We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Casual Comfortable Good Food”

Fords Oyster House and Cajun Kitchen
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
129 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Casual Comfortable Good Food”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

HUGE salads and great pulled pork sandwiches. For a comfortable casual lunch or dinner don't miss Fords in the west end.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank flashSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    28
    22
    16
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Greenville SC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“This is Cajun?”
Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

After reading reviews here, we decided to go for Cajun tonight. Warning...they have changed the menu drastically! Even our server was embarrassed by the choices now available. It's turned more into bar food than Cajun. Sandwiches, appetizers, pizza....no actual meals. Blackened salmon? Only served on a salad. The cheeseburger was good, but is a cheeseburger really Cajun? Really disappointed in the new food choices. Had looked at the menu here on line and had decided what to have, but all of those choices were no longer available. Sorry to say, but if this place doesn't get its act together, can't see it remaining open. Too close to other good eating places.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank J B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great burgers”
Reviewed May 14, 2014

Believe it or not, the burgers are super good here. I am not a big seafood person and always find it hard to get anything good to eat when I do go with friends or family to a seafood place. Not here, some of the best burgers in town. That said, was just there with a friend up from Charleston and he had the Shrimp and Grits and loved it.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank azuresc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Desert
Level Contributor
220 reviews
185 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Good atmosphere. That's about it...”
Reviewed April 3, 2014 via mobile

I went there with my new clients. The atmosphere was good. We sat outside and enjoyed the nice weather. The server was ok and made sure our needs were met.

But the food was so so. The appetizers were way too salty. I was the second order she took. Mine was the last order that came out. Way after everyone else was done eating. The blackened salmon was a bit dry. The dirty rice bland.

At least I had a great time with new friends.

Helpful?
Thank Mark E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good food, poor service”
Reviewed March 9, 2014

Heard this place was good. Not hardly anyone in there for lunch on a weekday. Which was interesting that our service was so terrible - not hardly any other diners to serve! Muffaleta sandwich was good but the "olive salad" was pimento olives and other pickled things (cauliflower) chopped into very large pieces. And had maybe roast beef on it. Dirty rice was good and fries were awesome. Others at my table had ettouffe (sp?) and red-bean-and-rice. Said they were pretty good. So-so beer selection. Server wasn't too attentive and we had to hunt her down to take our $. This place would be great on a nice, sunny day when you could sit outside and watch the falls.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hiogirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fords Oyster House and Cajun Kitchen also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing