We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace
Ranked #4 of 65 Hotels in Greenville
Certificate of Excellence
Harrisburg, Nc
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2011

Stayed here to attend the "Artisphere". Location was perfect...close to restaurants & Falls Park.
Hotel check-in was a breeze, as was check out. Rooms were very comfortable & clean. Complimentary breakfast had quite a good selection to choose from. Staff was very pleasant.
My son-in-law stays here for business & highly recommended this hotel.
Will stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Berkleyhub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
azaleski, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this review, May 24, 2011
Berkleyhub, thank you so much for the great feedback and pictures! We always look forward to the great people and culture that Artisphere brings to our hotel. It’s a very special time of year that brings a lot of life and energy to our vibrant downtown area. We truly look forward to accommodating you for the 2012 Artisphere and any other future trips to Greenville! Thank you again for your kind words.

Warm Regards, Aaron Zaleski – Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

875 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    615
    199
    35
    19
    7
See reviews for
239
298
28
203
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
170 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2011

This has a great location and the staff are great. The rooms are nice and the breakfast area is well done. The only issue is the parking. It is below the hotel in a city garage and on both times we tried to leave with the room key access, it did not work. They said this occurs a lot and they are not in control of the garage. This mars an excellent rating. Restaurants are very close and the Michelin store nearby is very unique.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank quicktraveler91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
azaleski, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this review, April 19, 2011
Quicktraveler91, we’re so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our staff took good care of you. Thank you for the great feedback! We look forward to having you stay with us again.

Warm Regards, Aaron Zaleski – Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2011

I stayed here for work. I arrived early enough to go out and walk. It is right on the river and there were lots of walkers, families, young people, dogs, etc. It was very pretty area and I felt very safe. I especially liked the room because I had a balcony with a good view, 2 chairs, fresh air! Breakfast was included in the rate and it was good.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ParkandGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
azaleski, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this review, March 31, 2011
ParkandGo, thank you for sharing your experience at our hotel on TripAdvisor. We are so glad to hear that you were able to squeeze in some leisure time despite being here on business, and hope you get to explore more of what Downtown Greenville has to offer on your next stay with us.

Warm Regards, Aaron Zaleski
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewisville, NC
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2011

My girlfriends and I stayed here this weekend. It is a beautiful, new hotel within walking distance of everything in downtown Greenville. They had a full, hot breakfast and cookies in the afternoon! The best thing was the service. My girlfriend forgot to bring stockings and they actually had some on hand for her! The front desk was so nice and considerate. The downtown area in Greenville is incredible and we are able to walk to restuarants and clubs at night. We will definately return!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tarheelgirl1032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mattlew23, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this review, March 8, 2011
My name is Matt Lew and I am the Assistant General Manager of the hotel. I wanted to take a moment and thank you for your great response regarding your stay with us. The next time you are in town send me an email and we will make sure to continue providing you with exceptional service.

Thanks again,

Matt Lew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2011

Quiet, excellent location, staff on top of things, nice room, good breakfast, clean & well appointed. From the front desk, to the comfy bed, I would absolutely stay at this hotel again. We were celebrating our anniversary and the front desk gave us a little surprise as well. Bright and cheery rooms with lots of sunlight, the breakfast and lobby area were immaculate. We had to look hard to find anything that they missed. Nice amenities, coffee, cookies, breakfast, fruit, newspapers,

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PuroDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
azaleski, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this review, March 8, 2011
PuroDog:

Hello, my name is Aaron Zaleski. I am the Guest Services Manager at the Hampton Inn & Suites Downtown Greenville @RiverPlace. As a team, our staff appreciates your taking the time to give us feedback and letting us know how we’re doing.

We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! I will be sharing this feedback to let our staff know that we created a memorable stay for your Anniversary (Happy Belated Anniversary!) It is wonderful to see more happy couples making it a yearly tradition to come stay with us for their anniversary getaway.

If you have any further questions, comments, suggestions or think of anything we can do to make next year’s Anniversary even better, we would love to hear more from you. Feel free to contact me at the information listed below at your convenience.

Again, thank you for your feedback. We look forward to seeing you again!

Warm Regards,

Aaron Zaleski
Guest Service Manager

p (864) 271-8700
f (864) 271-8788

a.zaleski@hospitalityamerica.com
hamptoninnandsuitesgreenville.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, AL
Level Contributor
75 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2010

No hassle check in. Rooms and appoinents very nice. Free wireless was a bit slow but that's to be expected depending on usage. The area around hotel is very modern. I mean very modern like plenty of glass and aluminum mixed with brick. Starbucks just around the corner.just a great location.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lchambliss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
azaleski, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this review, March 10, 2011
Lchambliss:

Hello, my name is Aaron Zaleski. I am the Guest Services Manager at the Hampton Inn & Suites Downtown Greenville @RiverPlace. As a team, our staff appreciates your taking the time to give us feedback and letting us know how we’re doing.

We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! Whether it’s the scenic Falls Park around the corner or one of the restaurants a block or two away, our hotel’s central location in Downtown Greenville ensures that there is something for everyone within a short walk. We hope you come back soon to see more of what Downtown Greenville has to offer!

If you have any further questions, comments, suggestions or think of anything we can do to make your next stay even better, we would love to hear more from you. Feel free to contact me at the information listed below at your convenience.

Again, thank you for your feedback. We look forward to seeing you again!

Warm Regards,

Aaron Zaleski
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Level Contributor
55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2010

We came for a wedding in Greenville, and seeing as the reception was directly across the river from the hotel; it was perfect! The hotel was very nice, breakfast was pretty decent. The front desk was very helpful in giving us directions to places. The only complaint I had was that no one notified us that it was $6 per night for parking a car in the garage....however, compared to the $30/night I paid in Baltimore earlier, $6 was pretty easy to swallow!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank luvvacations83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
azaleski, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this review, March 10, 2011
Luvvacations83:

Hello, my name is Aaron Zaleski. I am the Guest Services Manager at the Hampton Inn & Suites Downtown Greenville @RiverPlace. As a team, our staff appreciates your taking the time to give us feedback and letting us know how we’re doing.

We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! I will be sharing this feedback to let our staff know that we created a memorable stay for you. We hope you come back to see us soon and experience more of what Downtown Greenville has to offer!

If you have any further questions, comments, suggestions or think of anything we can do to make next year’s Anniversary even better, we would love to hear more from you.

Again, thank you for your feedback. We look forward to seeing you again!

Warm Regards,

Aaron Zaleski
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Greenville hotels
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Greenville Downtown
0.3 mi away
The Westin Poinsett, Greenville
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Greenville
Hyatt Regency Greenville
#9 of 65 in Greenville
4.0 of 5 stars 650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Greenville
Hilton Garden Inn Greenville
#2 of 65 in Greenville
4.5 of 5 stars 560 reviews
5.7 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Greenville
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Greenville Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace
Address: 171 RiverPlace, Greenville, SC 29601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Greenville
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Greenville
#1 Romantic Hotel in Greenville
#3 Business Hotel in Greenville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace 2.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our boutique hotel is located in the heart of downtown's historic Westend District. An unparalleled variety of guestrooms ranging from studio balcony suites overlooking Falls Park to signature circular suites essential for those special occasions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown Hotel Greenville
Hampton Inn And Suites Greenville - Downtown
Hampton Inn Greenville
Greenville Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing