We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A fabulous find!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bacon Brothers Public House

Bacon Brothers Public House
Reserve with OpenTable
Bacon Brothers Public House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #14 of 900 Restaurants in Greenville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $30
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Large groups, Families with children, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Pelham Road
Description: Bacon Bros. Public House is an innovative gastropub. The seasonally driven menu of the East Greenville restaurant offers a delicious selection of small plates and entrees, with items priced for all diners. The decor is warm and rustic with a dining room that features reused wooden pallets, an element that compliments Chef Gray's passion for sustainability. Diners can catch a glimpse of the curing chamber, where menu items like the Bastardo Salami, Coppa Ham and Bresola are seasoned and aged to perfection. Simply put, Bacon Bros. Is a great place for a relaxed dining experience with friends and family, or to meet for small bites and a craft beer or glass of wine after work.
Greenville, SC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A fabulous find!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

What a fantastic atmosphere....very casual down home food. We had the pimento cheese jar as an appetizer, and loved the homemade saltines that were served with it. My husband had the all American hot dog, and I had the grilled cheese. Both were fantastic! Give this a try.... The reviewer that gave this 1 star was being pretty harsh. All restaurants need to get kinks worked out when they first open, giving them a bad review on their second day is ridiculous! We dined on their 8th day, and while not perfect yet, we were very pleased.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank scmom4kids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    186
    98
    47
    16
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
South Carolina
Level Contributor
49 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Run Don't Walk To Bacon Brothers!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

My husband and I came in for a late supper last night and walked out devotees to Bacon Brothers. Now my only quibble with the whole experience was that it took forever for our waiter to come out. One of the secondary waiters brought us a bottle of water for our table and told us our waiter would be out soon. Well ten minutes later, the waiter finally showed with his apprentice for the night. So I think this is an issue with the hostesses not notifying the wait staff that they have tables. After that, both waiters were extremely attentive and courteous.

Now for the food. It was out of this world. We started with the cornmeal fried pickles and the pimento cheese with saltines. The pickles were sweet (which I don't like) but we're good. The homemade buttermilk ranch was awesome. The pimento cheese and saltines were phenomenal. We are connoisseurs of pimento cheese and the Bacon Bros. hit it out of the park. It comes with homemade saltines (they are more like little puffy flatbreads) and bacon jam. My hubby practically proposed to Bacon Jam.

I also ordered a Peach Sour Mash which was rye whiskey, peach, sweet and sour, and a splash of Sprite (approximately). It was excellent so their bartender knows their stuff. I would have preferred for a slightly larger glass (it was served in a glass the size of a juice glass) for the price. But the flavors and the mixing were first class.

As for the main course, my husband got the Shrimp Po Boy and I got the Brisket. He said his Po Boy was good, a bit basic, but the fried shrimp was perfection. The Brisket was the best I've had this side of Texas--I don't know what the other reviewer was talking about it having too much vinegar. All I tasted was wood smoke yumminess. I even put some of the homemade tabasco sauce on it to spice it up a bit. Once again, the set up was a bit basic. Two slices of Texas Toast and a side of cole slaw. The toast was good (you can't really mess that up) but I didn't try the slaw as I'm not a fan. It looked good and wasn't doused in mayonnaise like traditional southern slaw.

To end we can the S'Mores Pie. Best decision ever. I pretty much proposed to husband for suggesting it. Graham cracker crust mixed with caramel (we think) for a hard cookie like bottom combined with smoked chocolate mousse and marshmallows slightly burnt. It was Heaven on a wood block (a lot of entrees are served on wood blocks and not plates. Very unique).

All in all, we will be back to Bacon Brothers...and back again and again. Do not miss this place.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank oldhousejunkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greenville,sc
Level Contributor
162 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Great new restaurant and much needed on this side of town! Fresh,well appointed and a Chef who knows his stuff!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

So refreshing to walk into a very surprising atmosphere! Has a fresh feel and look, tons of detailed vintage wood and great booths with drawback curtain panels,large glass NY style smoked sausage and meat display room(all hanging and very enticing)The bar is very large in seating and has a great selection of whiskeys and beers(limited wines and tequilas), Outdoor seating is offered in the front entrance or in the rear (huge patio with great sound system).
The menu is well done and the Chef is to be commended for it...very "vintage smoke house" with a fresh and thought into preparation.
House made corned beef without nitrates , different twists on pimento cheese , popcorn appetizer with smoked sea salt, Carmel coating and nuts, great po boys ( even one with chicken liver), nice array of salads ( even a delicious kale !), poultry, fish, and a Charcuterie Plate you can pick and choose your fresh meats. ( Really wish they had some nice cheeses as well and crusty bread)
Being that Bacon Bros has just opened I understand service kinks are still being worked out....salad portions are a bit too small for an entree and alcohol prices are a little steep. I will definitely be headed back to try some more of the chefs offerings ......and support this local gem!
Keep up the nice work Bacon Bros ....

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank sunrisemahon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, SC
Level Contributor
224 reviews
165 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“New restaurant with a lot of kinks to work out, but great hot dog!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

This restaurant just opened so they still have a few kinks to work out. We went on a Thursday night hubby had the hot dog and fries and I had the Pork Trotter. The hot dog and bun are made in house and taste wonderful. The fries were fresh cut and hot out of the fryer. They needed a little salt but they were very good. The totter is made of pork shank and feet meat in a breading over butter beans, okra and tomatoes. It is also served with chow chow and hoe cakes. Very down home and so delicious. They could have added a little more okra since i only received 2 half pieces. Service was very good and attentive. A manager was going to different tables asking for customers opinions but she never stopped by ours.
The next night we went back and took friends. They ordered the pork trotter and was told they were out. They then ordered sweet tea, after all this is the south and this is barbecue. They brought unsweetened tea with simple syrup to mix in. Really??? If you are in Greenville SC you need to serve sweet tea. That is, tea with sugar already added. He then asked for a coke. Our friend ordered butter beans and the server said it would be a while so she brought broccoli while he waited. We ordered fried pickles and cornbread for appetizers. They were both good. The ramp dressing that came with the pickles was very fresh and tasty. Hubby ordered cheeseburger and fries and I got the hot dog and onion rings. Both the fries and the onion rings were overcooked and we had to send them back. Someone should have caught this and never served them especially since the fries were dark brown and hard. The cheeseburger was ok, but not in the top 10 for Greenville. You have to ask for ketchup and they bring you one small cup for the entire table so of course we had to ask for more. The butter beans never came and no mention was made of them. When we received the bill we were charged for broccoli that no one ever ordered, a tea and a coke. We never drank the tea instead it was replaced with a coke so not sure why we were charged for both. When we questioned the server she became very snippy. Her attitude changed and made us all feel uncomfortable. She took off the price of the tea but did not take off the price of the broccoli.
This restaurant at first seems to have reasonable prices but everything is priced separately making it a little more expensive. We will give it another shot since the hotdog was delicious. However, we will wait a few weeks.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank jellysnana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
53 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great New Place that's open late!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

Finding a place to eat after 10 is difficult, but Bacon Bros kitchen is open til midnight! And the food is outstanding. It's a part of the Coal Fired restaurant concept. As the name suggests, BB has a man's dream menu in a setting of fine dining that women will like. I had bratwurst with butter beans cooked in ham broth. Wife had chicken dumplings. Both were great dishes wonderfully prepared and really reasonably priced. We arrived at 11;30 PM & were delighted with it. Even though this was only the 2nd night open, they already have their act together. We look forward to returning soon & often. This is a great new place for Greenville.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank PaulB499
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bacon Brothers Public House also viewed

 

Been to Bacon Brothers Public House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing