We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, very nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace
Ranked #3 of 64 Hotels in Greenville
Certificate of Excellence
Spring Valley, Ohio
Level Contributor
60 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great location, very nice hotel”
Reviewed July 20, 2011

The location of this hotel is wonderful within easy walking distance of restaurants,shops, and Falls Park. We found the service to be very friendly and helpful, including the cleaning and breakfast staff. The room and bathroom were large, very clean and nicely decorated. The free breakfast included three hot items, make your own waffles, pastries and cereal. Best of all was two different fresh fruit salads. This was our first trip to Greenville and found the downtown city to be clean, fun and interesting. We will be back to Greenville and the Hampton Inn.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CmarieM2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
azaleski, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this review, July 23, 2011
CmarieM2, thank you for taking your time to share your experience at our hotel on TripAdvisor. We’re so glad to hear about your great stay with us and that you enjoyed the services and amenities we offer, including our complimentary On The House hot breakfast. We hope you come back to see us soon and get to explore more of what Downtown Greenville has to offer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,066 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    757
    237
    44
    20
    8
See reviews for
291
382
37
237
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2011

Its all about location for me when choosing a hotel and believe me this hotel definately has that going for them. Greenville has a very pedestrian friendly downtown so once your able to squeeze your car into their tiny almost underground garage you will be all set. The hotel itself is very clean but the main thing this hotel lacked was an interactive and friendly staff. I could only see one entrance into the hotel and after having to pass the front desk multiple times during my stay was never greeted by any of the desk clerks. A nice "hello" or "how was your evening" would have been appreciated. The lobby and front desk area are so tightly positioned that they are one in the same. You are within 2ft of the clerks behind the desk but not once did I even get a hello. They were to consumed with talking to one another. The rooms themselves were quite spacious and clean. Would have enjoyed having a mini fridge in room in order to keep drinks cool in the room. I kind of thought a mini fridge was a Hampton standard. The location of the hotel itself is the real winner. I would stay here again for that reason. Maybe next time the staff will be more attentive to guests than their coworkers.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sockie0117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
azaleski, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this review, July 23, 2011
Sockie0117, thank you for taking your time to share your feedback about your stay with us on TripAdvisor. I am disappointed to hear about your experience with our staff. Please know that this is not the norm feedback we hear and I will be addressing this instance with the staff. On your next visit with us, I hope you get to see how friendly and attentive our staff is. Despite the aforementioned challenges, we are glad to hear you enjoyed our hotel and location. And we sincerely look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to Downtown Greenville!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2011

I work for a hotel, so I would say my expectations are high and low if that makes sense. I expect to be treated just like a regular guest but Im also one that doesnt freak out like I know how people do when there is an error of some sort unless its major. However I feel like the only true benefit to this hotel is just that its downtown. We would stay here again based on the location of hotel. But as another review had stated the front desk was not that friendly upon checkin. The only member of staff that I felt went above and beyond was a younger black gentleman, I couldnt tell if he was maintenance or if he worked in house. I mean the rooms were nice, and it definitely served its purpose.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank razorback1430
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
azaleski, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this review, July 14, 2011
Razorback1430, we’re sorry to hear about your disappointment during a recent stay with us. Please know this is not the norm feedback for our hotel. And we look forward to showing you how friendly and accommodating our staff are upon your next trip to Greenville. Thank you for sharing your thoughts with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2011

My husband and I wanted to take a quick getaway. We love staying in downtown and Greenville has a very nice, clean downtown area. We were able to walk to a variety of restaurants and shopping. We walked to a Greenville Drive baseball game in their new field. The hotel is wonderful! It is very clean, beautiful, and well-kept. The staff was very helpful and quickly resolved a problem we had with our reservation that we made through Hotels.com. Breakfast was great! We had an amazing time and look forward to going back!

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christinldrn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
azaleski, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this review, July 8, 2011
Christinldrn, Thank you for taking the time to leave such glowing feedback on TripAdvisor! We’re so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and got to catch a Greenville Drive game while in town. The staff definitely looks forward to seeing you on future trips to Downtown Greenville!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, SC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2011

My friend booked this hotel to come back to after a night out on the town in downtown Greenville. We were already treated a little rude upon check in because we were 21-year-old's renting the room (definitely got the impression we weren't really welcome because we were probably younger than most of their guests). After coming back to the hotel we went straight up to our rooms and turned on the TV and started snacking on some food we had brought with us. Within a matter of minutes a cop was at our door telling us that we were being too loud. We turned off the television and immediately got a call from the front desk telling us that we were being too loud. We apologized and told her that we had turned the TV off. The front desk lady and the cop ended up coming up to our room two more times in a short amount of time telling us we were still too loud. (Obviously the hotel walls must be paper-thin). Finally, I asked her what she suggested we do to be quieter, since we had already turned off the TV, and she made a snide remark about whispering. I didn't realize that we had paid $200 for a hotel room in which we couldn't watch TV or talk in past midnight. She also said that one hotel room had called and complained about our room 5 times and that it was "hotel policy" to kick someone out if they get 6 complaints from a room. I asked to see a copy of this hotel policy and she said that they didn't have one?? Less than 5 minutes later they came up to the room saying that they had gotten a 6th complaint and we had to leave. We literally had to pack up our stuff in the middle of the night and leave even though we had no where to go and were 21 year old girls in downtown Greenville. I even asked if we could be moved to another room where our neighbors might be a little less sensitive to TV noise and she said no. We got NO REFUND and they were not willing to work with us what so ever. I feel like as soon as we checked in and saw that we were a group of 21-year-old girls they were already planning on getting rid of us.

One of the girls in he group even suggested staying at the Hampton in because her sister had her bachelorette party there a couple weeks before. It is obvious that if you are below the age of 35 you are not welcome at this hotel. They will simply take your money and get rid of you.

If you have kids, watch TV to fall asleep, plan on being awake past 10 p.m., or don't feel like being treated like a second rate citizen (even though you're paying as much as everyone else) I would suggest staying at a different hotel in downtown Greenville.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JSD21990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
azaleski, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this review, July 8, 2011
JSD21990, Being a downtown location that caters to business and leisure, our hotel sees guests of all ages staying here at any given time; in no way do we categorize and treat one guest differently than another simply because of their age. In regards to the challenges with noise, our goal is to ensure all guests are comfortably enjoying their stay, which includes following through and taking proper steps and procedures on noise complaints from other guests. Thank you for sharing your thoughts with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clover, South Carolina
Level Contributor
127 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2011

If you're traveling to Greenville, this is the place to stay! Its location is excellent, the staff friendly & helpful, the breakfast yummy & plentiful, and the rooms quite comfortable!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PittsHQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
azaleski, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this review, June 15, 2011
PittsHQ, we’re so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our staff took good care of you. Thank you for sharing the great feedback here on Tripadvisor! We hope you come to stay with us again and get to explore more of what Downtown Greenville has to offer!

Warm Regards, Aaron Zaleski – Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Nc
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2011

Stayed here to attend the "Artisphere". Location was perfect...close to restaurants & Falls Park.
Hotel check-in was a breeze, as was check out. Rooms were very comfortable & clean. Complimentary breakfast had quite a good selection to choose from. Staff was very pleasant.
My son-in-law stays here for business & highly recommended this hotel.
Will stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Berkleyhub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
azaleski, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this review, May 24, 2011
Berkleyhub, thank you so much for the great feedback and pictures! We always look forward to the great people and culture that Artisphere brings to our hotel. It’s a very special time of year that brings a lot of life and energy to our vibrant downtown area. We truly look forward to accommodating you for the 2012 Artisphere and any other future trips to Greenville! Thank you again for your kind words.

Warm Regards, Aaron Zaleski – Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Greenville hotels
0.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Greenville Downtown Riverplace
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Greenville Downtown
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Greenville
Hyatt Regency Greenville
#13 of 64 in Greenville
1,031 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Westin Poinsett, Greenville
0.4 mi away
Aloft Greenville Downtown
Aloft Greenville Downtown
#16 of 64 in Greenville
158 reviews
0.6 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Greenville Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace
Address: 171 Riverplace, Greenville, SC 29601-2579
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Greenville
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Greenville
#1 Family Hotel in Greenville
#3 Business Hotel in Greenville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace 2.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our boutique hotel is located in the heart of downtown's historic Westend District. An unparalleled variety of guestrooms ranging from studio balcony suites overlooking Falls Park to signature circular suites essential for those special occasions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Greenville - Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown Hotel Greenville
Hampton Inn Greenville
Greenville Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing