We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you can't stand the heat...stay out of this kitchen!”
Review of Chuys

Chuys
Ranked #50 of 914 Restaurants in Greenville
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Greenville, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
485 reviews
425 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“If you can't stand the heat...stay out of this kitchen!”
Reviewed July 28, 2014

For a chain restaurant, the food is fairly good. We've been there a few times and have not been disappointed. If you like hot and spicy, you will like Chuy's. The menu gives you quite a few choices. This time, I had the Southwestern enchilada which is served with a fried egg on top. My wife had the Chicka Chicka Boom Boom. She asked the waiter if it was really hot and he told her no. I guess he meant that as long as it did not melt your tongue, then it was not really hot. In any case, make sure to ask for extra napkins because most of the food will cleanse your sinuses. It's pretty good but some items may be overly spicy to my taste. Your tongue is burning so you can't really taste everything. Wait staff is always pleasant and efficient. Atmosphere is different. However, when crowded it is really, really noisy. We will keep going back. It's not great but it's better than most of the Mexican/Southwestern restaurants.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WadeandLori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    46
    36
    15
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Christiansburg, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome”
Reviewed July 23, 2014

Loved that I received starters immediately. Food was excellent. Taste was great, food temp was perfect. Service was also top knotch

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Melissa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Food”
Reviewed July 7, 2014

This Restaurant is new to our area. We were there for Lunch. We had their appetizer sampler. It was Great!! Our server was excellent!!! Their tortilla chips were the best, and they offered excellent salsa & another dip, too. We will definitely eat here again.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Brenda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great time with best true southwestern food. ”
Reviewed June 17, 2014 via mobile

We always have a great time here, the service on average is better than most other locations on woodruff as well the food itself is top notch. Everything is hand made and very flavorful. You will not leave disappointed.

Helpful?
Thank Aaronious21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, South Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“This Restaurant Was AWESOME!!!!”
Reviewed June 9, 2014

This restaurant was in front of our hotel so we decided to give it a try. Glad we did. Authentic Mexican for sure! The food (and especially the Tre-Leche Cake for dessert) was wonderful. Our service was great. Ashley could not have been better! She was actually from our hometown too! Will surely visit this restaurant again!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kristin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Chuys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing