We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Restaurant”
Review of Soby's

Soby's
Reserve with OpenTable
Soby's is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4 of 908 Restaurants in Greenville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $55
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Private Dining, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: East Court St.
Description: Soby's New South Cuisine is a blend of contemporary cuisine infused with traditional southern ingredients. The restaurant opened in 1997 and is housed in the warm environment of a renovated, century-old building and has a mezzanine level that can accommodate large parties ordering a la carte. Starting with fresh, seasonal ingredients, our chefs transform Southern favorites into something comfortable and fresh. The wine list is a consistent winner of Wine Spectator and Wine Enthusiast awards. Signature dishes include Barbecue Shrimp and Grits, Fried Green Tomatoes with Jalapeno Pimento Cheese, and Crab Cakes Remoulade.
Level Contributor
112 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great Restaurant”
Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

We have dined at Soby's over the years and have always enjoyed our visits. The service and food always exceeds our expectations. Well done!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CU88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,169 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    677
    330
    109
    38
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
Level Contributor
101 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Met mixed expectation.”
Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

Service, atmosphere, wine list and location are reason enough to try Soby's. Menu is interesting and covers the bases. Our meals were average. We decided to skip desert list here and instead headed back to establishment a few blocks away where we had dined the previous night.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jay C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville SC
Level Contributor
100 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Super Bar crowd with great food.”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

This is not just Southern Food as people say. I have always liked the variety on the menu. There is something for everyone. The Chef does a great job making sure the flavors are what they are supposed to be and that the plates look great.

Also on Sundays they have a Brunch that to me is what a brunch should be. The staff takes care to make sure that those who arrive at 2pm get the same as those that arrived at 11am get.

I am always happy and satisfied when I come here.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“We ate in their wine cellar!”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We reserved a table for 8 and upon our arrival they upgraded our seating to the wine cellar. Fantastic comfortable seating at a large, beautiful wood, banquet table. Our waiter, Michael, provided outstanding service. His suggestions for wine and food were helpful and the entire evening was very pleasant. It is a bit cool in the room because they store the colorful bottles of wine in niches along the walls but Michael suggested we take advantage of the lovely shawls they provide. We even got to choose the type of music we wanted piped into our private dining area. If you are planning for a group, try to reserve this room. It will make your experience at this restaurant even more enjoyable.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank l0vesg0lf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Delicious She Crab Soup!”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We were told by some friends of ours to try the She Crab Soup at Soby's - no trip to Greenville would be complete without it. They were right... it is delicious! But aside from the She Crab Soup, the outdoor atmosphere is wonderful as is the rest of the menu. We weren't disappointed with any of our choices and enjoyed sitting on the outdoor patio, watching the world go by.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank AdventureSeeker75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Soby's also viewed

 

Been to Soby's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing