We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Respite after shopping”
Review of Stax's Grill - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Stax's Grill
Price range: $30 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Haywood Rd.
Transit: Located in the heart of Uptown Greenville with all major transportation available.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
88 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Respite after shopping”
Reviewed December 14, 2013 via mobile

After a day at the mall, my son and I stopped in for an eclectic dinner. Stuffed flounder was excellent and the Roughy special was superb.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tigersrule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    26
    21
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
719 reviews
436 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
“Good and trying to get better”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Not quite as good as the old days but certainly better than many of the higher priced venues around Greenville. The wait staff is top drawer and friendly and willing to accommodate. The food was very good and we had a large group....the appetizer trays they made up were flavorful and appealing.

The prices are reasonable for the portions......worth a try and convenient to the Hayward Mall.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank krandy21784
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newnan, Georgia
Level Contributor
207 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Diner with a meat and 2 or 3”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

The meal was good, but nothing special. I had the beef liver and grilled onions. My wife had a very large salad with grilled chicken. The price was fair and the service was good. The only negatative was the rice pudding that was like soup.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jimmy30263
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
simpsonville,sc
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Big Disappointment”
Reviewed July 4, 2013

Went in June, 2013 for our daughter's 21st. It's always been our go-to place for special occasions. Well, it used to be. The food was sub-par and the server had tables throughout the entire house. I wrote an email to the owner--something I never do--and he was caustic in his response. There are FAR too many great restaurants in Greenville now to waste one's time and money here.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank users
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Level Contributor
56 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Excellent diner experience”
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Stax is a true diner, with all the variety and ambiance that word suggests. The menu is extensive and fairly complete. They even have Greek and Italian dishes if that happens to be your whim today. The staff is friendly, outgoing and comical in keeping with the diner tradition. And like any true diner, Stax has killer desserts that will tempt all but the most die-hard dieters. The service is paced well, neither so fast you feel rushed, nor so slow you lose interest before your dinner arrives. If you are looking for haute cuisine, you might want to go elsewhere, but for good, satisfying food in a pleasant atmosphere you should give Stax a try.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kahuna1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stax's Grill also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing