We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great Local Museum” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Greenville County Museum of Art

Greenville County Museum of Art
Ranked #17 of 86 things to do in Greenville
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great Local Museum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

Great local museum in downtown Greenville. As other reviewers mention there is an impressive Wyeth collection but the rotating collections are also nice. Examples are of local Greenville and regional southern artists as well as a nice Edgefield district pottery collection. Museum is free but donate to support this great institution. Nice gift shop as well.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank KABC1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    50
    13
    2
    6
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Bequia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Top Quality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

This is one of the best art museums in the Southeast. Large collection of Andrew Wyeth. Free, yes free, admission. Worth a trip to Greenville.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank mangomon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simpsonville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
68 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“What fun!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our trip to the museum. It was very educational. It flowed very well and the exhibits were very engaging.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Erv1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Just the right size”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

As others have mentioned, this museum, though small, is just the right size to spend a few hours. The exhibits change from time to time and we really enjoyed all the local artists plus the Wyeth collection. A nice variety of different artistic styles.

After exploring the museum, I recommend going to the beautiful library in the Heritage Green complex and eating in the cafe. They have a nice selection of sandwiches, salads and homemade soups. Also, even if you are not a library patron, you can make purchases in the gift shop where they sell current paperbacks for $1.00.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rasa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pickens, South Carolina
Level Contributor
104 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Nicely done art museum.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

Let me start by saying that I am not an art museum person. I like what I like and don't "get" what some "artists" call art. But this is a local art museum where it seems to have been thoughtfully laid out, has a very nice environment, great staff. And, apparently, great art. I enjoyed the hours spent here with my wife while we looked at amazement at some of the "art". Oh, yeah, did I say it is free!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank WeGetsAround
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Greenville County Museum of Art also viewed

 

Been to Greenville County Museum of Art? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing