We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace
Ranked #4 of 65 Hotels in Greenville
Certificate of Excellence
Edisto Beach, SC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

Several of my friends and I had the pleasure of staying here as we were attending our nursing alumni meeting in Greenville. It is in a great location being close to the River Park, downtown and many nice restaurants, all within walking distance. The staff was extremely cordial and helpful. And, the breakfast was wonderful! The room was spacious and quite comfortable. I would certainly re-visit this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EdistoBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
azaleski, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this review, August 13, 2011
EdistoBeach, Thank you for taking your time to share your experience at our hotel on TripAdvisor. I specifically remember your group and how enjoyable it was to get to know you all during your stay with us. We’re so glad to hear about your great stay with us and that you enjoyed our friendly customer service and amenities we offer. We hope to see you again on your next trip to Greenville!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

877 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    617
    199
    35
    19
    7
See reviews for
240
298
28
204
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, SC
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

I had a very pleasant experience at this hotel, but you are definitely paying for location as you would at any of the neighboring hotels downtown. If you're looking for anything cheaper, you won't find it downtown. I checked prices and they all seem to be about the same. However, if you need/want to stay downtown for any reason, I would opt for this hotel simply because of it's proximity to Falls Park. Downtown Greenville is great for walking -- we parked our vehicles and didn't drive them again until we checked out. It's location and the fact that I am a HiltonHonors member who gets points for all my Hilton hotel stays were the main reasons I chose this hotel.

The staff very kindly accomodated a slightly early check-in time (I called ahead just to make sure), and parking in the lot/garage right under the hotel was very convenient. Parking fees ($6/daily) for this hotel appear to be much less expensive than the nearby Marriott Courtyard and Hyatt Regency hotels.

I thought I had seen on the website that they had a whirlpool, but either I was mistaken or it was referring to the fact that some rooms have a 1-person whirlpool tub in them. I don't see other downtown hotels claming that amenity either.

We booked a balcony room for an extra $20/night, and we could see the river from it, but I would save my money next time or book one in cooler weather. I thought we might use it at nighttime or in the morning if one of us woke up before the other.

Like another reviewer mentioned, the rooms do not provide a mini-fridge or microwave, which was surprising -- and disappointing considering the great meals we had. It would have been nice to bring leftovers or dessert back with us.

The wireless internet worked GREAT -- we were even able to stream a movie to our laptop without interruptions.

The bed was super comfortable. The room stayed comfortably cool. The bathroom had lots of counter and shelf space for our sundries and the shower had reliably hot water. Housekeeping promptly cleaned the room during the late morning.

Decor of the room could use some help as it was rather drab. Beige walls, beige curtains, beige bench, white bedspread, and two B&W photos of lovely Greenville landmarks. I didn't realize how accustomed I am to more color and artwork in hotel rooms. It lends itself to a more home-away-from-home feeling. But that's certainly a very minor quibble. Just something they could work on to make the room feel like it matches its pricetag.

The hotel is in very easy walking distance of nearly all of downtown, and Falls Park is in its backyard -- a great place to find a bench to read or enjoy coffee or ice cream from Spill the Beans or bubble tea from O-Cha Tea Bar. There is plenty of free parking in downtown garages on the weekend, and I understand there is also a trolley that rides up and down Main Street that will take you to various stops along the way at no charge. Do yourself a favor and plan one meal at Rick Erwin's West End Grill, then window shop at all the neat boutique stores along Main Street!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank randmel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
azaleski, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this review, August 13, 2011
Randmel, thank you so much for leaving such a great and in-depth review of your recent stay on TripAdvisor. We’re so glad to hear about your enjoyable experience and feedback on the amenities we offer. Our central location in downtown Greenville leaves guests with infinite options and places to dine, all within walking distance! Thank you again for the great feedback; we look forward to seeing you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2011

A wonderful place that takes care of their guests in every way to make you want to return!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sparkspymom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
azaleski, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this review, August 13, 2011
Sparkspymom, We’re so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our staff took good care of you. Thank you for sharing the great feedback here on Tripadvisor! We hope to see you on your next trip to downtown Greenville.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

I really appreciated all the extras and friendly service this hotel offered. Great downtown location!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nette90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
azaleski, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this review, August 5, 2011
Nette90, Thank you for taking the time to leave such glowing feedback on TripAdvisor! We’re so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to downtown Greenville.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
70 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2011

Our family of five had booked a double queen room on the Hilton website. We marked the reservation clearly with 2 adults and 3 children. When I called six days before our trip to confirm sleeping accomodations (i.e., pull-out sofa or rollaway for the fifth person), I was informed that neither was possible. I was told that we could either put all three children in one bed (for both nights) or change our reservations and book two rooms. The only other solution the manager, Aaron, offered was to 'generously' give us $10 off each room night. We booked comfortable accomodations at the Westin Poinsett and won't be using a Hilton property again for awhile.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PADiamond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
azaleski, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this review, August 5, 2011
PADiamond, On our official website, the description of our two bed guest room does not mention that the room has a pull-out sofa bed because none of our standard king or two queen beds do have them. On the rooms that do include them, it is notated under the room details below the picture on the virtual tour of our hotel. We also cannot put a rollaway bed in any of our guest rooms except our standard king bed guest rooms due to fire hazard. This is a procedure we follow very strictly to ensure all guests safety.

While we do apologize for the confusion, we did exhaust all available options to try to accommodate you and your family, including offering various suite upgrades to see if any of them would work for you. We’re sorry to hear that you’ll be switching hotels because we would have loved to have you here with us. We hope you enjoy your trip to Greenville.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

What I liked about the place was the personalized service. The staff was very warm and welcoming. The pool was non-functional but this was compensated by the lovely breakfast and transportation service.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MonisAziz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
azaleski, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this review, August 5, 2011
MonisAziz, Thank you for taking your time to share your experience at our hotel on TripAdvisor. We’re so glad to hear about your great stay with us and that you enjoyed our personalized customer service and amenities we offer (although we do not offer hotel shuttle transportation). We hope to see you again on your next trip to Greenville!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spartanburg, South Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

Our daughter was married on July 16th and family and wedding party stayed at the Hampton Inn downtown. We could not be more pleased with the service we received! The staff was great, the hospitality was impeccable, and the food was also excellent!
I highly recommend the Hampton Inn to anyone looking for a most enjoyable stay in downtown Greeneville, SC!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mpandreas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
azaleski, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this review, August 5, 2011
Mpandreas, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at our hotel here on TripAdvisor! We’re pleased to hear that your daughter’s wedding party enjoyed their stay and that our staff went above-and-beyond to exceed your expectations! We hope to see you again on your next visit to downtown Greenville.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Greenville hotels
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Greenville Downtown
0.3 mi away
The Westin Poinsett, Greenville
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Greenville
Hyatt Regency Greenville
#8 of 65 in Greenville
4.0 of 5 stars 661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Greenville
Hilton Garden Inn Greenville
#2 of 65 in Greenville
4.5 of 5 stars 561 reviews
5.7 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Greenville
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Greenville Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace
Address: 171 Riverplace, Greenville, SC 29601-2579
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Greenville
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Greenville
#1 Family Hotel in Greenville
#3 Business Hotel in Greenville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace 2.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our boutique hotel is located in the heart of downtown's historic Westend District. An unparalleled variety of guestrooms ranging from studio balcony suites overlooking Falls Park to signature circular suites essential for those special occasions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown Hotel Greenville
Hampton Inn And Suites Greenville - Downtown
Hampton Inn Greenville
Greenville Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing