We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great entertainment from our chef” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mimi's Steak House of Japan

Mimi's Steak House of Japan
Ranked #641 of 900 Restaurants in Greenville
Cuisines: Japanese, Steakhouse, Sushi
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
North Carolina
Level Contributor
41 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great entertainment from our chef”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2012

We were looking for something that was fairly close and where we could get a great meal to feed two starving young adults. My niece from NJ was in the area looking at colleges (son is already a student there) and they are both HUGE eaters! We found Mimi's online and decided to take a look at it. We were seated quickly, served and entertained by the chef and waiter for the entire meal. There was so much food that we had to have carryout containers! The cost was reasonable as we got there before 6 and were surprised to see that they had a specials that were considerably less than it would be after 6.
Our chef was very knowledgeable about the techniques that he used and he answered all of the questions that were asked of him. He involved everyone at the table in the entertainment and he even surprised me with the faux "soy sauce" trick. haha!

Overall, great time had by all.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank shuga0293
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    13
    12
    5
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West Union, South Carolina
Level Contributor
73 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Interesting entertainment while you eat”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2012

Watch the chef at your table slice, dice and cook your selection. Food is good. Prices are reasonable.

Helpful?
Thank Pam L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, SC
Level Contributor
151 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Always superb, always abundant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2012

Mimi's offers the absolute best hibachi experience in town. The food is great, abundant and delicious. The atmosphere is comfortable and with perfect timing our family loves this place.

Helpful?
Thank ForeignStaffing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not my kind of place, but very good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2012

I am not a huge 'japanese steakhouse' kind of person, I usually don't get enough food, but I did here. Plenty of protein where others try to fill you with rice. Enjoyable show and really nice flavors. I will take the little one there.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank Charles G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“If you've been to one hibachi you've been to them all..”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2011

We  had a very large group (14) and even though we had a reservation we still had to wait an hour. The restaurant did seem busy though and the hostess was very quick to assist anyone that walked in for a table.  

The food was standard nothing bad nor spectacular. Our waiter was very polite and attentive, "Stick" was his name and he kept the table laughing.  Our cook was full of tricks with eggs, fire and his spatula and fed us as quickly as possible. 

  • Visited December 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Pips_14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mimi's Steak House of Japan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing