyable experience and feedback on the amenities we offer. Our central location in downtown Greenville leaves guests with infinite options and places to dine, all within walking distance! Thank you again for the great feedback; we look forward to seeing you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 5, 2011

A wonderful place that takes care of their guests in every way to make you want to return!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sparkspymom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
azaleski, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this review, August 13, 2011
Sparkspymom, We’re so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our staff took good care of you. Thank you for sharing the great feedback here on Tripadvisor! We hope to see you on your next trip to downtown Greenville.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 2, 2011

I really appreciated all the extras and friendly service this hotel offered. Great downtown location!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nette90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
azaleski, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this review, August 5, 2011
Nette90, Thank you for taking the time to leave such glowing feedback on TripAdvisor! We’re so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to downtown Greenville.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Greenville hotels
0.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Greenville Downtown Riverplace
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Greenville Downtown
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Greenville
Hyatt Regency Greenville
#13 of 64 in Greenville
1,032 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Westin Poinsett, Greenville
0.4 mi away
Aloft Greenville Downtown
Aloft Greenville Downtown
#16 of 64 in Greenville
158 reviews
0.6 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Greenville Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace
Address: 171 Riverplace, Greenville, SC 29601-2579
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Greenville
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Greenville
#1 Romantic Hotel in Greenville
#3 Business Hotel in Greenville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace 2.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our boutique hotel is located in the heart of downtown's historic Westend District. An unparalleled variety of guestrooms ranging from studio balcony suites overlooking Falls Park to signature circular suites essential for those special occasions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Greenville - Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown Hotel Greenville
Hampton Inn Greenville
Greenville Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing