We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Good times” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Roper Mountain Science Center

Roper Mountain Science Center
402 Roper Mountain Road, Greenville, SC 29615
+1 864-355-8900
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #28 of 86 things to do in Greenville
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Butterfly Adventure - June 13-July 8,Mon-Sat 9am-2pm,last ticket sold at 1pm,(closed July 4 & Sun). Encounter hundreds of butterflies up close and personal as they surround you in our new living Butterfly Adventure habitat. Interact with over a dozen species of butterflies and feed your favorite. See the stages from egg to emergence. Find out how wings work and other natural engineering feats in the Design Challenge. Enjoy creature crafts and games. Check out interactive STEM exhibits. See numerous educational displays. Get your souvenirs and snacks in the Gift Shop. Admission provides access to all featured exhibits and activities, including the Marine Lab with sting rays and sea creatures you can pet, the Ecology Lab with SC's wildlife habitats with live animals from the mountains to the sea, the Living History Farm's authentic buildings and gardens. Wander through the Farm, visit with the animals, feed baby lambs, try churning butter, and learn how our forefathers lived. Visitors may also walk the Nature Trails, enjoy the Arboretum, linger in the Butterfly Garden, or play in the treehouses and Wildwood.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
58 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good times”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Great learning experience for the little ones. The adults will love the large telescope. It's one of the largest in the US.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Cory H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    12
    5
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“We love this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

We have enjoyed Roper Mountain in many ways over the last few years. Second Saturdays are always lots of fun, their living history farm is great, and we recently did Starry Nights for the first time. I was amazed at how good the show was! We learned all about the night sky right now, looked at the constellations that can be found, and then saw a fun, educational planetarium show geared towards kids (the later show sounded like it was geared towards older audiences). My 7 year old loved it! We even got access the their huge telescope, but since we were at the early show and it is summer, the skies weren't dark enough yet to see much. We will definitely return when it gets dark earlier!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank rosa727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“DISAPPOINTED”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

We arrived 20 minutes before the show and stood in line for tickets for 35 minutes and were still several places from the teller. At that point the show had already started and we left DISAPPOINTED.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Clifford G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tommie R, Director of Development at Roper Mountain Science Center, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Thank you for your interest and you message. We very much regret your extended wait in line for tickets on Friday night and apologize for the inconvenience. We recently implemented a new system which allows us to accept credit cards, but unfortunately, slows the process because of the required printing of receipts and tickets. We are working to make the on-site ticket sales more efficient and we also encourage advance online ticket purchase both to speed your check-in and to guarantee your admission. We are also setting up digital message displays to let people know when a show sells out. Meanwhile, if you will contact me at 355-8937, we would like to offer you free tickets for a future show.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014 via mobile

So many cool things all year round! During school at certain times of the night you can go and look through the observatory telescope at the stars. During summer kids can go to summer camp, it's so much fun, they can do anything from animal to space camp. At Christmas time they have a light show set up that you drive through. It's an amazing place!

Helpful?
Thank Emily F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
239 reviews
62 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Christmas Light Display Was Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

We went through the drive-through Christmas Light display this past Christmas. There was a good variety and large number of displays. This would be a good exhibit to take friends and family through.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank 60742Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Roper Mountain Science Center also viewed

 

Been to Roper Mountain Science Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing